We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commander Hotel & Suites

Save
Share
1401 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7298
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct for the Best Available Rate!
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-26
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-26
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$159
Expedia.comUS$159
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (329)
360
Panoramas (29)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21-02-12 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Commander Hotel & Suites
Updated 21-02-12 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 116 hotels in Ocean City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Commander Hotel has been a favorite with visitors to Ocean City for generations. On the corner of 14th street and the boardwalk, this oceanfront hotel offers a great location, newly renovated rooms and fun amenities. Lounge by the indoor or outdoor pool, pull up a seat in one of the rocking chairs on the patio or grab a bite to eat at one of our three onsite restaurants. Shopping, restaurants, nightlife and entertainment are at your fingertips and the beach is just steps away. Book a stay at the Commander and discover what has kept travelers coming back year after year.
Read more
Room & Suite (293)293
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Patio
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Direct for the Best Available Rate!
1,045Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 509
  • 316
  • 118
  • 37
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kimberlee94 wrote a review Apr. 8
Summit Point, West Virginia172 contributions39 helpful votes
Returned to the Commander with our kids. We had two oceanfront rooms. Couldn't believe how busy it was but apparently there was a cheer competition in the area so hotel was sold out. Hotel and staff were great as they were before. Biggest downfall is the parking or lack there of. We were lucky to get parked in the tiny lot right by the hotel but spaces are so tight. If everything near the hotel is full, then have to park a little ways down the street. Nice place to stay in offseason but don't think I'll fight the parking situation during when it gets busy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Teresa Davis, Guest Services / Front Office at Commander Hotel & Suites
Responded today
Thank you so much for review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again this season.
Read more
Stacey W wrote a review Sep. 2020
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania39 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We come to Ocean City every year for bike week and this year we decided to stay at Commander Hotel. Great place, clean and our room was nice. King suit with two private balconies. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar. 2, 2021
Thank you for your review staceyw926! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for Bike Week again in 2021!
Read more
Dawn wrote a review Oct. 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2020 has been a tough year on everyone. I just need to relax, refresh and reboot. If you have never stayed here, let me just tell you ... You have GOT TO GO. I stayed in room 451 and the views were absolutely breathtaking. Clean rooms, fantastic views, and out of this world hospitality from the most beautifully amazing Tanya who made me feel like family when I checked in. Everyone there was very welcoming and friendly, from the ladies cleaning rooms to the gentleman painting a door. Thank you again for the most amazing stay. I will most definitely be back again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar. 2, 2021
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and our team is glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021!
Read more
Andrew S wrote a review Oct. 2020
Rockville, Maryland89 contributions35 helpful votes
We originally booked two nights at the Commander, then extended to another two. That speaks for itself. Our “Captain’s suite” room on the 6th floor had a view of the ocean and beach as well as of a part of the city. It was furnished with a sink, refrigerator, toaster, and coffee maker (Keurig), as well as a large screen TV. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean, comfortable, roomy, with a desk and reading chair, and a balcony and deck chairs. It proved to be a good spot to survey the Classic Car parades on the boardwalk. At 14th St., the Commander is at the midpoint of the boardwalk. Parking was readily available. On the weekend things got a bit noisy, and the walls were not noiseproof. There was some mildew in the shower, some deposits on the shower door, and the mirror was not entirely clean. Also, a towel bar or ring would have been helpful. Finally, an electric tea kettle would have been nice. But otherwise, everything was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar. 2, 2021
Andrew, thank you for staying with us at the Commander and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team who is working diligently to correct the issues you experienced with the bathroom cleanliness. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team looks forward to welcoming you to the Commander Hotel again soon!
Read more
Maria wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We came to Ocean city like we do every year to enjoy our stay at the beach. We drove 8 hours to pull up to the Buckingham hotel where we were supposed to say to find out they let us book a hotel that's closed. They move us to this "sister" hotel the Commander. They tried to charge us the same price for a room that was half the size of the room we booked at the Buckingham. They gave us a specific room number for that to end up NOT being out room. Finally get to our room for it to be filthy. Dirt all over the doors/walls, the whole room smelled like mildew the ENTIRE time. The bath tub was disgusting we didn't shower the whole time we were there we had to bathe our selves outside of the shower. All of the vending machines were not working, the ice machine was out of order, our fridge was not working and we had a whole gallon of milk go bad. We called about the temperature in our room multiple times it went from freezing cold to so hot you cant even sit in the room. I mean the list is endless. I can go on and on. We came for a 4 day trip to have an awful experience and the lady at the front desk so sit there and say "I don't know what to tell you" How unprofessional? I will be calling to explain my terrible experience here and demand they do something about this. I am so disappointed. I will NEVER go back here. Do not come to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill Douglas, General Manager at Commander Hotel & Suites
Responded Oct. 6, 2020
Thank you for letting us know about your stay Mr. Feddiman! It is my understanding this room was shown to you and you said it was good for your to check into for your 3 night stay. i'm a little surprised we didn't hear anything during your stay about any issues but I'd love to hear more about it. I don't have your contact information as you booked through a 3rd party. Please reach out to me at 888 289 6166. Thank you!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commander hotel ocean city, commander ocean city
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Commander Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Commander Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Brass Balls Saloon (0.3 km), T.C. Studios Arts & Entertainment (0.2 km), and Paradise Cove Mini Golf (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Commander Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Commander Hotel & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Commander Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Commander Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Commander Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malia's Cafe, Layton's, and Brass Balls Saloon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Commander Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Commander Hotel & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Main Street Berlin (12.4 km), Calvin B. Taylor House Museum (12.5 km), and Transpeninsular Marker (12.1 km).
Does Commander Hotel & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Commander Hotel & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.