We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-11-17 2017-11-18
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Emerson Inn

    1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-11-172017-11-18
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (131)
    Room & Suite (30)
    Pool & Beach (11)
    Overview
    • Excellent45%
    • Very good34%
    • Average11%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “ocean view” (29 reviews)
    “no lift” (7 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Meeting Rooms
    3.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Nov 17Nov 18
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (339)
    There are newer reviews for Emerson Inn
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    161 - 165 of 323 reviews

    Reviewed 14 August 2013

    This is a fabulous old hotel by the ocean encompassing a time when folks came to stay for an extended period to escape the summer heat. Indeed, one of its visitors was Ralph Waldo Emerson for whom the inn is named. It is very comfortable...More

    1  Thank Jan W
    Reviewed 13 August 2013

    Overall, this place is wonderful. It has amazing views, comfortable accommodations (although I REALLY did not like the smell of the room!) and just a very relaxing atmosphere. At first I was a little worried because it's sort of away from the hustle and bustle...More

    Thank jsl_96
    Reviewed 10 August 2013

    Lovely historic Inn by the sea with a great view. A little off the beaten path but great if looking for quiet. Beds are very comfortable with nice linens. Breakfast is included and is very good. Much like a Sunday Brunch. The staff could not...More

    Thank 2bignanas
    Reviewed 9 August 2013

    Location is wonderful. The inn is a little worn but charming. Our biggest problem was dinner at the inn. We had a reservation, and were seated promptly, but here is where it goes wrong. We had a 7:30 reservation and we had our dinner in...More

    1  Thank Lisa K
    Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

    We arrived at 4:30 pm and were quickly checked in by a very courteous gentleman. He gave us all the normal registration instructions. We had a third floor king sized bed room. It had a picture window (sorry no balcony) with a gorgeous view of...More

    1  Thank Vanderneucker
    Rockport Inn and Suites
    547 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Rockport
     
    Captain's Bounty on the Beach
    460 reviews
    #1 of 6 hotels in Rockport
     
    Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
    455 reviews
    #4 of 7 hotels in Gloucester
     
    Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
    518 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Rockport
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$191 - US$399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 38
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Massachusetts >
    • Cape Ann >
    • Rockport
    • Also Known As
    • Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (131)
    Room & Suite (30)
    Pool & Beach (11)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (111)
    Bathroom (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
    455 reviews
    8.01 km away
     
    Captain's Bounty on the Beach
    460 reviews
    2.35 km away
     
    Rockport Inn and Suites
    547 reviews
    3.29 km away
     
    Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
    518 reviews
    2.25 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Roy Moore Lobster Co
    714 reviews
    2.34 km away
    Fish Shack Restaurant
    514 reviews
    2.39 km away
    Helmut's Strudel
    375 reviews
    2.29 km away
    Nate's at Front Beach
    255 reviews
    2.29 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Halibut Point State Park
    594 reviews
    1.05 km away
    Bearskin Neck
    588 reviews
    2.39 km away
    Motif Number 1
    267 reviews
    2.44 km away
    Front Beach
    101 reviews
    2.14 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    nanat123
    30 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Paul R | Property representative |
    Hi! Apologies for the late reply! The property is wheelchair accessible, but unfortunately all bathrooms at the property are shower/tub combinations, not a true "step in shower". Hope this helps!
    0
    Votes
    s m
    13 November 2015|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from SmilingKodiak | Reviewed this property |
    It depends on the weather, I suspect. May be open for ice skating.
    1
    Vote
    Diana H
    18 October 2015|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Diana H | Reviewed this property |
    thank you soo much for your response. we stayed at the top to much of a uneven hike to go down by the water. there were like someone stated trails about a mile from the hotel
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "We had a corner room on the 3rd floor and would recommend both."
    Read review
    "Try for a second floor room if you have luggage, there is no elevator"
    Read review
    "Outstanding view of the Atlantic and the harbor"
    Read review
    "Ask for a sea view."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing