We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Budget Traveler Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presque Isle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Budget Traveler Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty. The sink looks as though it has never been wiped down, it's got green gunk all over it. The floor hasn't been vacuumed well, and the sheets and blankets smell like stale cigarettes in a non-smoking room. Not at all happy. 80 dollars should at least get you a clean bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abech7
Standish, Maine
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have always used this hotel for ANY reason we needed accommodations. From our wedding to visiting family, even staying 'long term'. We have a weekend home in the next town over (for weekend visits with family, our daily home is 6 hours south), however last winter the roof leaked and needed to be replaced, so staying there on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCWilliams09
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

My Staff and I want to thank you for staying with us. We always look forward to having come stay here. It is always nice when you have courteous guest come stay with us. See you on your next trip.

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Every time we come to presque isle we stay here it is right off the highway as you are coming in. they are the cheapest hotel in the area. That being said the rooms are clean they are pet friendly have free wfi long distance calling to us and Canada and free light breakfast in the morning! This time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Karen, thank you for staying with us. I strive to have a courteous and caring Staff. We always look forward to having good guest like you stay with us. See you on your next trip.

Augusta, Maine
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The rooms are very clean. The staff take customer service to a whole new level. Everyone we interacted with was pleasant and sincere. We felt very much "at home" and even the dog got excellent customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We always look forward to having great guest like you stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Maine
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I was somewhat hesitant to stay here due to some of the reviews. Desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Yes, the hotel may have seen better days. Some of the features are dated. But the room was clean, it had the requisite toiletries one might expect of independent budget lodging. The bed was fine. The little curtain was broken,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelForDummies
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I will work on getting those curtains fixed so they don't come off the rail as easy as they do. As for the non-smoking. I have talked with the owner before about going that route. Perhaps in the future it will be.

Presque Isle, Maine
Reviewed 21 August 2016

NEUTRAL As with most places in this town (or state for that matter), it is slightly dated and dingy but "less so" compared to the Presque Isle Inn down the road. The atmosphere leaves something to be desired but for the rate it can be ignored. PRO The TVs are updated (flat screens with external DVD players) and if movies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlc52113
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thanks for your honest review. All the mattresses have been changed. We are always trying to improve something every month. We are currently working on putting together a work out room. It is nothing fancy but we will have a few elliptical hybrid machines were you can stand and use the elliptical or sit and use like a bike.

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at the Inn in the past. This place is friendly and my room was clean. When we get back to the Inn, after working all day and into the night, you want a clean room, bathroom and towels. We always expect it and we always get it at the Budget Inn. That's really why we came back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

The Staff and I want to take the time and thank you for staying at the Budget Traveler Inn & Suites during your time in Presque Isle. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Saco, Maine
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We stayed here this weekend, and next time we travel up that way we will stay here again. The manager we dealt with was extremely nice, he even showed us a suite before we booked it just to make sure we wanted it. We did, and the whole experience was just great. Its clean, no odors at all, and beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren7312
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Lauren My staff and I want to thank you for staying with us at the Budget Traveler Inn. It is always a pleasure to have pleasant guest like you stay at our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Very out dated rooms. They have a very bad odor. I asked for a refund after only arriving at the room for a short time..(and was refused it!) There was no way I was sleeping in that bed! The front desk staff was very unprofessional! HE was very ignorant and vulgar with his language. Not recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J C
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

You checked into a single smoking room, you spent over an hour in the room and then came out and demanded all your money back because the room does not look like it did on the website you were looking at. After you were being belligerent with the young lady at the front desk. My desk clerk called me the...

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

If it wasn't cold out I would have slept in car . rooms were dirty smelly. And walls were so thin all most could see people next door .hearing them and their TV was also not a problem. Bathrooms so small a phone booth would be nicer. And wall so disguising I didn't even shower . the girl at front...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Duane C
Gary L, Manager at Budget Traveler Inn & Suites, responded to this review

In your attempt in painting a terrible picture of this hotel. If your going paint a picture don't paint a stick figure paint a detailed picture that depicts an accurate view. There was some flaws to your own story. The young lady you claim you had to wake up a 9:30 in the evening, after looking at my video camera's...

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presque Isle
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
460 reviews
1.8 km away
The Northeastland Hotel
The Northeastland Hotel
#2 of 5 in Presque Isle
81 reviews
0.3 km away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
16.8 km away
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
23.3 km away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Budget Traveler. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our courteous staff can accommodate all your needs with one of our 53 rooms. From smoking to non-smoking, single rooms to our kitchen suites. We're sure you'll feel right at home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Traveler Inn & Suites

Address: 71 Main St, Presque Isle, ME 04769-2867
Region: United States > Maine > Presque Isle
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Budget Traveler Inn And Suites
Budget Traveler Hotel Presque Isle
Budget Traveler Inn & Suites Presque Isle, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budget Traveler Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is one main entrance, so if you have a dog, you might want to request a room on the ground floor close to the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles N7248KLmaryd, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side would be quieter. Road traffic on the front side. Suites may be the better pick.”
 of 5 bubbles 293lorij, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“check your room before you pay”
 of 5 bubbles tpelkey, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the 1st floor, on the right side of building are a bit noisy. Perhaps the left side is better.”
 of 5 bubbles LorenaNovak, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We like the 2nd floor because it is quiet and also like the room facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles WandaH178, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5