We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Seafarer Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of The Seafarer Inn
 Click to rate
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a room on the ground floor equipped with everything you need for a great stay. It was a bit cool so Chris put on the heater and the room quickly warmed up. The breakfast was amazing with so many homemade treats to try and taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BM_Zuerich
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for two nights and explore Ipswich -- Gloucester -- Rockport, MA. The Seafarer Inn in Rockport attracted my attention by its great location and view from the windows, nicely furnished rooms, and a promise to provide breakfast. We met Beth and Chris, who are very congenial hosts, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gayanenovikova
New England
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of our favorite B&Bs, it has all the charm of a New England bed and breakfast. This was our second stay there and it did not disappoint. My husband and I were there celebrating our 10 year anniversary and this visit we chose a different room, Pebble Beach, and were delighted with the large room, views of the ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CallalilyNewEngland
Leominster, MA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent last night at the Seafarer Inn in order to attend an evening concert at the beautiful Shalin Liu concert hall in Rockport. We loved the easy access (we're elderly) to a comfortable and cozy first floor room. And what's not to love about about starting the day with a wonderful hot and cold buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vagabond01453
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

One day just isn't enough to enjoy all Rockport has to offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your concert at the Shalin Lui Concert Hall. We just love that venue and go as often as we can! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope to see you both again soon!

Wethersfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This was our first time, we did a lot of reading about the place. The inn keepers were very nice and were very helpful.The food include yogurt, cereal, juice, egg dishes. The fireplace was great. We plan to come back. Thanks for hosting us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmcnamara2017
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. I'm glad you mentioned the fireplace. We have a gas fireplace in the main living room that keeps the place warm and cozy in the winter. In addition, all the rooms except one (Loblolly Cove) have an electric fireplace in the room. We hope to...

Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We went for the first time. Very impressed with decor, so warm and inviting. Excellent inn keepers, very friendly. Breakfasts served were homemade and absolutely delicious. Excellent location, very clean. Adjacent to food stores, donut shops, liquor stores, convenience stores. Can't say enough. Very peaceful and quiet location. Loved it there. Going back in May.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missprissy814
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

We cannot wait to see you again in the spring. The Seafarer offers a very different experience in the spring as compared to winter! Thank you for mentioning the holiday décor. We love to dress the place up for the holidays and are happy to know our work is appreciated. Our location is about a mile from stores and snack...

Eagle, Idaho
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Excellent getaway! The management went out of their way to make our stay special. The weather was biting cold however the Inn was warm and cozy. We highly recommend the Seafarer Inn for a weekend visit or a Summer week on the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbert91
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I'm invariably disappointed with my stay in a B&B, they rarely meet my expectations but the Seafarer exceeded them. We arrived on a winter Sunday afternoon, were immediately upgraded to a better, bigger room and welcomed with the minimum of fuss. I am not a big B&B person, don't like having to engage with my hosts, I want to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waverlylulu
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We do try to allow our guests to enjoy their vacation their way. I love your review title - you did get a great view of the sea smoke on a very cold winter day! We hope you can visit us again soon.

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Was in Gloucester on business, and the B&B provided a quiet getaway. Great hot breakfast, and about the most comfortable sheets I've ever slept on. Wireless was a little spotty at times; however, not a big deal. If I were not there on business, I would have liked not being able to get online... Stayed on the 1st floor room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John W
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and for staying with us during your conference. It was our pleasure to host you and hope you and your wife can return soon for a more leisurely visit with no work obligations.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed at the Seafarer for two wonderful nights, after flying into Boston from New Orleans the day after our wedding we were exhausted! The inn keeper was so friendly and made us feel right at home, even upgraded our room and gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate. We spent most of our time exploring the town and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lizzie F
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy to have been your honeymoon destination! Congratulations and best wishes for a long and happy future. We look forward to hosting you again in the years to come! Thank you for the wonderful review.

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (179)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Cape Hedge (31)
Viewed
Front & Back Beach Suite (39)
Viewed
Long Beach (38)
Viewed
Old Garden (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.5 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
503 reviews
1.4 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
7.8 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
322 reviews
6.4 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
362 reviews
1.1 km away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Price Range: $150 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Seafarer Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Seafarer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the romms are great with sea views”
BM_Zuerich, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is only one guest room on the first floor. It's quiet, convenient, and offers morning sunshine with a wonderful ocean view.”
Vagabond01453, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have view of ocean, excellent location, wonderful inn keepers, EXCELLENT breakfast! Very peaceful and quiet. Going back in May.”
missprissy814, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View on the third floor is spectacular!”
gbert91, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The cheapest has a bathroom down the hall (it may have the best view) but in the low season probably common practice to be upgraded.”
waverlylulu, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5