We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Portland

Booking.comUS$56*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Portland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Portland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night, will never stay again. Found mold throughout the shower curtain and went to inform the manager. He barely acknowledged my presence and didn't even get up from his desk to discuss it further. He acted completely nonchalant and unprofessional about the situation. Definitely not worth the $100.00 I spent. The least it could've been was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky M
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities...

Marathon, New York
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We booked this rather late minute because no affordable transportation would be leaving Old Orchard Beach early enough in the morning for us to make our flight. This Motel was very accommodating. We had to arrive well before check in and they were kind enough to get us in. Clean, bright, pleasant and the price was less than we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elendilite
Gardiner, Maine
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Nothing but towels were including in the bathroom, the room lighting sucked, and the hallway always smelled of weed, and our key cards had to be reactivated 3 times. OVERALL, I would have to say that meeting drunk people on the elevator quite scared me, the service was absolutely terrible, the maid moved our stuff if it was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catcassie1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2015

While the staff were great while we were checking in, it became very evident that this hotel was in desperate need of a facelift. Old, tired and worn out were all I could think of walking to our room. And of course, the room they gave us had yet to be cleaned! Got another room, and exactly what I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArmsportVideos2013
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. The service experiences you describe are atypical to Motel 6...

New York
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night in May. The motel is easy to find and surrounded by stores, restaurants, etc. The room was clean enough. No shampoos of blow dryers. I brought my own blanket as hotel blankets gross me out. The hotel smelled a bit of smoke but not too bad. Front desk helpful and friendly. Overall less than 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkLime
Bar Harbor, Maine
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The whole motel smell like dog. Besides they are a "non smoke" hotel, our room smell cigaret also our cloth after leave this place. The personal was useless and the only solution they offer to us was share their spray deodorant. This place is not good for families or non smoking people, only a good place for smokers and pets.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maxipresa
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service concerns you describe. We are happy to be a pet-friendly hotel, but apologize if/when their presence presents an inconvenience...

Maine
Reviewed 17 May 2015

My 80 year old parents and I were verbally assaulted and actually kicked out of this motel after their pet dog followed my father out of the room. My father is hard of hearing and didn't notice that the door had not latched. I went into the lobby to try to calm the situation. The desk clerk leaned over the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank IdrivealotMaine
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt...

Naugatuck, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

Called a few different places liking to stop for the night. Annie at Motel 6 was the most friendly and informative. We reserved a room, and made our way over. The price was right, the room was clean. No bugs, no odors. Just a clean, basic room. Nothing special, but clean. Pets are welcome, wifi is NOT free. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank honeydoll272
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Filthy bug ridden and with a an extremely rude staff to boot! Take that extra $30 to Ramada. In 40 years of intercontinental travel, top 5 worst places/experience ever! Tried diplomatically to resolve issues but Motel 6 representatives refuse to display any business courtesy, etiquette or compassion. Stay in a trailer park, you may have a nicer room.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CDeuces
Reviewed 9 February 2015

I new that this motel 6 had some neg reviews but the reservation line said it was newly renovated, the price was right,500 feet from the interstate and 1/2 mile from my business appointment.Disgusting!! From tobacco spit IN elevator,burn holes in blankets,stains on sheets,smashed television,very erratic WI-fi.Non carpeted dirty vinyl floors,bathroom skim clean-not good. Bathroom fan VERY noisy. Parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TNT C

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,461 reviews
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.9 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,267 reviews
4.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland

Address: 1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103-1045
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: $80 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6
Motel Six Portland
Motel 6 Portland Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Portland staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New York City, New York

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First is best less smoke”
 of 5 bubbles rosenblake44, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a wonderful stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Micaih, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to book the side facing away from the highway”
  • I think someone stole some paintings
  • Spacious shower
  • The glorious dumper!
  • Matching avocado-green walls and sheets
 of 5 bubbles 335rikt, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here, gross.”
 of 5 bubbles Lighthouse123, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are smoking rooms on fourth floor. My 3rd floor room was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Vt_folks, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$56
Orbitz.comUS$56
Expedia.comUS$56
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates