We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
157 High Street, Portland, ME 04101-4563
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Westin.com
US$140
View deal
Expedia.comUS$140
Booking.comUS$140
TravelocityUS$140
PricelineUS$140
Hotels.comUS$140
ZenHotels.comUS$164
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (415)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (366)

About

#12 of 25 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enliven your Maine getaway at The Westin Portland Harborview, where you'll dwell in historic charm. Originally opened in 1927 as the Eastland Park Hotel, our hotel is immaculately restored while maintaining its rich beauty. In our New England town, you can explore the seafood restaurants and unique shops in Old Port, and admire river and mountain views at Western Promenade. Afterwards, lounge in luxury in our accommodations, where our contemporary style is united with modern amenities such as LCD TVs and workstations. When it's time to indulge, revel in the convenience of our 24-hour room service, and savor American bites and hand-crafted cocktails at our top floor bar and lounge. Experience a state of relaxation at Artne Spa, and work up a sweat at our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio. Planning an event? Our historic ballroom creates the perfect backdrop for your celebration or conference. Elevate your occasion with our catering and coordinating services. At The Westin Portland Harborview, escape the ordinary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1673Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 811
  • 494
  • 186
  • 109
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrew M wrote a review Nov. 18
1 contribution
Just wanted to let you know we think your policy regarding pets is wonderful. We recently stayed with our two dogs (one small, one medium) and had a great night in Portland. Knowing that we can stay right downtown in a nice hotel without being overcharged or feeling that the dogs are an inconvenience is really a plus for the Westin. Thanks again, see you next time we’re in town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review, aimonkeyboy. We are thrilled that you loved our pet-friendly accommodations! We hope to welcome you and your pups back soon at The Westin Portland Harborview. Karl Whipple General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole Z wrote a review Aug. 2022
Lake Wales, Florida79 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Having stayed at this property before we knew what to expect. This visit was for a significant wedding anniversary. We’re Gold Marriott members so upon arrival, we inquired about a possible upgrade. There was no recognition whatsoever of our Bonvoy status. We were told hotel was overbooked so no upgrade. We were given room 408 which is a King Room. This room has an awful view of a lower roof with air condenser units and the room itself was dark and in need of a refresh. Back to the front desk, went to a different staff member, who was more than happy to help find a more suitable room. We had to give up the King and go with two doubles, but the room faced the city and had a view of the water in the distance. It was also bigger and much brighter on the 12th floor. The hotel is clean and the staff appears to be adequate. Parking is by Valet at $42 a night or you can self park by going to the front desk and checking in to get your room key that you will use to get in and out of the garage which is about 100 yards from the front of hotel. Just drive down the street. This cost $32. Now we used Valet 1st night, but used our car the 2nd morning to drive over to Eastern Promenade which has a lovely walking trail along the water. Parking garages are available all over the city and it’s easy to drive around Portland. That said, on Sundays there is no charge to park in Portland on the streets with Meters. So we parked on the street for free. We also walked to Old Port from hotel and it’s a 20 minute walk. The area around the hotel is a diverse city neighborhood. The hotel is in the arts district and there is a colorful cast of characters. We felt quite safe walking around here and walked with our dog as well. This property allows pets and does not impose fees which is remarkable in itself. Additionally, the hotel does have courtesy vehicle which will transport guests around the city, but this service is really hit or miss. We were not able to use this amenity during our stay. We found all the staff to be pleasant and polite. As with any business some more helpful than others. We’re thankful to the staff member who helped us change to a more agreeable room and also told us about parking on the street for free on Sunday. There is a Starbucks right up the street about a 5 minute walk. This is not a tourist area, this is a regular city neighborhood with local restaurants and shops. Little Tap House just up the street has great food. As Marriott members we’ve stayed at almost all the properties in Portland. This property offers solid value and comfortable rooms. Not luxury, but certainly upscale.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The garage is literally just 100 yards down from the entrance and you can walk from garage into...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Aug. 31, 2022
Thank you for the kind words! Our team is delighted knowing you appreciated our location and team. We always aim to provide our guests with a perfect stay, so we're disheartened to know about your concerns. We will be discussing this situation with our team. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SkyKingBoston wrote a review Nov. 11
Northampton, Massachusetts566 contributions258 helpful votes
Old Port is the traditional neighborhood to overnight in while in downtown Portland, but because of an amazingly good Marriott Bonvoy deal where we combined points and dollars, we chose this more traditional downtown Westin location. Some folks seem to think it's a little too gritty of a neighborhood, but we could see right through that. Thank you, Westin, for bringing a 1920s era grand dame hotel back to life. The other reason we stayed here is because we had our dog along with us on a NH/ME fall road trip, and Westin still graciously allows well-behaved pets, at apparently no additional charge. Our girl more or less became the mascot of the lobby during our two-night stay. We didn't dine in, because we didn't want to chance leaving Fido alone in the room, but did enjoy room service our first evening. The menu is quite limited, but the food was amazingly delicious. Garage self parking is convenient and adjacent, though be prepared for $38 per night. Not too bad. Front Desk staff and the Engineering Department both provided very good service, as did the Bell staff at both check-in and check-out. As expected, the room was modern and clean, the towels plush, and the bed that notoriously excellent heavenly thing. With a mild prompt, Housekeeping even did a full clean of the room. All good, especially at the promotional rate we paid. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review, SkyKingBoston. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you loved our ideal location, historic charm, delicious cuisine, and kind staff. We are also pleased that you were comfortable in our accommodations. We can't wait to host you again at The Westin Portland Harborview! Karl Whipple General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luke L wrote a review Oct. 2022
While the accommodations were quite good I wish I could say I would reccommend but I would never stay here again. The night staff were, for lack of a better description, extremely rude and disrespectful to our entire party. We were in for a wedding, with clear communication with the hotel before arriving. However, this information was clearly not shared with the night staff. We were told we would be able to stay in the upper floor bar/lounge from 10PM-midnight. When we arrived we were told it was closed, that no prior arrangements were made, while the one "higher up" manager was arguing with the mother of the bride, we were able to walk in. The bar staff were clearly unprepared to run a bar of more than 10 people. Very slow, the drinks were VERY overpriced, and honestly awful. I'm not sure how to can make a vodka cranberry terrible but they found a way. We were told we were being aggressive to the staff and it took the Head of Security (who was wonderful) to speak with the mother of the bride who showed him the email communication with the hotel, to finally say, "You're right, enjoy the night." Unfortunately, at that point, the bartender and "higher-up" woman were not satisfied with that result because she threw her hands up in a huff and left allowing people who were in a different wedding to just walk in. The bartender was much worst, he began swearing all around the event, throwing menus on the tables in frustration and overall showing very poor customer service experience that caused most of us to leave early anyway and relocate to a different off-site venue. I would rate much higher if not for this experience. The rooms were clean, the check-in and out staff were quite kind, the Sunday morning brunch was great. But for the first impression to be as bad as it was, it left a bad taste that was not easily cleansed through the weekend. Internal communication clearly needs to be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, lukelM6930ZF. It's disheartening that our staff couldn't exceed your expectations and offer you the most positive experience possible. We care deeply about the satisfaction of our guests so we do hope you give us another opportunity to improve your opinion of us. Karl Whipple General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ejp121158 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Falls, Pennsylvania2 contributions1 helpful vote
Literally our worst hotel experience EVER! First,it is in a terrible location. Not near anything. We did not feel safe walking to the Old Port area as there were many homeless very nearby. Both restaurants were not available to us. One was closed and the other was closed for a private event. Very difficult to get shuttle service anywhere as the airlines pilots have priority. No one answered at the front desk for any questions or needs MULTIPLE TIMES. Coffee in our room was expired and there was not any creamer. Needless to say we checked out and went to the Hilton in Old Port. Let me close and say there are no views, unless you like looking at a parking garage or a park filled with homeless people. Never ever ever would I stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
We appreciate the feedback, Ejp121158. It's disheartening that we couldn't exceed your expectations and offer you the most positive experience possible. We're saddened that our location, views, on-site dining, shuttle service, in-room amenities and front desk staff were less than ideal. We care deeply about the satisfaction of our guests so we do hope you give us another opportunity to improve your opinion of us. Karl Whipple General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charmaine Z wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions
Very disappointed. Staff is not very accommodating. Will never return. Don't stay if there is a wedding. Music can be heard in your room. The concierge was not helpful in guiding us. I have to say he was friendly but not helpful. I only found one staff member pleasantly helpful. So save time and money and go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Oct. 3, 2022
We're sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience with us, Charmaine! Our staff strive to provide the best possible service to all of our guests, and we're sorry to hear that they fell short of your expectations. We would also like to apologize for the noise from events taking place in our hotel, we will bring this concern to our engineering team to better soundproof that room. We hope despite the issues you faced during your stay, you will consider staying with us again for a better experience. Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KK78 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Babylon, New York485 contributions126 helpful votes
My travel companion is a Marriott Bonvoy Gold Member and this was not the level of service we usually receive. Upon check-in we were not pointed to the elevators, like you are in every single hotel ever, and after driving for 5 hours to get here, we just wanted to get to our room asap. The area is not the best and not near anything. The vent in the bathroom was disgusting - really dirty and moldy - plus you could hear other guests' voices traveling through the vents. You could hear other guests flushing their toilets all night. The wood floor in the entryway of the room was sticky and dirty. There were room service trays in the hallway for hours. The worst part is, my friend, who is the Bonvoy member, left 1 earpod in the room and has called the hotel about 10 times to ask for someone to collect it and send it to her. She can track the item through apple and can see it's still in the room. She was put through to housekeeping several times and left many messages, she asked to speak to a manager and was told to fill out a lost item form online. They closed the case without resolving her issue. Really poor customer service. Very disappointing. The only positives for the hotel would be that the beds were really comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Oct. 2, 2022
