We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 375: English reviews
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed here on our way from Pennsylvania to Bar Harbor. Have stayed in other Best Westerns and have usually been satisfied. This was the case here. It was a little past the half way point of our trip. A pet friendly hotel is a must for us. The staff was very professional and helpful. The breakfast was above average and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I stayed here for 10 days visiting family. The hotel is more like a motel really,no lounge or bar areas so it's straight to your room. The decor is quite dated,mid 80's style but the room we had was adequate especially at the rate offered. Breakfast was slightly odd for those coming from UK - ok but very much utilitarian... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while visiting family. We are happy you enjoyed your 10 day stay and found our hotel comfortable and affordable. Luckily, even though we do not have a bar we are situated within walking distance to one, as well as, other shops like: grocery store, 24 hr. cvs and even a movie theater. These close... More 

Jeannette, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

There was food in the frig from the last people who stayed there. Candy paper on the floor that was not from us.. Never changed the sheets in the 3 days we were there. The shampoo that was in the room was half used and left there. The bath tub did not drain properly and the water dripped all night... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am terrible sorry for the not so pleasant experience you had while staying at our hotel. I looked at the service reports for your room and it looked like you had your do not disturb sign on each day you were here. We do not service the room if we see that on. However, I am very sorry... More 

Travellers are raving about these Haverhill hotels

Norwich, CT, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Never stayed here before and was pleasantly surprised with the shopping area and places to walk and enjoy the season. Able to visit with family in the area and see some of the country side. Easy access to major highways. I would definitely visit this area again to see more of what the states around have in store.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for the sweet review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time at our hotel and will stay with us again next time you visit with family. Thank you, Director of Sales More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here with a bus tour group Memorial Day weekend 2016. My room was clean with microwave and fridge. The area is great. Across the road is a shopping center with Marshalls, Burlington, CVS, a supermarket and a liquor store.

Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us. We love having bus tours and we had so much fun with your tour. We hope you come back again next year. Thank you, Sales Manager More 

Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We were stuck. Couldn't find a place to stay at Hampton Beach, NH due to a seafood festival we didn't know about. Wound up driving west on I-495 to Haverhill, MA before we got a room at this place. It's very dated and the last remodel was like a botched botox job. Nothing about this place felt right. We got... More 

Helpful?
Thank W1419ZDstever
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. Please accept my apologies. Also, please keep us in mind for the future, as we do have a renovation coming soon and all our rooms will be in one area. Thank you, Director of Sales More 

west seneca, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

the best western Merrimack valley in Haverhill Massachusetts was a nice visit- the staff was friendly but some of them were not dressed properly in my opinion- the breakfast was good but getting to the breakfast area was terrible- not handicap accessible- no elevator- the breakfast was hot and the food was good but needed a bigger area for more... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate you staying at our hotel North of Boston. We thank you for your feedback and do have a renovation planned soon that will included an easier layout with larger breakfast area. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Sales Manager More 

Fairbanks, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I will NEVER stay at this property again. It's infested with cockroaches and is in need of a major overhaul of all its rooms. Gross!! The sink countertop was warped and cracking. They must have used 2 tubes of caulking around the wash basin to try and fill in the cracks. There were cockroaches on the floor, ceiling and on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am terrible sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We did have the room inspected after we spoke and there was no findings in the room. We appreciate you staying with us and I am glad you reached out to me personally so that I was able to compensate you for your troubles. We hope that you visit... More 

Salisbury, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

in dire need of upgrading interior rooms, lobby, etc., doors do not properly close with and have huge gaps around them, rooms are dingy. No hot water or tea available throughout the day, only coffee. Long hair found in sheets and on floor and half full water jugs with broken seal found on tray with ice bucket.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry about your stay. We will have to make sure that our team is looking closer at the water when cleaning our rooms. Also, we do have a major renovation in the works that will address your other concerns. We hope to see you again once our renovations are complete. Thank you, Sales Manager More 

Sandown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Overall the hotel was clean, services provided were satisfactory and I felt confident that I got the best value/deal in the area! For a room with two queen beds, AC, a good size bathroom and closet, I paid under $200 for a Saturday night booking- for downtown Haverhill, that was pretty good!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brittany Z
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you! We try to keep our prices below our competitors even on sold out situations. Thank you again for staying with us! More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
454 reviews
10.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#3 of 4 in Salem
209 reviews
8.8 km away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
193 reviews
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
11.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley is located in Haverhill, MA. We offer a full hot complimentary breakfast, wireless internet throughout the building, as well as ample parking. We are situated right off of Interstate 495 Exit 49 which is very convenient for traveling throughout New England. We love having you stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Price Range: $110 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back quiet”
 of 5 bubbles X683OGmarks, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles W1419ZDstever, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main floor no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles terryVDR, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a king size bed room it was lovely. Nice seating area, desk, fridge, wardrobe, lots of nice pillows, also a nice large TV”
 of 5 bubbles carlaf689, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have elevator access”
 of 5 bubbles aggiemom99, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay