We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whistler's Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whistler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Whistler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Wildwood, Missouri
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Wonderful country mansion that offers a terrific, relaxing stay. Authentic rustic house that has been well maintained with rooms that are very comfortable and nicely furnished. The hosts are just simply wonderful. Great place to stay when visiting Lenox.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Curtis S
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you and we are happy that you had a pleasant stay at Whistler's Inn. We hope to see you again someday.

Harwich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I booked online through Expedia arrived yesterday at the Inn which is a lovely Edwardian Mansion. We were then escorted to the basement of a barn which was dirty, dangerous and quite disgusting. I will post the photos of the exposed sewer and water pipes, the plastic bags stuffed into the holes in the windows. The room smelled of mold...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Berkshires2015
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

These people did not stay at Whistler's Inn. When they first entered the room, the gentleman had a very favorable reaction; however, the wife had no initial response until later. We offered them a room at another inn (one of Berkshires' best) when they first arrived in the early afternoon, since we did not have any other available rooms. We...

İstanbul
Reviewed 29 June 2015

It was a pleasant stay. Hosts were perfect .It was very nice to talking them . We loved the hot home made cakes and dishes for breakfast. Location is very good walking distance to forest and shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gulsen2015
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you! Breakfast time at Whistler's Inn is always a great time to meet other guests and to have great conversations. We are glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again someday.

Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Great shakes Nice place loved it I recommend it to anyone going to Lenox and I never tire going there . Go there to relax and relaxation. Nice people own the inn. They put we me for 31 years and they didn't hang me. I liked it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MauriceDuBois
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Maurice! You are always welcome. We have enjoyed your company over the years, and we appreciate your advice and help with the garden! There is always sherry in the library, and one of us is determined to win you at a game of chess one of these days. Your favorite room (Santa Fé Room) is waiting for you!

nyc
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

They are all booked for the summer. Located near Tanglewood where concerts happen. So, we lucked out because the concerts have not begun. It's very late "Spring" entering summer. The weather can be cold at night. I should not complain because we found something. However, even though I am an antique buff, there is no excuse for the bathrooms to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foodyholic
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

It was nice to meet you, and we hope that your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your sincerity about your experience at Whistler's Inn. The bathrooms are all up-to-date in relationship to fixtures. A couple of these rooms have tiles that are original to the house, and they are still in great shape. Unfortunately, the flame in the boiler went...

Clifton Springs, New York
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Loved this place. Only got to stay one night for a concert at Tanglewood. House and grounds are lovely. Close to Tanglewood and Lenox downtown. Reasonable price. Missed out on breakfast as I had to get up and out early. Hope to get back for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you. Breakfast time is a great way to meet other guests. We always have long, interesting conversations around the dining room table. It is too bad that you missed the experience. We bake everything in the morning, therefore, breakfast begins at 8:30am. There is always early morning coffee, tea and cookies upstairs in the corridor.

San Anselmo, California
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Whistler's Inn is a great getaway for the family. We loved the elegant, relaxing, slower-paced environment. My kids played badmitton in the backyard, while my husband and I read in the well-stocked library. It's location is central to everything in the Berkshires. Tanglewood, Shakespeare & Co., the Berkshire Theater Festival are all within a 10 mile radius, and the charming...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gretchen A
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Hello Gretchen! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at Whistler's Inn. We really enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon! It was so nice to spend time with your family.

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We were very excited to stay here based on the photos and reviews we had seen online. Much to our dismay, when we arrived, we were less than pleased with what we saw. When we were shown our room, we asked for some water for the night, and we were told that the tap water would be fine for us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIGAG11
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Our first priority at Whistler's Inn is to make certain that our guests are comfortable and happy with their accommodations. Responding to the last review, I would like to say that although Whistler's Inn is an old English Tudor mansion built in the 1870's, we have modern heating (a new boiler), and we offer our guests very safe space heaters...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We happened to find this Inn whilst travelling and were very pleased that we did. The house is lovely and we felt that we were welcome guests at the owners home. The house does have an interesting history and guests are invited to spend time relaxing in the library or music room. The owners are very friendly and breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob099
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We enjoyed meeting you, and we hope to see you again.

New York
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Randomly found this place and so happy we did!!! A unique and charming atmosphere. Definitely a one of a kind. But my favorite B&B in terms of the service and vibe. It had such a charming, artistic laid-back ambience. We stayed in such a small room that it was only used to sleep in, but it still had such a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank meradams
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We strive to make our guests happy. We would love to see you again at Whistler's Inn!

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
519 reviews
5.0 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.4 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
546 reviews
0.1 km away
Birchwood Inn
Birchwood Inn
#7 of 20 in Lenox
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featured on The Travel Channel and Great Escapes, this 1820 English Tudor mansion in the heart of the Berkshires was once the home of the railroad tycoon Ross Wynans Whistler, nephew of the painter James M. Whistler. Close to Tanglewood and all major Berkshire cultural venues, Whistler's Inn captures the warmth and elegance of a bygone era. On six acres of gardens and woodlands and two blocks from the center of Lenox, this quiet antique and art-filled retreat has an extensive library and French music room with a Steinway grand piano. A buffet breakfast is served with recipes inspired by the cook's world travels (Spain, France, Israel, South America, Japan and Morocco). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whistler's Inn

Address: 5 Greenwood St, Lenox, MA 01240-2029
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Price Range: $168 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whistler's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Whistler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler`s Hotel Lenox
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whistler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Convenient to town!”
 of 5 bubbles rueb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 17stephanier, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't go anytime”
 of 5 bubbles farbs22, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space don't book the smallest room.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeLeon, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check out the website to see which room or rooms will meet your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles Sci3mom, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5