We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kemble Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kemble Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kemble Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Medford
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed. We loved being close to town and the views from the back of the hotel are amazing. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missy L
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

We love helping people celebrate special occasions. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe during the summer so you can enjoy that gorgeous view from our veranda while eating lunch or dinner! Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words.

Long Island, NY
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary by booking a B & B in Lenox, MA called the Kemble Inn. It's a beautiful mansion from the late 1700s that has been restored and designed to a 't'. I loved everything from the paint color to the contemporary Louis XVI chairs and relaxing room with homage to the Queen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tricor
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

“Relaxing elegance” is just what we want to convey – so glad you felt that. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

New Rochelle, New York
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We planned a short getaway to the Berkshires with the hope of staying in an updated and elegant B& B. We certainly experienced both at the Kemble Inn. Architecturally it has the charm and grace of a stately mansion while being completely renovated throughout with contemporary furnishings and amenities. Just beautiful Ralph Lauren! We stayed on the second floor -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berdie S
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure for us to have you here. We are glad you enjoyed our “scrumptious” meals, décor and that great bathroom floor feature. Tanglewood’s schedule is out! We look forward to seeing you again this summer.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed again in September and had a lovely time. The terrace outside is fabulous. It's amazing to witness the transformation of the inn. We stayed on the third floor this time due to availability. I'll admit that the rooms aren't as great as the second floor but I cant really complain because the price reflected that. A lot of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChemEngGirl82
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much. It was great seeing you again. We always appreciate our guests who enjoy everything we offer and understand that we provide so many unique and special options while being a work in progress. See you again.

Pebble Beach, California
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have stayed at many different B & Bs over the years and were looking forward to our stay. Our room was pleasant, but the bed left a lot to be desired. Foam pillows were tacky and not very comfortable. We requested wood for our fireplace, but declined to use it when we learned that it was a $35 surcharge....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Susan U
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Dear Susan. It sounds like you know a lot about B&B’s so you know it does take time and a huge investment of money and more to fully restore a gorgeous 1800’s mansion into the perfect spot for today’s modern traveler. Room 102 is a favorite of some of our most treasured guests who need handicapped accessible room and bath....

Surprise
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Kemble Inn and it was so perfect! We loved our room and had a fire every night in the fireplace (they did it for us) very romantic. Our room had been totally renovated and the spa tub was super! They do need to add a window shade in the bathroom :>) The grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandmcd
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Hi J and MCD: We enjoyed your visit too and loved how you spent romantic evenings each night in front of your fireplace. Guess what - beautiful shutters were installed in that bathroom yesterday. When you visit us next time you’ll see. Glad your stay was special. It was our pleasure to help make it that way for you.

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were lucky to have made the spur of the moment decision to stay at The Kemble. The property is beautiful, and you cannot beat the location! Our second floor room was large, clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. We're hoping that the recent renovations and upgrades will soon extend to the bathroom, which is need of more than a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toriella
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

We so appreciate your note. We’ve worked hard to create a unique, caring and comfortable place for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for understanding that. We still have more to go, but as we complete renovations, our bathrooms are top of the line with heated floors, waterworks showers, some jacuzzis.... Hopefully, as you say, when you return even more...

ny
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Beautiful yet, not-too-precious. We returned for our 2nd stay at the Kemble .We had been guests, pre- renovations, in the spring and wanted to see what they had done. Lovely staff, we met Camillo , the new House Manger, who was attentive and delightful. He is an asset and will likely be able to see the Inn throughout its next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k s
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Congratulations on becoming engaged at the Kemble Inn! We enjoyed having you stay with us and are happy to be part of such a happy occasion. With just 13 rooms (12 in winter) we may have less choice for guests coming from out of town when a wedding party is staying with us. Yes, some third floor rooms are much...

FRANCE
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had such a nice impression. We were welcomed in a very friendly manner. Our room was bigger than what we expected from the website. We had reserved one night but quickly decided to spend two. Because their restaurant was closed the days we were there we asked for a recommendation and Anna Lisa went out of her way to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CHOCOLATBLANC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting with us! We are so happy you decided to stay another night. That is the best compliment we can get. It is true, we are so close to everything yet you feel like you are in the country. Glad you enjoyed that aspect of our Inn as well as the heated floors! Thanks for taking the time...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We had such high hopes (perhaps too high) but at best the Inn was only OK. Noticeable maintence issues, uninterested service (except Camillo) and Breakfasts of no special Quality. Hotel Advertises "Ralph Lauren Style in Lenox". Most likely Ralph Lauren drove by but didn't stop when he saw the prices.

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Howard M
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review

Howard, We enjoyed hosting you and the whole wedding party that stayed with us, giving the bride and groom, and many of their guests a vibrantly-decorated gilded mansion of their own for the weekend. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as other people that weekend. Certainly there are many choices of where to stay in Lenox....

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
2.9 km away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
242 reviews
5.5 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
524 reviews
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 km away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.3 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Price Range: $430 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kemble Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Chesaning, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kemble Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Room 204. If you want a beautiful of the mountain during the fall season.”
joea533, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the lawn have the best view.”
timothyi88, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 101 is remarkable”
Biminip, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suite 101 was amazing! You can hear the front door slam if people are not careful but we never had an issue with it while we were sleeping!”
k1234, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 204 was amazing!”
richarddaniels2016, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5