We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

HolidayInn.comUS$159*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,046 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
danvers
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Portland so that we could attend a concert at State Theater. Very reasonable price, room spotless, sheets and condition of room acceptable Staff tries very hard. They offer free shuttle service to downtown and areas at no additional expense, a very nice amenity. Pillows are on the lumpy side and should be updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danver8
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Portland. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

New York
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We received a warm welcome upon check in with a bag of snacks and water. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located -- walking distance to restaurants and shops. The rooms were nice and roomy, although I wish they had queen size beds instead of doubles. The mattresses need replacement. They were lumpy and bowed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinayRox
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. We very much appreciate the input concerning the bedding. The staff will be made aware of your compliments. We look forward to your return.

Lunenburg, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in October.The hotel is in a great location.Close to the waterfront!The only room available for 2 consecutive nights was a smoking room.Even though the room smelled horrible it was clean,comfy and quiet.Worth the 270.00 per night??? No! There is also a 17.00 fee for parking. I unfortunately was battling a 5 day stomach virus and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connie c
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please be aware that our prices are comparable (and lower) than the other downtown hotels. And our parking charge is $10 per night per vehicle. If you were charged anything other than that, please contact the hotel so that we might rectify the bill. We're very sorry you were ill, but glad the restaurant was...

Corydon, IN
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a bayside room as always. Seemed cleaner, brighter, and updated from last year. Never had a bad night in this hotel, and come every year for the past 10 years. The room was cleaned properly as usual. No problems at all. Quiet while we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grammy47115
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the kind comments. We appreciate your choosing us for your accommodations, and look forward to your return.

Spring Valley, Ohio
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed a Saturday night at the end of our New England vacation in October. We wanted to be downtown Portland and there was very little available at any of the hotels although I was trying to book many weeks in advance. Our room at the Holiiday Inn was a very large king on the top floor with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CmarieM2
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was well equipped with a heater for hot water and was nicely decorated. The wife worked well and was provided without a surcharge. The view of the water was pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Although we are unable to fully understand the review, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here on the 2nd night of our New England Coach tour.We arrived after dark and a very tiring day so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.This at first glance looked virtually empty but we were told to sit in the lobby to wait for a table which took about 20 minutes. There were only 3 staff waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iannpaula
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

We are very sorry there were issues with your dining room experience, however pleased that the next morning your service was well improved. Certainly the desk should have provided you with the password without qualification. Our apologies. Thank you for staying with us.

East Greenbush, New York
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked this room for our 20th anniversary get away. Very disappointing. I requested a non smoking room. The room we had was a smoking room, and the stale smoke smell was awful. The window was sealed shut, so there was no chance of getting ANY fresh air in there. This room was also sold as a room with a "Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CupcakeGirl31
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

We are very sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. If there is anything the Hotel can do to rectify any of the issues, we encourage a phone call to speak with management. As far as the parking charge, we remained without a charge for many years while all other downtown properties charged. When we instituted a charge this...

Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I spend A week Here For a Supreme Emblem Club Convention at the End Of August Staff was very Polite And Friendly. They even have a Shuttle that will take you down to the Waterfront and pick you up. The Bar and Waite Staff were very Nice and the FOOD was EXCELLENT!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi G
Babylon, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2013

There were so many issues with this hotel that I would not advise anyone to stay. This was a one night stay on our trip from Acadia back to NY with my husband and 2 year old son. Our room was very disappointing. My first experiance was the door to our room would not open unless my husband really used...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NewleyWed61210
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Our most sincere apologies for the unfortunate circumstances of your stay. The room should have been properly attended to, and an offer to move if that were not feasible. Was management contacted about your concerns? The comment made about the TV is unfortunately not true. We have very few requests for assistance. The Desk Manager will be made aware of...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,305 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: $188 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
2 days ago
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
7 months ago
Rhode Island
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The harbourview are worth the cost.”
PA32pilot, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Looking over the bay is certainly better than street view on the other side of the hotel.”
ski&brew, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“great views, good staff, homey”
  • View to the Portland bay from my room
glpzzz, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking is tight.”
581Julie, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Bay View, you'll see lots of harbor activity and planes coming in to land at the airport.”
Glimrgrl9, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$159* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$198
Booking.comUS$159
Hotwire.comUS$159
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates