We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
369 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
US$188
View deal
Booking.com
US$188
View deal
FindHotel
US$169
View deal
Hotels.comUS$188
TravelocityUS$188
PricelineUS$188
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (17)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-12-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Updated 21-12-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 16 hotels in South Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area hotel combines modern with rugged, just across the street from the Maine Mall and some of the best coastlines on the East Coast. Free WiFi, a huge bathroom and 55-inch TV create a beautiful balance in each room. A comfortable mattress makes you want to sleep while 60 DIRECTV channels make you want to stay awake. Breakfast is fun. From healthy to indulgent, selection abounds with our 'Build your Own' Breakfast toppings bar featuring 30 sweet and savory toppings for cereal, bagels, yogurt and more. Grab snacks, drinks, light meals and single-serve wine and beer in the 24/7 market. Work, play, lounge and eat in the four-zoned lobby. Get in a workout in the fully equipped fitness center. Affordable travel now comes with unexpected things - like certainty.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Billiards
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
356Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 219
  • 85
  • 25
  • 17
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KimberH0422 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Wyoming, Pennsylvania507 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
We arrived on a Wednesday evening a check in was nice and easy. No problems with parking. The location is great and close to a lot of stores and restaurants. It's very modern. They seem to only have two luggage carts and they were already in use so we ended up not using one and just made a few trips. Our room was clean for the most part. The ironing board was pretty gross with hair and stains on it. I wanted to put in out in the hallway, but opted not to since we might get charged for it missing from the room. So we placed it against the wall by the door. The floor wasn't the cleanest and the shower door didn't close all the way so we had to be careful not to flood the floor. We were only given two towels total for 3 nights, which is kind of crazy. At least 4 total towels would have been acceptable. Every towel had some hair on it. The included breakfast is good and the people taking care of it were doing a good job. Our room is quiet, which is nice and the air conditioner goes lower than any other hotel we've been. We love a cold room so that's a plus. Overall, we'd stay here again, but suggest they clean the rooms a little better and leave more towels if a couple is staying more than two nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kimber, We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. It's great to know that our convenient location, quiet rooms, and tasty breakfast impressed you. However, we apologize for any concerns about cleanliness and towels. We'll look into your comments further, and we invite you to stay with us again should you be back in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NYTravelcritic wrote a review Aug. 2021
Albany, NY105 contributions65 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We actually stayed here two separate times on the same trip on our way to Bar Harbor and for a couple of days to tour Portland and some of the towns south. The location was close to highway access but not noisy at all. The Maine Mall was across the street and plenty of food options and supermarket options nearby. The staff was helpful. Rooms are clean and functional. The free breakfast including fruit, free coffee, juice, bagels, scrambled eggs, yogurt and a waffle maker was a nice touch also. Definitely would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
strayluver wrote a review Sep. 2022
Biddeford, Maine5 contributions
My second stay at this Tru and it met all my expectations again. Very clean, there is no carpeting which I think is great because carpeting is always dirty ! The staff was very nice. Booking.com had messed up my name, but the staff found it and I checked in quickly. The bed was so comfortable, and the sheets were so soft. I had a King room. Very big TV with lots of channels. Also a shower that I prefer to a tub. I loved the soap and lotion (dispensed from the wall). I was disappointed they did not have it for sale at the hotel, as was stated on the Hilton website, but I googled the brand ("Notsoapradio") and bought some online. The breakfast is great. I have to admit I went twice! Coffee is a little strong for my taste, but I added some extra cream, and they do have a couple different types of tea. The water bottle fill station is a nice touch, as in the fridge in the room. There is a pool table if that is your thing, and you can bring your dog. I saw a couple there but they were not disruptive at all. Right next to the highway, but very quiet night. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't it. But if you want a beautiful clean property, nice staff, and a good's night sleep, stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 1 week ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area. We're thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable experience and appreciated our clean and comfortable accommodations and bathroom toiletries, as well as the opportunity to try our delicious breakfast menu. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments, and we hope to host your next visit to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dr_nonesuch wrote a review Sep. 2022
Niantic, Connecticut183 contributions49 helpful votes
