We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Show Prices
#2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We have stayed here three times, we wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Orono! The hotel is clean and pleasant. It has the feel of being home and the staff is wonderful! The lobby is like a living room, you can sit on the couch and watch TV. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have breakfast in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

We always enjoy hearing what people liked as well as knowing what you'd like to see improved. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. Jana May Assistant Manager

New Hampshire
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Our stay at the Black Bear Inn, Orono was superb from start to finish. Brought my son back to Umaine this weekend, it's a long drive so when I stay over it's usually been at one of the pricey chains 15 mins south in Bangor. Glad I called and asked if they had rooms! Easy access off I-95, to start....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhtripper
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review, we couldn't have said it better ourselves! We hope to see you again when your back in the area to visit your son. Jana May Assistant Manager

Maine
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Pleasant surprised with the hotel. It appeared to have been recently renovated; our room was clean, the bed comfortable. The breakfast bar could have been enlarged in their choices, but, overall a nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieposie2015
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The place was very clean in the room and throughout the hotel. Parking lot area was well lit and we did not hear any noise from the highway. Front desk friendly and helpful and a continental breakfast that I was very impressed with. I will be staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cggalli
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to your next visit! Jana May Assistant Manager

Ayer
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel began as decent. They allowed dogs which was great. We came here for a wedding since my wife grew up in town. Our dog is a bit skiddish and I explained that to the staff. They said no problem. We left for a bit to go to rehearsal dinner and when we returned there was a note on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations and I assure you that our staff wasn't responsible for the note left on the door. Our hotel is pet friendly and we enjoy meeting our guests furry family members, however for the safety of the animals and in consideration of other guests we do ask that animals...

Reviewed 14 August 2016

Overall we had a very good stay here, the check in was quick and the staff were very friendly. Our room, and the whole hotel, was very clean and unlike most other hotels it was very quite, we barely even heard outside noise coming from the hallways. It is right off the I-95 so it easy to get to. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

I'm happy to report that we are upgrading our Wi-Fi system in the coming week. We hope you'll consider us again in the future and at that time you'll see a significant change. Thank you for the positive feedback on our staff! Jana May Assistant Manager

Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

It was a one night stay on our way to Nova Scotia. The front desk staff and the person who offered her assistance in the breakfast area were very friendly & helpful. The inn was dog friendly but there was a fee to accommodate your pet. The rooms gave the feeling of a lodge and were vey clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy49
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing the positive feedback! We love hosting pets along with their owners. We hope you'll consider us again when traveling through to and from Canada. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Reviewed 8 August 2016

This Hotel is clean. Rates are reasonable. The included breakfast is better than most. Pet friendly with open spaces in the parking lot to walk. Extra charge for pets but every hotel does that. Spacious rooms with queen, not double beds. I like it cold and the air conditioner worked great. Highly recommend. Wish they had a pool but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

Reviewed 4 August 2016

During a road trip through Maine, a friend and I stayed at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center for 1 night. The rooms were quiet and clean, but I would not choose to stay here again. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, so I didn't sleep well. The wifi did not work at all. I made online reservations for one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MH_Online
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are always looking for ways to improve our property and appreciate any all feedback as to how we can do that. I am sorry to hear that you left on the note that you did and if you should reconsider staying with us when traveling to the area again please reach out to me...

Reviewed 3 August 2016

My husband & I traveled from Iowa to visit family & they recommended we stay here. We were pleased with the room as well as the reasonable rate. The staff was very polite, we had purchased ice cream & asked for bowls/spoons. They kindly accommodated us. I would defiantly stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Jana M, Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback and we are happy to hear that your local family recommended us. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank You, Jana May Assistant Manager

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
8.1 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
572 reviews
8.2 km away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
422 reviews
19.8 km away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Price Range: $158 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Inn and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one that the heater has been updated/replaced.”
DinaGoodwin, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“King room large, but probably quieter on top floor. Had quiet night, but could hear walking on floor above me in the morning”
bfamily4b, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get the 3rd floor, not as much noise. Doors are "thin", meaning you hear all”
mmalinowski, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic!”
reneet567, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We should have chosen a room on the opposite side of the hotel as we were situated directly on the highway side and it was noisy.”
rosieposie2015, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5