We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
#7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We got there late with no reservations on our way home, we saw the sign on Route 1 and decided to give it a try. The room that was available didn't have much of a view and was a little dated, but very clean. Very professional service, let us look at the room first. Next time we will make reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hankengberg
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

As like most hotels, making reservations in advance certainly do give you more of a chance to get the room that you desire. However, we are still happy that you came down to see us down here at Wells Beach! Give us a call anytime you'd like and we'll be more than happy to accommodate you for the next time...

Glens Falls, New York
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Terrific location. Walk out the door to beach. Not the most modern place we've stayed but does have that south Maine coast feel. Our bathroom was small but everything was clean and tidy. We would stay again because of the great location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsK3618MJ
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us. With the long history of the hotel, we do have some rooms that have a bit of an older appeal to them, but are constantly making updates and improvements when we can. We do have other rooms/buildings on property that have been renovated and updated with a more modern style. Overall,...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have travelled here the last two summers for a beach getaway. The staff are always so accommodating, our room is always very clean, we love that the room comes with a keurig and with a small fridge. The ocean view is spectacular. We have stayed at both the motor lodge (a bit outdated in terms of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBach77
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We're very happy to hear that you returned for another stay with us here at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort. With nine buildings on our property, each one certainly has its own style to it. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Hopedale
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed in the building across from the office, 1st floor walk out ( onto a raised patio) The water does come right up to the cement patio @high tide. Old rooms w/new paint but not bad. Parking is rough, The little take out spot (reg beach fare) isn't great and not open late. You have to travel up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RayrayMac
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I have been coming here almost every year for the last 15 years. Family members from different states meet here in September/October and I have NEVER had a bad time. I even got my best friend hooked on coming here too! We started staying in Motor Inn West and then moved into the Motor Inn so we could be right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glori H
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Wells Beach certainly changes personalities throughout the different seasons, but we do have to agree that no matter what time of year it has many great aspects to it. Thank you for taking the time to tell your story, and we certainly appreciate you bringing your friends along! We hope to see you again soon!

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Great place to star right on the beach in Wells. This was our first time visiting Wells and we wanted to be oceanfront. We took our daughter, son-in-law and 15 month old granddaughter. My only complaint is that they charged my daughter and extra $15 a night for the baby. We didn't require a crib and didn't get anything extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tls15
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All of our rates are based on single/double occupancy, with any additional persons subject to an extra charge. We do apologize that you weren't provided an extra set-up of towels, as all of our rooms are supposed to be set-up to equal the amount of guests staying in...

Berlin, Vermont
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in January because they are one of the few places around that were open. The room was inexpensive and right on the beach. The room we stayed in was a little outdated however it was clean and the staff were extremely nice. We decided to come back with the kids during peak season. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elpealto
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

It appears that your second time around you stayed in our newly renovated third floor rooms right in the main building, the Ledgeview Inn. We are constantly making improvements and updates to our rooms to make sure the quality of our guests' stay is always well worth it. Not only is being right on the beach the most popular feature...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

A friend and I stayed 2 nights in the Annex (no kids section) and loved it. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We had a great view of the ocean on the second floor. I have never seen a better beach for walking. Both of us would return in a heartbeat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren O
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort as your getaway location! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to being able to host you again in the future!

Southwick, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed at the Lafayette in August. Reserved for 3 nights. Upon check in late in the evening, decided to give it the night after discovering it was not a resort warranting a $300.00 per night rate. Charged $30.00 extra per night for our 17 year old child. The bathroom had used soap in the corner on top of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank awendaw2016
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I was expecting your typical Maine motel that seemed to be stuck in the 60's. But I was pleasantly surprised. Instead, the room was tastefully updated with a large flat screen TV, large king size bed with soft mattress, microwave, fridge, etc. Even the bathroom had been updated. But the best part was the view. Room 217 right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marnie M
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share you experience with us here at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your time and that you'll be joining us again. It appears that you stayed in our Motor Inn building, which is one of our newly remodeled buildings. The balconies have been redone to fit the code...

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Ocean View) (23)
Viewed
Economy Room (20)
Viewed
Efficiency Two Double Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.8 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
721 reviews
6.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
993 reviews
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
3.6 km away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
16.7 km away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: $66 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask for lower level room with ocean view.”
R8601SJsteves, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher Corner room, ocean view.”
W7806KZsusanp, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms offer a better view. Panorama 209 has a gas fireplace. Romance a little”
michaelbennett2016, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early, especially during "peak" season. If you don't swim, consider Fall trip for better rates and great Fall foliage!”
383kathyk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to reserve early to get a beach side room! This is a very popular place.”
vermonter0851, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5