#1 this hotel is CLEAN. Immaculately so , including the common areas & grounds. Our room was spotless. I fully embrace the modernized vision of Tru hotels , no carpeting, no dresser, no couches in rooms . Just functional minimalism. Enjoyed the shampoo/conditioner/lotion dispensers mounted and the roll out desk. This hotel is bright and ultra modern. Pool table , 24 hour snack bar and refillable water bottle Station next to the ice machine in lobby. Everything here is fresh and easy to clean so it remains FRESH. Excellent for couples not seeking luxury or solo travelers. Good continental breakfast with Lavazza coffee , eggs, cheese , FRESH fruit etc . The man attending the breakfast was on point with refilling, cleaning and managing the area. Small fenced in dog run in the back. Very pet friendly with water bowls & waste bag dispensers available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Wow! What an excellent review to read. On behalf of our Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area team, we are delighted you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all we offer. It would be wonderful to see you again, so please come back soon for another memorable five-star experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
timothycW2919HO wrote a review Sep. 2022
Hartford, Connecticut4 contributions
Very spartan room with no clothes closet and no drawers to store closes in. Terribly soft mattress compared to other Hilton properties. I needed a plywood board installed under the mattress by maintenance to firm the mattress up for the last 4 nights of my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tru by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Timothy, Thank you for your feedback. We truly regret that our accommodations were not as you expected. Guest feedback is our foremost catalyst for effective change, and we will reflect upon yours and determine the next best step to take for our future guests. As your travels continue, we wish you well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffery G wrote a review Aug. 2022
Alexandria, Virginia379 contributions212 helpful votes
This hotel is in a very nice location across from the mall and many other shopping areas and restaurants. The check in went very well and the staff was very friendly, although a little confused getting us checked in. The room were a little tight, but very clean, colorful and provided all the necessities needed. It was a great day and would consider staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jeffery, Thank you for your wonderful review and shining a light on our prime location to local dining and craft breweries. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations and that our staff tended to your needs. We are excited about your next visit, so come back to Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beachlover3114 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Midlothian, Virginia23 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed only 1 night on way to Boston from Maine. Had previously used Hilton with good experiences but never the Tru brand so thought we’d check it out. Well NEVER again. Got our room, and immediately began checking things as I always do. Immediately, saw that the bed’s sheets and blanket were dirty and covered in dog hair. Disgusting. Housekeeping came and changed the bedding but still not happy that we were not offered a different room. Heard barking dog for an hour on the hallway that evening. When did attracting dogs have priority over humans!! For $300/night!! This type of accommodation not worthy of what I thought of as the “Hilton brand”.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tru by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear that our pet-friendly accommodations failed to impress you during your visit, and we'll be sure to have our housekeeping team look into your comments further. Despite this, we hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
esserj1998 wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
This is the second Tru hotel we have stayed and have enjoyed both. The staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodations are satisfactory. The hotel is clean. The only slight criticism would be the pillows but I have that issue with nearly every hotel we stay at.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tru by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded Aug. 27, 2022
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area. We always endeavor to exceed expectations, and we're thrilled that our friendly team and comfortable accommodations reflected that. Should your travels bring you back to the area in the future, we hope you'll consider staying with us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peterrmans wrote a review Aug. 2022
Newbury, New Hampshire266 contributions149 helpful votes
I usually stay in Hampton Inns when traveling, however, everything was booked for this short notice trip. I didn’t know this was a “budget” hotel because at $350/night, it doesn’t fit into that category. The room was a disappointing 12 x 12, no furniture, no place for a suitcase(22 inch)except partially under the bed(so you can stub your toe going to the bathroom) at night. The TV was okay except the remote was balky and only worked if you kept after it, the bed was terrible, could not find a comfortable position, and every time I adjusted position, it made a sound like a muffled pistol shot fired just outside the window. Bed sheets were paper thin and wadded up when you moved. Needless to say, little sleep for either of us. The room was clean, enough but if you want towels, you need to call The front desk; same for maid service. Breakfast was adequate, but just barely. I trusted the Hilton name, apparently, not a good idea. I’ll try to learn from this and book sooner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Baillargeon, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded Aug. 20, 2022
