We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices


Show Prices
#12 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for USA Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Herkimer, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Horrible place - smelled of urine, found bugs, blood stained sheets, uncomfortable bed, slippery shower & no offer of making things right! We were told that they NEVER refund for any reason so STAY AWAY, THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE!

1 Thank Alanna F
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Yes - your room smelled like urine. You had Depends in your rubbish every day and in spite of that your bed linens were soiled and required daily changing due to incontinence and other unspeakable issues . Thankfully, we use mattress protectors. We had to take your room out of inventory and deodorize it with an ozone generator for 24... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Unfortunately, this was not even close to the reviews I read before booking here. Yes, it is an older inn (no elevator and booked us into top floor without telling). The person at the desk was very nice but said we should have been asked what floor and I reserved almost two months in advance. The biggest complaint is about... More 

1 Thank 556cheryl
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

This review prompted a meeting with the housekeeping staff. The housekeeper remembered you well. Your "DO NOT DISTURB" sign was out during your entire stay. Our records confirm this. When asked if you would like service or, at least clean towels, your negative response was very abrupt. Perhaps you took the "DND" sign off the door after the staff went... More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This place is not The Ritz and judging it on the same scale as a Ritz would be VERY unfair. But for what it was it was great. Clean, comfortable and everything worked. Would stay here again in a minute. Wells is a fabulous place. Wished I could have stayed longer. Like forever!!!

Thank foiegraslover905
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and for rating us on the quality of the service that we set out to provide. Our goal is to provide the cleanest, most updated and convenient rooms for the money. More 

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Have been going here for over twenty years, every year, at least one time sometimes more. If that isn't an endorsement to the consistency and quality, I don't know what would be. The owners are great, the staff is pleasant and accommodating. I think you'd be hard pressed to find better value, as their prices are among the best in... More 

1 Thank Mikey0707
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. The vast majority (80%+) of our customers are returning guests and referrals. We truly appreciate your loyalty and could not do this without you. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Good basic hotel. Pros: 1. Very Clean-Bathroom, rugs, surfaces, hallways are well maintained. 2. Allows one night stay. 3. People at front desk were pleasant. 4. Reasonable rate especially for location. Cons: Room was on bottom floor in back and smelled very, very musty like a basement. I am sure close proximity to beach effects this and not owners fault... More 

Thank Michelle S
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments. The bed frame fits fine but it had been knocked out of position. Sometimes people attempt to move the beds and do this. In any event, in the future, please bring things like this to the attention of the management. It was a 1 minute fix and we would have been happy to correct... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We stayed for two nights. The room was comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and a flat screen TV. We had a king sized bed that was very comfortable. It had high end linens. The AC unit was quiet and more efficient than most motels we've been in.The free wi-fi was reliable. There is no pool, but the beach is... More 

Thank Lynne F
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments. We really appreciate it. We make every effort to exceed the required capacity for things like AC and wifi and hot water and we are lucky to have a very convenient location. Thank you for choosing us. More 

canaan nh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We truly enjoyed our two-night stay at USA Inn. The room was extremely clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a nice sized fridge and a small coffee pot. We have spent many vacations in Wells, in other motels, but we plan on going directly to USA Inn in the future.

1 Thank donnated
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try and for the nice comments. We have passed on your comments to the housekeepers and they appreciate the acknowledgement. We will always try to make your stay enjoyable. More 

Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Enjoyed our 5-night stay at USA Inn; which came highly recommended by friends. Front desk staff so welcoming after a long drive on the holiday weekend. Loved being in the new annex building, spotless, large rooms complete with balcony, refrigerator, microwave, free Wi-Fi, and the a/c unit was relatively quiet. Convenient to food, gas, convenience store and the beach just... More 

Thank 250Susan54250
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and for the nice review. We hope that you are able to return soon. More 

Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

An older inn but someone has taken the time to keep it up nicely. It's old fashioned, they hand write your reservation and your receipt. You get the old fashioned key on a key ring with your room number written on it. The room is simple but has everything you want or need, including free wi-fi. There aren't many outlets... More 

1 Thank MaryM1755
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice commentary and for noticing the upkeep. We work very hard to keep everything on the property updated. We just replaced all of the lighting, including bedside lighting which has multiple charging outlets. More 

Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Good location, right on Route 1. Clean and priced right. The people from the USA who you interact with are terrific, very nice people. Mattress is okay, a little on the hard side but works. Rooms are small but we weren't in it very long. Only cons, WIFI kept dropping, and the the soap is soo small, bring your own.

Thank v1960t
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments. We appreciate your taking the time. We always purchase firm mattresses because the majority of our guests prefer them. The soap is 3/4 ounce bars which is standard issue in most economy properties. We put 3 bars in each room, instead of 2, just in case people need more. We just spent a small... More 

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (10)
Room/Suite (3)
View from Room (1)
Dining (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.3 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
373 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.9 km away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#6 of 28 in Wells
660 reviews
0.5 km away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.4 km away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about USA Inn

Address: 1017 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: $104 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your USA Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hotel Wells
Usa Motel Wells
USA Inn Wells, Maine
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from USA Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from USA Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stairs are an issue, ask for a room on the first and second floors.”
  • TV, coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave area.
  • Room 316
 of 5 bubbles jgot, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Route 1 can be a bit noisy but not really bothersome, back can be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jimgansett, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in back are away from busy highway but front was quiet enough to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles olive52, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ogunquit River Inn”
 of 5 bubbles JMickeyWal, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Each room has its' own good qualities.”
 of 5 bubbles cjanie2016, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay