We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Merrimack Valley

CancelonUS$86*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$95*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$95*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Merrimack Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merrimack Valley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 386: English reviews
Winterport, United States
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stay here frequently. Grandchildren love the pool, close to convenient shopping, groceries, and restaurants. Of all the local pizza restaurants we recommend Giovannni's and the Market Basket has good take out items as well.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 53maureenh
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued stays at Best Western Merrimack Valley. We are very pleased to see you visit us and our able to enjoy our indoor heated pool with the grandkids. Also, thank you for the note about Giovanni's that is one of our staff favorites for pizza too! Hope to see you again this year!

Bedford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed here on our way from Pennsylvania to Bar Harbor. Have stayed in other Best Westerns and have usually been satisfied. This was the case here. It was a little past the half way point of our trip. A pet friendly hotel is a must for us. The staff was very professional and helpful. The breakfast was above average and...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your pleasant review and your stay at Best Western Merrimack Valley. We are very happy you enjoyed our convenient location, as well as, our ample free breakfast that we provide. We hope you can come back again next visit North. Thanks again, Sales Manager

Reviewed 20 October 2016

I stayed here for 10 days visiting family. The hotel is more like a motel really,no lounge or bar areas so it's straight to your room. The decor is quite dated,mid 80's style but the room we had was adequate especially at the rate offered. Breakfast was slightly odd for those coming from UK - ok but very much utilitarian...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark S
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while visiting family. We are happy you enjoyed your 10 day stay and found our hotel comfortable and affordable. Luckily, even though we do not have a bar we are situated within walking distance to one, as well as, other shops like: grocery store, 24 hr. cvs and even a movie theater. These close...

Jeannette, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

There was food in the frig from the last people who stayed there. Candy paper on the floor that was not from us.. Never changed the sheets in the 3 days we were there. The shampoo that was in the room was half used and left there. The bath tub did not drain properly and the water dripped all night...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am terrible sorry for the not so pleasant experience you had while staying at our hotel. I looked at the service reports for your room and it looked like you had your do not disturb sign on each day you were here. We do not service the room if we see that on. However, I am very sorry...

Norwich, CT, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Never stayed here before and was pleasantly surprised with the shopping area and places to walk and enjoy the season. Able to visit with family in the area and see some of the country side. Easy access to major highways. I would definitely visit this area again to see more of what the states around have in store.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for the sweet review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time at our hotel and will stay with us again next time you visit with family. Thank you, Director of Sales

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here with a bus tour group Memorial Day weekend 2016. My room was clean with microwave and fridge. The area is great. Across the road is a shopping center with Marshalls, Burlington, CVS, a supermarket and a liquor store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us. We love having bus tours and we had so much fun with your tour. We hope you come back again next year. Thank you, Sales Manager

Sequim, Washington
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We were stuck. Couldn't find a place to stay at Hampton Beach, NH due to a seafood festival we didn't know about. Wound up driving west on I-495 to Haverhill, MA before we got a room at this place. It's very dated and the last remodel was like a botched botox job. Nothing about this place felt right. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank W1419ZDstever
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. Please accept my apologies. Also, please keep us in mind for the future, as we do have a renovation coming soon and all our rooms will be in one area. Thank you, Director of Sales

west seneca, United States
Reviewed 26 September 2016

the best western Merrimack valley in Haverhill Massachusetts was a nice visit- the staff was friendly but some of them were not dressed properly in my opinion- the breakfast was good but getting to the breakfast area was terrible- not handicap accessible- no elevator- the breakfast was hot and the food was good but needed a bigger area for more...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate you staying at our hotel North of Boston. We thank you for your feedback and do have a renovation planned soon that will included an easier layout with larger breakfast area. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Sales Manager

Fairbanks, United States
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I will NEVER stay at this property again. It's infested with cockroaches and is in need of a major overhaul of all its rooms. Gross!! The sink countertop was warped and cracking. They must have used 2 tubes of caulking around the wash basin to try and fill in the cracks. There were cockroaches on the floor, ceiling and on...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas J
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am terrible sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We did have the room inspected after we spoke and there was no findings in the room. We appreciate you staying with us and I am glad you reached out to me personally so that I was able to compensate you for your troubles. We hope that you visit...

Salisbury, United States
Reviewed 25 September 2016

in dire need of upgrading interior rooms, lobby, etc., doors do not properly close with and have huge gaps around them, rooms are dingy. No hot water or tea available throughout the day, only coffee. Long hair found in sheets and on floor and half full water jugs with broken seal found on tray with ice bucket.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
Manager22031, Director of Sales at Best Western Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry about your stay. We will have to make sure that our team is looking closer at the water when cleaning our rooms. Also, we do have a major renovation in the works that will address your other concerns. We hope to see you again once our renovations are complete. Thank you, Sales Manager

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
508 reviews
8.5 km away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
199 reviews
10.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
18.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
11.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Best Western Merrimack Valley, located off Interstate 495 in Haverhill, Massachusetts. This Merrimack Valley area hotel is conveniently close to Canobie Lake Park, the Salisbury State Reservation, Hampton Beach and the Salem Witch Museums. The Best Western Merrimack Valley offers spaciously appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. This New England hotel serves a complimentary breakfast each morning. Additional amenities include a fitness center, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, guest laundry and full business services. Pets are welcome. This Haverhill hotel is close to many area attractions including the Budweiser(R) Brewery, New Hampshire and Northern Massachusetts ski areas, the Strawbery Banke Museum in Portsmouth, and the USS Constitution in Charlestown. Guests will also be close to attractions such as Merrimack College, the University of Massachusetts Lowell Campus, the Freedom Trail and the Boston Science Museum. Corporate travelers will appreciate convenient access to the Ward Hill Business Park, Osgood Landing, Raytheon and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Ave, Haverhill, MA 01832
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Price Range: $130 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Merrimack Valley staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Merrimack Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always be nice to the host. And smile.”
gusdmh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back quiet”
X683OGmarks, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
W1419ZDstever, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main floor no elevator”
terryVDR, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a king size bed room it was lovely. Nice seating area, desk, fridge, wardrobe, lots of nice pillows, also a nice large TV”
carlaf689, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$86* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$95
Booking.comUS$95
Priceline
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates