We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Inn on the Green

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Inn on the Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Inn on the Green
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Boston, MA
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Thoroughly delighted with our recent stay. We were only in the area one night but it was really nice to not have to worry about finding another restaurant, driving over there, etc. This inn offers packages that include a prix-fixe meal (even better: as a credit which you could apply to anything on the menu, good because we have food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRP
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

We're so happy that you enjoyed your time here at the inn so much. It really seems like you made the most of your night away. Thank you for writing! All the best, Peter Platt and Meredith Kennard, Owners

Reviewed 16 June 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Old Inn on the Green in June 2015. It was an amazing little getaway from the hustle and bustle of NYC. We traveled there on a TravelZoo deal and spent 2 nights. Our first night we ate at the restaurant and were blown away. The food was amazing! The chef was nice enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamla B
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

It's always nice to get away from the city, thanks for choosing us! We're glad you enjoyed all your meals with us and had such a great time exploring everything the Berkshires have to offer! I hope you'll keep us in mind next time the city's getting to you -- you'll have to come back for a dip in the...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We used to visit the Old Inn on the Green for dinner when we lived in CT over 20 years ago - it was wonderful then & on a recent trip to the US we decided to return & stay overnight. Going back to places you used to know can be greatly disappointing, but that was not so here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otterhound
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

Reading this was the real treat -- I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the Bourbon to the candlelight. It would be absolutely lovely to have you back any time. Take care, Peter and Meredith

Nesconset, New York
Reviewed 16 May 2015

We had a delightful 2 night stay at the Old Inn on the Green. It is situated well off the beaten path about 10 miles from the nearest town of Great Barrington. The rooms are charming and each one is totally different. We had room 201 which is on the first floor by the pool. This is a place to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scronk73
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad we could help you get away and spend some quiet time with delicious meals. And we'd love to have you back any time. Take care, Peter Platt - Chef/Owner

Boston, MA
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We had a front facing room that had a sitting room, porch and bedroom. It was very comfortable and given the age of the inn, well maintained. The inn's dining room is lit solely by candles, and with the fireplace, one could imagine being back in another era. The service and food was excellent. One thing to keep in mind...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hedleymom
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed room 194 so much. It's great to hear that you had such a lovely time with us, and I really appreciate your kind words and recommendation. I hope you'll join us again next time you're looking to get away from the city. Take care, Peter Platt - Chef/Owner

Saratoga
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Visiting history is great, but getting to stay in history is the best. History is what you find here. Built 1760 with an additional building dated 1820. It is old and gives you the real sense of yesterday. The owners and staff could not be more accommodating. If you miss their dinners you are going to miss a spectacular event....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2FortheRoadSaratoga
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

Always glad to know a fellow history buff! I'm happy that you enjoyed everything from the buildings down to the cantaloupe. We're absolutely looking forward to your next visit -- Take care, Peter Platt - Chef/Owner

Northborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We just returned from two wonderful nights at the Inn on the Green, located on the edge of the bucolic Berkshires. Our hosts, Meredith and Peter, were special and we had wonderful spirited, long discussions with Meredith, who made us feel comfortable from the very beginning. We especially enjoyed Chapman, their handsome lab, who spend his mornings also making the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

We cannot thank you enough for this lovely review, Kathryn. It was such a pleasure to meet you and your husband, and I'm glad you had a wonderful time with us. I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Chapman as well! Keep us in mind next time you find yourself in the Berkshires -- we'd love to have...

Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We spent a romantic weekend at this B & B and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We were in the Thayer house in an upstairs room with a fireplace and large bath. We did not mind walking to the dining room in the adjacent building at all. I loved the decor that was nature inspired and simple. Our dinner on Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheatydog
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

We're so glad that we could provide the experience you were looking for, culminating in a memorable weekend for you! It's always meaningful when folks understand and appreciate what we do. Thank you for your kind words. We hope you'll join us again next time you're looking to get away. Best wishes, Peter and Meredith

Boston
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Perfect place for a winter get away in a historic colonial inn. Room: We were in the guest house (rm 202) and loved the private large double jacuzzi and real working fireplace. Dinner then jacuzzi soak, then snuggle by the crackling fire...pretty great night. Only con was there were two double beds instead of one queen/king bed. There is wireless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie5374
Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a truly lovely getaway, and we're so glad we could be a part of it. It's great that you enjoyed everything from the jacuzzi to the candlelit dinner. I hope you'll join us again next time you're looking for some peaceful relaxation. Take care, Peter and Meredith

Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Inn this past Thursday and Friday nights. It was truly the most restful and rejuvenating stay we have ever had! The Inn is charming and incredibly comfortable, and the food was beyond description. We highly recommend staying in room 195, and eating every meal you can at the Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brandi S

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
14.3 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
966 reviews
8.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
260 reviews
18.5 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
238 reviews
21.9 km away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
15.8 km away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Inn on the Green

Address: 134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd, Rte 57, Village Green, New Marlborough, MA 01230-2159
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Price Range: $403 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn On The Green Hotel New Marlborough
The Old Inn On The Green New Marlborough, MA - Berkshires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Inn on the Green staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Inn on the Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room #203 with the Jacuzzi tub.”
 of 5 bubbles gourmand47, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Room 202”
 of 5 bubbles jamesthammond, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay at the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles 99GB, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Many varieties of rooms as an old inn would have. Ours was great.”
 of 5 bubbles spren2016, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a lovely ground floor room in the adjacent house. Very comfortable and extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles WendyE809, 9 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5