We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-12-15
Expedia.com
US$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-12-15
Traveluro
US$202
View deal
HolidayInn.comUS$247
PricelineUS$247
Hotels.comUS$247
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (261)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 23 hotels in Portland
When you visit the historic and alluring waterfront city of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Steps past the Cross Insurance Arena, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants, and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's Arts District surrounds the Hotel with art museums, galleries and historic homes. Portland Jetport is 10 minutes away; with courtesy vans available. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Experience the pleasure of business in Maine, By The Bay. OUR HOTEL IS UNDERGOING A MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR PROPERTY MODERNIZATION. OUR GUEST ROOMS, MEETING SPACE, AND THE EXTERIOR OF THE BUILDING WILL BE COMPLETELY RENOVATED. CONSTRUCTION WILL OCCUR WEEKDAYS BETWEEN 9:30AM AND 7:00PM, AND YOU MAY EXPERIENCE NOISE DURING THESE HOURS. WE APPRECIATE YOUR UNDERSTANDING AND ARE EXCITED TO SHARE THE CHANGES WHEN THEY’RE COMPLETE!
Read more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Getting there
Portland Intl Jetport4 kmSee all flights
Portsmouth International Airport at Pease79 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1368Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 575
  • 230
  • 75
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NCtravelz wrote a review Yesterday
Raleigh, North Carolina985 contributions213 helpful votes
IHG member of 20+ years and this hotel was very disappointing. This hotel is very loud. The room doors auto-close which causes them to slam. We checked in on a Friday and there were only a few quiet hours between the late night revelers and early birds. The parking situation is pretty bad. There's a parking garage under the hotel with tight spaces that just dead ends with construction debris and nowhere to turn around when the spots are all full. The parking garage next door has more ample parking but you have to walk by a fetid dumpster to get back to the hotel. We realized shortly after we checked in that this hotel and location wasn't a good fit for us. Shortening our stay by one day with a few days advance notice was surprisingly difficult (2 phone calls and 2 trips to the front desk). We switched to a different Holiday Inn at a much lower price. If you don't have a car, sleep like the dead, and don't mind that the staff doesn't wear masks, then this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, it is over-priced and over-rated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Fearlessbutter wrote a review Sep. 15
Bloomington, Minnesota140 contributions50 helpful votes
The hotel is undergoing some renovations but I actually thought it was very nice. Well maintained, large rooms, clean & easy parking ($10). Great location. Restaurant on site but we didn’t eat there. Close to everything; peirs, shops & restaurants (get HiFi donuts at some point). Definitely would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lisa K wrote a review Sep. 2
26 contributions9 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay here. Easy walk to great food and harbor. We parked and didn't pull the car out until we left. Easy check-in. We were slugged to check in early for free. This was our 3rd stop in New England and we needed to way some clothes. Laundry facilities (1 washer and 1 dryer) are on the top floor. Detergent available in the small market. Overall a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
N.M.A. wrote a review Aug. 2021
Farmington, Maine47 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a nice stay at the hotel. The staff is inviting. The shuttle was awesome and brought us down to Hadlock Field and back. The pool was wonderful! Very clean rooms. The only let down was there was not any coffee in the lobby in the morning!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
NekoCat wrote a review Aug. 2021
Franklin, Massachusetts563 contributions341 helpful votes
Outrageously expensive but good central location and clean comfortable quiet room. We had a bay view room which eased some of the room-rate pain. More cons than pros at this place. Hotel is dated and dented. Parking should be free, but it’s $10 a night – parking is super tight and garage falling apart and dirty. Especially the auxiliary garage that is not connected to the hotel. If you have a kayak or roof box on your car, you may want to call ahead for dimensions. The elevator banks at the garage levels are filthy. The elevators in general were slow and unpredictable. Due to COVID, housekeeping had to be requested which is understandable, but maybe put a few shampoos in the room not just one tiny shampoo. An extra box of tissues would have been nice as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, NekoCat! Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback. It's disappointing that we did not live up to your expectations because of the cleanliness issue, the incomplete room amenities, and the parking fee. The situations you have described are not what we expect from any of our hotels or the experience we want you to have. I'm so sorry for all the trouble. I'll share your sentiments with our hotel management team as their reference for improvements. I hope we get the chance to serve you again and create a better experience for you in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesMainePortland
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Portland Museum of Art (0.1 km), Victoria Mansion (0.2 km), and Wadsworth-Longfellow House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emilitsa, The Green Elephant, and Empire Chinese Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Portland-By The Bay, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.