Hello Peterrmans, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We opened nearly 5 years ago as the 9th Tru in the world and in those 5 years we have been extremely candid and honest here on TripAdvisor about what we are and what we are not. I'm guessing you use TripAdvisor for reviewing places you stay, but I would suggest you use it to research where to stay, checking out some of our other 1 and 2 circle reviews you will see that we are candid about the fact that we are not what everyone looks for in a hotel room. Our entire teams works around the clock to deliver a 5 out of 5 experience and when we see a review like this, we take it as a football team losing a game would; we even have in our welcome letter a notice stating if you're not happy with Tru's uniqueness, that we will do everything can working around cancellations, deposits, and third parties to check you out without financial penalty so you can enjoy your stay to our great area; our entire team genuinely want you happy. Even after five years, we find ourselves doing this 1-2 times per month, we get it and do not want to pretend to be anything we are not. We are not a Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites, full-service Hilton...we are a step below Hampton Inns in term of price and amenity. So yes, our rooms are smaller, more efficiently designed, our single kings are 231 square feet and our double queens are 280 square feet. We do not have closets, dressers, coffee makers, microwaves, artwork, and traditional hotel furniture. Instead, we offer plenty of open shelving and smarter spaces; we have luggage storage yes under the beds however also on the bench over the refrigerator and another bench/shelf over the air conditioning unit. This works well for some, but not for others, it all depends on what you're looking for. I could keep going on the room however where this summer is different is no doubt price...we're doing everything we can to keep our rates as low as we can however with unprecedented demand combined with higher costs for us, we had no choice but to increase our rates as did most other hotels in the area. $350 a night would be one of our last rooms; yes as you say booking early will help secure you a better rate (or the flexibility to rebook a lower rate if it goes down), but please also know we do not gouge like other hotels in the area. I've seen complete dumps charging upwards of $600 this summer when we sold our last rooms at that $350. We have great integrity and while this is the 'high demand season' in Maine, we will not gouge our guests. I'm going to use this platform to express that one key issue in the Portland, Maine area right now that is driving literally everything up is a lack of housing. All of us here at Tru work around the clock to deliver a great experience to our guests, however many of us myself included are being priced out of our homes and are being forced to move further away increasing commute costs, or pay exorbitant rents or property taxes. Businesses have had to raise starting wages up significantly to retain people, we are proud to now have a $18/hour minimum wage between our two hotels, however this unfortunately does translate to higher rates. This aside, inflation has also driven our costs up, electricity and breakfast food in particular, also playing a small role here. We are leaning heavily on politicians of all parties to get a grasp on this housing issue, however much of it is an unfortunate part about being a destination in this post-pandemic environment with increased people working from homes and having the ability to live anywhere they want, they have chosen places like our area to live which has driven up home costs/values/taxes. I'm hoping all of this is temporary and next summer we're back to a sense of pre-pandemic normalcy with our rates. It is not just hotels here either, my parents have camped in the area for decades, this summer they've been up once just because the costs just for a campsite with water, sewer, and power cost upwards of $150-200/night. One thing I do see going down is demand for travel next summer if we can prevent another variant of COVID-19 from exploding this winter; people will have more opportunity for travel through the winter and there will not be as much compression next summer driving everything up. Again, thank you for the review and for giving us a try! We hope that you do continue to stay at Hampton Inns, they're a great brand and do what they do well! Safe Travels!! Joe Baillargeon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrisjl44 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland1 contribution
Great location staff exceptional. Cleanest hotel i’ve stayed in years. Great breakfast. Quiet. Clean comfortable room. Bathroom clean and great shower. All in all a great experience at the Tru hotel in Portland. I’ll be back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tru by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Responded Aug. 21, 2022
Thank you for sharing this lovely review of your stay at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area. It was our pleasure to provide you with clean and quiet accommodations for your visit to Portland! On behalf of our team, we look forward to serving you again next time you travel to town!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineSouth Portland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Which popular attractions are close to Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Nearby attractions include Maine Escape Games (1.1 km), Maine Mall (0.3 km), and Sebago Brewing Company (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sebago Brewing Company, City Farmhouse Kitchen & Bar, and Tuscan Table.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area have airport transportation?
Yes, Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.