We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn of Bethesda

Save
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (15)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good36%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for American Inn of Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
87
103
47
28
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
87
103
47
28
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mexican restaurantfree breakfastlimited parkingmin walkmedical centerhot breakfastdesk staffclean roomsmetro stationbooked this hoteloutdoor poolother hotels in the areayogurtdowntown dcblockwaltershuttle
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
121 - 125 of 306 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2014

After being disappointed that my wife didn't book us at the DoubleTree, I was repeatedly surprised to find the American Inn of Bethesda to be a welcoming environment. The staff was gracious and accomodating. For an older hotel, the interior was fresh and well appointed...More

Thank Kimberly C
Response from Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of BethesdaResponded September 16, 2014

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you found us to be a viable alternative to the other hotels in Bethesda and a good balance of quality and value. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Reviewed September 6, 2014

Located among loads of amenities in downtown Bethesda, with easy access to Metro, NIH, Walter Reed. Parking on site is sparse, but public parking is only a block away & free on weekends. The Inn offers limited shuttle service on weekdays, but a free bus...More

Thank V S
Response from Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of BethesdaResponded September 8, 2014

We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad to hear that your event was a success and that our accommodations met your satisfaction. I'm especially excited to hear that our staff played a big role in creating a memorable experience for you. We hope that you will...More

Reviewed September 4, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Older hotel but was pretty clean. Nice breakfast area. We went there for a family reunion and the staff was very accommodating. Easy access to the subway to get down to DC area.

Thank Gina S
Response from Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of BethesdaResponded September 5, 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that your family reunion was a success and our accommodations met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Bethesda.

Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

The American Inn is a decent hotel, you get what you pay for. Disappointed by the lack of parking and the location isn't all the great (with exception of the short walk to the metro station, which was broken almost our entire stay). The breakfast...More

Thank Felicia G
Response from Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of BethesdaResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for honest observations. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations from a service and quality standpoint. Particularly, I am addressing your concerns regarding the timing for housekeeping with our entire staff to ensure that we are remaining sensitive to...More

Reviewed August 25, 2014

I travel with with a Beatles tribute band called The WannaBeatles. We had the pleasure of spending three days at the conveniently located American Inn. It is located in the heart of beautiful Bethesda close to a variety of excellent restaurants as well as Walter...More

1  Thank Dennis S
Response from Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of BethesdaResponded August 27, 2014

We were happy and excited to host you and your group at the American Inn, as I realize that you had many choices for accommodations in Bethesda. Thank you for your feedback. We wish you continued success with your tour and look forward to your...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bethesda
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Shuttle Bus Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mura M
March 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Somnath B | Reviewed this property |
Around 10 minutes. On weekdays, there is a morning drop to the subway station every 15-20 minutes. Ask at the hotel desk.
0
Votes
ash334
May 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from Ted G | Reviewed this property |
I think they do ,but I would call the hotel directly.
0
Votes
Beth L
January 21, 2015|
Answer
Response from V S | Reviewed this property |
The hotel expanded at one time - the 'regular' rooms are in the original taller multi-level building, having interior hallway entrances. The rooms of the 'south wing' are part of a 2-level structure, each having its own... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"There are no good rooms. This place is horrible."
Read review
"Don't stay here"
Read review
"Very nice view on 2nd floor."
Read review
"bigger rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing