We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Samoset Resort On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,215: English reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Beautiful property,comfortable room and bed. Restaurant was great. Big problem here is untrained staff. Front desk girls were going to call when room was ready. I checked back after 4:30pm and room was ready but they just forgot-no apology just forgot. That evening the two young hostesses working the restaurant check in couldn't find my reservation. It was one I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JOHN D
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear John D, Thank you for your review of the Samoset Resort. While some of your feedback was uncomfortable to read we do thank you for letting us know certain portions of your stay with us missed meeting our normally high standards for customer service. Please allow me to address your comments so you can be assured we take feedback...

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

We visited in August and enjoyed our stay. We had an ocean view room; the view over the golf course was amazing. The bathroom and the room needed some updating. For the price, the decor and bathrooms (while very clean) felt dated. The pool facility was lovely and my husband loved the golf course. Great for families, with large rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CubbieBear
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear CubbieBear, Thank you for staying at the Samoset. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the golf course and our pools. We strive to be family friendly with lots of options for children and adults. I also appreciate your feedback of the room décor. We are currently evaluating possible updates to some of our rooms and your...

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

This is such a special place. The setting is perfection and somewhat reminds me of Pebble Beach in California. The resort is situated on the ocean and offers stunning golf course/ocean views. The rooms are spacious and well done. We ended up getting the same server at the restaurant and pool - Shyan. She was AWESOME!! We had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy M
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Amy M, You’ve discovered our secret and found out that the Samoset is a very special place. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and other travelers know how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be certain to pass on your personal compliments to Shyan and Connor. I also can appreciate your feedback concerning...

Connecticut
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We enjoyed the amenities at the Samoset for three wonderful days in August. Our two young kids loved the outdoor pool, the kids club, the game room and the food. My wife and I loved the amenities and location of the resort (perfectly located to explore Rockland, Rockport and Camden and not too far to get to Acadia/Bar Harbor for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayBoy76
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear JayBoy76, Thank you not only for your very gracious review, but for also making me think a piece of wild Maine blueberry pie for breakfast this morning is a good idea. I was so pleased to read how much your family enjoyed their stay with us. It sounds as if you all were able to experience much of what...

Pomona, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2015

you cannot but long to return every year as I do. The views are spectacular, the bay, the pool the golf course illustrate the success of good planning. one of the most important assets of this resort is the caring nature of a well trained staff. Samoset illustrates the old adage that a company is no better than its staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart1029
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear stuart1029, Thank you for your review of the Samoset. Your words were a pleasure to read. I especially appreciate what you had to say about our staff and our ability to make every guest feel at home in our beautiful resort. We all work very hard to be welcoming, friendly, efficient, proactive, and accommodating with all of our guests...

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 beautiful days in August. Pool, accommodations, facilities, golf are fantastic. Room was comfortable size for family of five. Kids loved disc golf, game room, s'mores , lawn games, hammocks, etc. Setting on bay is spectacular!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikila752013
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear nikila752013, Visiting the Samoset with a family of five means lots of activity and everyone needs something to do. We are so glad you and your family were able to enjoy all the Samoset offers. I’m pleased you found our award-winning golf course, heated outdoor pool, disc golf in the Ultimate Backyard area, s’mores, and the game room with...

Scarsdale, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Beautiful rooms in a terrific location, with views over the golf course to the bay, along with a terrific outdoor pool, make this a great place for a family vacation or get together for friends. Breakfast on the terrace is easy and idyllic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeO10583
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

DearMikeO10583, Thank you for your kind review of the Samoset. Your choice of the word “idyllic” is a great one. Our setting, the majestic views of Penobscot Bay from just about everywhere on property, and the efforts of our hard working associates are all part of being an idyllic setting for families and friends. We are glad you enjoyed yourself...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

We had a great stay. The room and the view were great. The golf here is wonderful and We booked the golf package. We enjoyed the pool as well. The whole experience was very nice. This was our third visit and we hope to come back next summer. There are lots of wonderful restaurants in the area to check out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Breadace
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Breadace, We truly appreciate your decision to return to the Samoset for multiple visits. Spectacular golf, great views from your room, and a nice experience are what I like to read! Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth time. With Warm...

Camillus, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We recently spent 5 nights here. Beautiful resort, breathtaking views. It was our second time saying here. Our only disappointment was the screen was ripped on the door to the balcony, and the door was ready to come off the track. Couldn't leave our door open for the beautiful breeze because the bugs came in. For the cost of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armymajor
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Armymajor, Thank you for your review of the Samoset Resort. I appreciate you mentioning our dedicated and helpful staff in both La Bella Vita and at the outdoor pool area. Thank you also for letting us know about the maintenance issues in your room, which have since been fixed. We look forward to having you return to the Samoset....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We has a wonderful stay at the Samoset. Very large room for an extremely reasonable price. Their recreation facilities are amazing and which makes the resort great for the entire family (check out the website). The only knock on the hotel is the fact that the kitchen closes at 9pm (which means no room service after nine) and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharterOneTwo
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear CharterOneTwo, Thank you for letting us and other travelers know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Samoset. I am glad you found our recreation facilities being such a great place for families. The heated outdoor pool and the Ultimate Backyard are great ways to have fun together while swimming or playing one of the many games we...

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (497)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (196)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
10.2 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
356 reviews
2.5 km away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
8.8 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.8 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
89 reviews
17.2 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Address: 220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Price Range: $277 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samoset Resort On The Ocean 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Samoset Resort On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Hotel Rockport
Samoset Hotel Rockport
Samoset Resort On The Ocean Rockport, Maine
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rockport
#1 Family Hotel in Rockport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Samoset Resort On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Samoset Resort On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water views are remarkable!”
 of 5 bubbles 43lees, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to stay in a room that above the first floor. Dogs under 30 pounds stay on the 1st floor and you may wake to barking...”
 of 5 bubbles 590erikaw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are on the end of the wings at the south.”
  • Sunrise over Vinalhaven, 6:13 am in early March
 of 5 bubbles waterandmore, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles 272Dana8, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“order room facing the ocean for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenWadeK, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5