We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had placed reservations for two rooms through AARP. When I drove in, I had a strange feeling about the place. I opened the car door to hear very loud music nearby. We were with our daughters. One room was placed in the front of the hotel and the other was placed in the seedy back of the hotel, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank wcres
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, Malden for your recent stay in our area. We appreciate your review and regret the inconvenience. We take our reviews very seriously. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. • The front... More 

Claremont, nh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The only thing going for this place is its price, we barely had an internet connection, I asked the clerk for a box of tissues and he woke us up at 11pm banging on the door with them 4 hours later, smoking room without an ashtray, door jam pieced together with no security, bunch of migrant workers hanging outside of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden during your last to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement. We have addressed your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. The hotel staff has been well trained and each room is... More 

Travellers are raving about these Malden hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Rooms are poor. Lock didn't work properly. Ac broken. Wouldn't swap rooms as hotel was full. Entire place smells bad. Booked non smoking room and it smelled of smoke. Location is scruffy but close to Boston. Price is expensive for the quality of rooms. Check in staff were friendly but entire hotel needs refurbishment.

Helpful?
2 Thank Skydivescott
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We regret for your experience however unlikely it may be but shall surely take them for improvement. We have checked into each of the aspects which you have mentioned in your lengthy review and have taken action seriously on... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The first thing that greeted us was an old or new sick stain on the tarmac at the main front door then the smell and then the security screen at the front desk,we got a downstairs room that you entered by a corridor so there was no outside window in the room,i encountered 3 types of bugs in the room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hogweed1963
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement. At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever. We have investigated your observations with the hotel staff and have taken all necessary steps to offer the best. Special attention... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel is easy to find; we were surprised by the knowledge of the receptionist; he did her best to find the better deal for us for our next stay. Rooms are spacious and very clean; with great amenities with just renovated furniture, bathroom and carpet. The best thing is we could take easy routes via. Public services right outside the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is the kind of hotel where you go because you need a place to stay, and all you want is a roof over your head, clean sheets and hot water. The hotel delivers these, and nothing more. The rooms are billed "non-smoking", but by now the smoke is embedded into the carpets, and the place seriously needs a renovation.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hd27dfh23789h7892
Telaviv
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One of the big problems in Boston is the price fixing - as the majority of 3-4 star hotels are over priced by $100-$250 and a tourist has no choice but to pay it because the lower 2-3 star lodgings are all pits that should not be open in the first place. The Econo Lodge in Malden should be put... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank savvy11
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent last visit to our area and appreciate the review. We have engaged a professional team for regular cleaning with a strict instruction to check the rooms and amenities of the room before checking in a new guest. We request you to make a note of our efforts and consider... More 

Shawnee, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was the worst room we have ever stayed in. The locks on the doors were broken, the door jam had been repaired but looked like a kid had fixed it and there was light shining all around the door as if the door didn't fit. The carpet was stained, there was no channel listing for the tv, the room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan32548
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area and the review. We are addressing your observations related to the amenities and cleanliness. Each room will be thoroughly checked before checking in a new guest. We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us. Sincerely, Hotel... More 

Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have many complaints about my stay here at this particular lodging. Firstly, I booked a non smoking room but I was put into a handicapped smoking room. Then when I requested for what I originally asked for in my reservation they gave me the dirtiest room I have ever stayed at. There was an odor that lingered about the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kdang808
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate the time taken to write the review. We have checked each of the points mentioned in the lengthy review. Nevertheless we have taken each of the responsible department to task to ensure that there is no second chance to have any negative comment. We hope you would appreciate our... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Do not book a room here! Rooms are gross, even the nonsmoking rooms stink. Clientele is super sketchy, seriously wouldn't be surprised if they rent rooms by the hour. Found a guy passed out in the lobby when I decided to check out early because I couldn't stay there anymore.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mina L
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Esteemed Guest, Thank you for staying at the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We also appreciate your review and observations. We have investigated the happening and taken the appropriate steps to improve everything which you have mentioned in it. We have taken all the steps to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality... More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malden
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 82 in Boston
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Price Range: $114 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Montevideo, Uruguay
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want Smoking Room, this is the place.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenS611, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the main floor”
 of 5 bubbles charlottek785, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms-just a place to sleep and get up and go.”
 of 5 bubbles 767lynng, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get Room 258”
 of 5 bubbles GatorGuy32, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for a marketplace or eateries closeby, you wont find any, there is a mall about 5-10 miles away”
 of 5 bubbles kakolisen, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay