We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bear Mountain Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bear Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bear Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the sugar bear cottage for our sixth wedding anniversary. The cottage was great! Exactly what we were hoping for and more. It was private and the fireplace made the room! We are looking forward to coming again soon! The kitchenette was also very nice as we were able to make our own food so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lexi S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Everything about the Bear Mountain Inn is so special and lovely, it got right into our hearts and has become "our place." My boyfriend and I have stayed there twice and each time it has been such a blessing. Christie is wonderfully warm and welcoming, the grounds are gorgeous, and the room (The Minnesota Bear Room) was so sweet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElBell13
east longmeadow, MA
Reviewed 8 October 2015

My wife and I stayed for three nights in October and we loved the place. A very nice, historic home with fantastic grounds adjacent to a lake. The room, the brown bear room, was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were excellent. Christi and the staff were very nice and friendly. The inn is near the White Mountains of New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mass-Cop
New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Beautiful location with very friendly owners. My husband and I stayed in the Sugar Bear Cottage which was very clean and absolutely adorable. We used the fireplace which was very nice. When we walked into the room there were yummy homemade cookies welcoming us. There is also a jacuzzi on site. The breakfast both mornings was delicious. The beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara O
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My wife, daughter and I came to Bear Mountain Inn for a relaxing end-of-summer Maine getaway, and we got that, and more. Christi, the owner, was very accommodating, and really wanted people to enjoy themselves. The breakfasts were excellent in quality, and did not repeat over our three mornings. The lake was beautiful and the kayaking/canoeing/paddle boating both relaxing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Used the Inn as our base for a bike trip in the area, staying four nights in September. Christi and her staff were exceptionally friendly, accommodating and professional. We stayed in and highly recommend the Great Grizzly Suite. Beautiful view of Bear Pond, and the stars were great! Tish's breakfasts were tremendous: fresh and delicious. Beautiful property with lots to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchristian
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The venue was nice and the lake view is gorgeous. My review is strictly due to the people that run this place. They have the worst customer service, are very rude, and kick you out before check out. Be sure to review what you card gets charged because they will add on extra stuff without telling you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jovana R
bearinnkeeper, Owner at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I think you were here for the Pelkey/Lancaster wedding & it was beautiful! You stayed in the Post & Beam Home & one of the guests staying with you came over to the Dining Room in the morning where our Inn guests were enjoying breakfast & requested breakfast for all...

Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Great Inn ! Had a great experience. Spent lots of time Kayaking on the beautiful lake and hiking in and around the property . Ended the day with a hot tub under the stars and making smores in the campfire by the lake as we listened to loons on the lake. Slept great in a comfy bed with my window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H B
Bad Homburg, Germany
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We came to the Bear mountain inn by coincidence as we drove by wih the plan to stay for one single night- and stayed for 3. We were simply stunned by the beauty of the place and the hospitality of the owner Christy. The rooms and the complete inn are made with lots of love and care, very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handwerk76
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Our accommodation was in the post and beam and was very roomy for the five of us. We arrived at 6 PM after fighting traffic all day and were looking forward to winding down. When we arrived, we were told our room was not ready yet (check in is at 3) but it would be ready in 20 minutes -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter C

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
37.1 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
772 reviews
35.0 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
1,314 reviews
34.9 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 km away
New England Inn
New England Inn
#1 of 3 in Intervale
160 reviews
11.1 km away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
240 reviews
27.6 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Bear Mountain Inn, a spectacular four-season lakefront bed and breakfast resort. The historic homestead, surrounded by sprawling lawns and forest, overlooks a private sandy beach w canoes, kayaks, fishing poles), and a large deck with fieldstone fireplace providing splendid vistas of Bear Lake.The Inn has eleven beautifully decorated rooms including two-bedroom suites, and large luxurious suites with in-room Jacuzzi & fireplace. For those desiring greater privacy, the inn offers two options: a two-story executive post & beam home, which provides ample space and privacy for families or groups, or our dog-friendly, quaint Sugar Bear cottage, both with extraordinary views of Bear Lake and the surrounding mountains. Outdoor 5 person hot tub (great for stargazing and relaxing) and fieldstone fireplace for evening fires. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Address: 364 Waterford Rd, Waterford, ME 04088
Region: United States > Maine > Waterford
Price Range: $173 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel South Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bear Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even the rooms with bathroom on the hall seem to be private for your room. Walk across the hall and save some money.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnQPublic007, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Polo Bear room was a corner room on the second floor with a nice lake view”
 of 5 bubbles MROB7, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Beds range from firm to soft. There's not a bad room in the house - and we've stayed in almost every one so far!”
 of 5 bubbles LynneH812, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“For full wifi stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles Sparxstar22, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Sugar Bear Cottage, Beautiful View”
 of 5 bubbles 324crystalk, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5