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, KK78. While you appreciated our comfortable bedding, we are disappointed your time with us was anything less than perfect. We regret that our cleanliness and the sound insulation in your room failed to exceed your expectations. It's also disheartening to hear that our staff could not assist you in every way possible. Please know we have addressed your concerns with our management team so we may rectify these issues and improve for the future. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon so we may share a more positive experience with you. Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TL109 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Wilmington, Delaware24 contributions10 helpful votes
4.5 stars We stayed one night while passing through Portland on the way home. Check-in was quick and friendly. The lobby is nice. Room was clean, spacious, and updated. Bed was comfortable. Front desk staff were helpful. Location is great! We had a couple of great walks to dinner or to get coffee. The Old Port neighborhood was cute! We ordered room service for breakfast. Service was slower than expected due to staffing issues, but we both enjoyed our meals. We didn’t get to take advantage of the spa or restaurant, but if we find ourselves in Portland again, we definitely will. We always have nice experiences at Westins, and this stay was no different.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Sep. 29, 2022
Thank you for the feedback, TLaw109. We're happy you enjoyed your experience at The Westin Portland Harborview! The happiness and satisfaction of our guests are important to us and we endeavor to offer quality comfort and service to our guests. It's fantastic you appreciated our ideal location, smooth check-in/out process, spacious, comfortable accommodations, and kind staff so much. That's what we like to see! We truly value your feedback. We'll take your concerns into consideration as we move forward to improve for the future. Hopefully next time you can experience the Congress Squared Restaurant and the Artné Spa. We look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon! Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dolly wrote a review Aug. 2022
Everett, Massachusetts51 contributions11 helpful votes
I have to write this because I was so shocked. My husband an I were looking forward to a few days at Portland Maine and staying at the Westin hotel. To our compete shock entering from the highway exit to get to the Westin hotel there is a big park. Well when I tell you there had to be at least 100 homeless druggies in tents etc . In this park all the way up the sidewalk. We saw people doing drugs shooting up it was so awful. We get to the Westin to find it's just a few blocks from all this drug area. As we are sitting in the car there in front of the hotel men swearing the f words and so drugged out I told my husband I can't stay here. We decided to take a ride down town not much difference there so dirty and homeless drugged out people there too. I couldn't get out of Portland fast enough. Why doesn't the city do something about this problem? I didn't realize Portland was such a big drug place. I will never ever go back. So sad
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Aug. 30, 2022
We're dissatisfied knowing we didn't go above and beyond to make sure you had a positive experience with us. What you experienced with your stay is not what our guests normally encounter, and we will be speaking with our team to make sure it doesn't happen again. Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alpinemccain09 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Moncton, Canada48 contributions84 helpful votes
We are Ambassador level Marriott members so we travel a lot and very loyal to the brand. We are very disappointed with this stay/hotel. We tried to communicate through the app to request a rollaway and no one ever responded (we sent 10 messages). When we checked in, we asked for a rollaway and they said it would be delivered right away. We waited 30 minutes and then called and we asked they bring it up right away. We got back from diner 90 minutes after and it was still not there and kids really wanted to go to bed. Lineup at front desk was very long and it took forever for them to answer the phone, very bad service. Our room was smelly as if someone had smoked. Location is bad. Not close to water and a good 15-20 minute walk to the main tourist section. Nothing much around hotel except for sketchy park and run down stores. Nothing much in the hotel either in terms of amenities (restaurants, coffee, etc) I’m very disappointed that I picked this hotel, really should have gone with another option
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandTour16672339849, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, alpinemccain09. We are very sorry to hear about your latest experience with us. As a loyal member, you deserve nothing but exceptional service. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We will address your concerns with our management team so we can remedy the problems you encountered. We do hope for the opportunity to share a more positive visit with you soon. Scott Marn General Manager The Westin Portland Harborview
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMainePortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
289
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Westin Portland Harborview - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Maine) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Portland Harborview
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Portland Harborview?
Nearby attractions include Portland Museum of Art (0.2 km), Victoria Mansion (0.5 km), and The Wadsworth-Longfellow House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Portland Harborview?
Conveniently located restaurants include Isa Bistro, Empire Chinese Kitchen, and The Green Elephant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Westin Portland Harborview have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin Portland Harborview offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Westin Portland Harborview have airport transportation?
Yes, The Westin Portland Harborview offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Westin Portland Harborview located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Portland Harborview?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.