We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Northampton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Hotel Northampton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 366: English reviews
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst lunch ever and will never return.Room was very expensive and wasn't at all what It was expecting.Had two balconys that I was told was non smoking and the management was horrible with their response.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rinajohn
Management response:

Dear rinajohn, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in regards to your recent stay at the Hotel Northampton. Your comment regarding your dining expierence caught my attention. We are so sorry you didn't like your lunch. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional dining experience for all of our guests and prioritize customer service. Please rest...

Lighthouse Point, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always find it a special and welcoming place. The staff couldn't be more helpful with our various requests; I wish all hotels could be this well-managed! The town is great, and the hotel makes a visit here really wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristenwilk2
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

kristenwilk2, Thank you so much for your feedback! Hotel Northampton Management

long island new york
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While it is true that the Hotel Northampton is historic, our stay did not reach our expectations. The room was dirty with hair on the floor in the bathroom. The front desk check in process was poor. The room selection was dismal and our room was lousy. We booked a room on their website and paid a none-discounted fare. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seapinesmiserable
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear Seapinesmiserable, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry you didn't like your room. We have 17 room types in our hotel, so please reach out before your next stay so that we can accommodate your needs. Our housekeeping does a wonderful job, so we are very upset to hear that your room was not clean--please reach out...

Laurel, MD
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 2 nights here while attending a conference for work. The front desk staff on duty 11/9 were extremely helpful and friendly. It was a quick check-in, and I loved that they had fresh apples on the counter for guests!! I'm not a fan of heavy florals but the room (501) was clean, comfortable and quaint (i.e small). I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMS1908
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear DMS1908, Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of planning a room renovation, so the floral print will be out soon, replaced by a more modern pattern. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the quinoa in our restaurants--it's a popular dish! Hotel Northampton Management.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Northampton was wonderful catering to our wedding guests. They were accommodating and went above and beyond to make their stay as perfect as our wedding was. We would absolutely come back and recommend Hotel Northampton to anyone visiting the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana L
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Thank you, Adriana L! Hotel Northampton Management

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a overnight.Upon check-in we were in the middle of someone's wedding cocktail hour.It was held in the lobby which was small but nice but wouldn't want to have strangers going through my daughter's wedding.We had a room near the Elevator and heard it all night long.We didnt think of that when we checked in. The hotel had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mecp3
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear Mecp3, We are so sorry to hear that the noise from the elevator kept you awake. Please let us know during your next stay and we will make sure to have you in an area where you feel more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon! Hotel Northampton Management.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cancelled my Nov 4 reservation on 9/11 and woke up to a fraudulent charge on my account on Nov 6 for the reservation I had cancelled. A simple call to the reservation desk to request that this charge be removed resulted in a lengthy waste of time as allegedly they had no manager on duty until Tuesday. I also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emf51994
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Foley, we trust that you received the correspondence sent from our General Manger on Monday morning, 11/7 about your stay. We do have a manager on duty 24/7, however, not all managers have the ability to investigate charges in our accounting system or issue refunds without upper management approval. Hotel Northampton Management

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This hotel will remind you of your grandma's estate, or at least what her estate would have looked like if she'd had one. Old, flowery fabrics and Victorian-esque furniture - but nicely upgraded bathrooms. The rooms are small but comfortable. The best thing the hotel has going for it is its location, particularly if you will be spending time at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurak022
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear laurak022, Thank you for your honest review! We know our rooms are a bit outdated with the linens and room furniture. We are gearing up for an extensive room renovation this winter. We look forward to having you back when it's complete. Hotel Northampton Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Take a step back in time with all of the modern luxuries. Staff is extremely helpful and hotel is very well maintained. Rooms are very nice and clean. Ask for a balcony room if possible. You won't be disappointed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FCIII
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear FCIII, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the balcony.... We hope to see you again soon! Hotel Northampton Management.

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were there for a wedding, arrived on a Thursday afternoon, Sept. 1st, before most of the other wedding guests. Great reception from staff, room pretty big, and a decent sized bathroom with amenities, hairdryer and lovely towels, robes and slippers. Breakfast was certainly nothing to write home about, a rather cheap selection of (mostly) white and sweet bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanna G
HotelNorthamptonExec, Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review

Dear Nanna G, Thank you very much for your review. We do not traditionally keep cheese on our continental breakfast, however, we do serve a full breakfast where cheese is available. During your next stay, please ask one of our breakfast servers. We hope to see you again soon. Hotel Northampton Management

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
163 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
730 reviews
8.9 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
11.7 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Wiggins Tavern
Wiggins Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Price Range: $219 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Northampton staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
New Jersey
Dover Plains, New York
1 month ago
Groton, Vermont
5 months ago
Groton, Vermont
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Northampton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the main building only.”
 of 5 bubbles Seapinesmiserable, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not near Elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Mecp3, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“third floor king balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Ann20032014, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Gothic Garden rooms are overpriced. "Residential Cottage" isn't historic but larger suites suitable for families.”
 of 5 bubbles 491kn, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher and toward the back. Quieter.”
  • The room. Small, but clean and well kept.
 of 5 bubbles WanderingLama, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay