We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I arranged for an overnight for my wife's birthday. The highlight of the birthday surprise was having dinner at a nearby restaurant that my wife has wanted to try for a long time. It's a distance away so I thought an overnight would compliment the dinner. Well much to our delight the stay at Centennial House was the best part... More 

Helpful?
Thank george c
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you, George! As a small business owner in a crowded industry like ours you know how important it is to strive to exceed the customers' expectations. We truly enjoy meeting and hosting folks and were honored to host your wife's birthday surprise weekend. Steve says the house "performs well" for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. We're gratified that... More 

Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Our first time in New England and so thankful that we found The Centennial House B&B. Joan and Steve were so helpful from the moment we made the reservation until we met them for the first time. The house and property is amazing and very well kept. The Inn is very convenient to I 91 and in a lovely little... More 

Helpful?
Thank GJax
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

WOW! You folks are too wonderful! Our helper Caty and I were so intimidated when we found out that you were foodies and love to cook. It's gratifying to know that you liked the cake and the rest of the breakfast that much. I promise I will get that recipe out into the mail asap! The Deerfield Suite is a... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

On our way back to Boston after fall color drive through ME and NH we stayed in this pretty B&B. We got their fairly late in the evening and went to bed after a brief talk with the owners about the property and breakfast. The inn appeared pretty spacious with two fairly large dinning rooms and several living quarters. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank P M
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for so many superlatives in your text. We're delighted that you appreciated our convenient location in the heart of New England, and found so much in your brief stay to compliment us on. Sorry too that you felt you had to tiptoe around on the wood floors at night. We wish we could have assured you that at 200... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2015

My sister and I stayed one night on the way back to civilization from a leaf-peeping tour of VT and NH. The house is a great added-on-many-times late 18th/early 19th century classic. It is very comfortable, but not in a flashy way. Two nice sitting rooms downstairs, an attractive sun room/ breakfast room and inside dining room. There are several... More 

Helpful?
Thank agriffithva
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very complete description of our services and the flexibility of our room layout--a unique feature of the property. The option for suites was here when we took over Centennial House, and date back to the 1800's, when the interior rooms were heated by fireplaces (now not in use unfortunately) and hallways were cooler (thankfully,... More 

Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I'm a frequent visitor at Northfield Mount Hermon and the owners here always make me feel welcome and right at home. They are always accommodating with breakfast times, etc. The food is consistently delicious. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Warning, though: It's a small place and they fill up quickly so make sure you reserve far in advance.

Helpful?
Thank GreenMountainGirls
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you, GreenMountainGirls! We love our NMH guests because we get to know you over a span of time, hear about your children's progress, and know you're here because you want to be, not just because we are convenient to the school. Repeat guests remind us to never stop improving so that your experience, while familiar, is still fresh. That's... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I needed a hotel for a lacrosse tournament being held at Northfield Mount Hermon. Somehow, I found Centennial House. Lucky me. We booked the Deerfield Suite and it was superb! A room for my daughter -- a big room with two twin beds; and for me a four poster king. We had our own beautiful large bathroom with a spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsKNj
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Very nice owners. They neither ignored us, nor talked to us too much. Just the way my husband and I like it. And, the house is decorated just enough, not too pretentious, not so full of "stuff" that you feel like you are in your grandmother's house. We really enjoyed the breakfast. I see other reviewers mentioned it wasn't enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank dosacquas
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello! We're delighted that we hit the right note for you during your visit and we'll look forward to seeing you again. We usually ask about any mobility issues vis a vis the Northfield Room bed as it is high. If you booked online directly, we may not have had the opportunity to raise the issue. B&B's strive not to... More 

Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The couple that own this inn are so nice and friendly. That really makes a B&B! We love old inns, and this one was great. The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed looking out of the windows in the room. It was a little too warm, and opening the windows helped, except that you don't want drapes open at night.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi W
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sandi, Thanks so much for your kind comments. We say that it's easy to be nice to nice people! We really enjoyed your visit and were sorry to see that you needed a lower mirror. We have a lighted one on a stand that we lend out if we had only known. You did hit that late May heat... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

I visit a sick friend and when I visit I always stay here. The rooms that I have stayed in are all comfortable, well appointed, and relaxing. The Owners are very friendly and eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. And the breakfast they serve is quit good. You will enjoy your stay here.

Helpful?
Thank mark c
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Sorry for the delayed response to your wonderful comments. We wish the reason for your visits was happier for you and the family you visit locally, but your loyalty as a repeat customer is heartwarming. AND, you are fun to talk to! Many thanks. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Joan and Steve go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. It felt like coming home. Breakfast is beyond delicious and is fresh and homemade by Joan everyday. It was exactly what we needed, relaxing and heartwarming.

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Katie, Thanks so much for your comments. We really enjoyed your visit and hope to see you all again. More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
18.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
20.7 km away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
758 reviews
22.2 km away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
436 reviews
19.1 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
316 reviews
7.6 km away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Price Range: $209 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Northfield is a QUIET town (but minutes from Deerfield, Greenfield and Brattleboro VT)”
  • Comfy quarters
 of 5 bubbles JoeD193, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“look at the rooms on the website”
 of 5 bubbles GreenMountainGirls, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There is an option to have a 2 room/shared bath if you are traveling with children.”
  • Lovely B&B - great hosts!
 of 5 bubbles alisonm429, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The Deerfield suite looks out over the garden, is quiet and comfortable.”
  • Two-bed room
  • Greenfield Suite - King-sized bed
 of 5 bubbles AMuse4, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We loved Strawberry Banke”
 of 5 bubbles Wilbo68, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay