We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dunes Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Dunes Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dunes Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

This is a basic motel located close to the beach near Yarmouth. The rooms are clean and comfortable beds. Nice outdoor pool we did not use. Breakfast included in the price. Free Wifi which was working fine. Staff is very kind. Good value for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Yaron M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this place for Memorial Day weekend for a soccer tournament. We were told we had been put in the nicer building and that we had new furniture. Well unless new furniture comes prestained, it was not new. We're also told that the previous owners had bought the place back and we're trying to get all problems fixed, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David D
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I stayed in this quaint motel with it's delicious breakfast for several years back in the 90's. On a recent trip to the Cape I decided to stay here as my 1st choice was fully booked. Unbeknown to me the motel has changed hands and the new owner have not kept up the cleanliness. It looked nice from the outside... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathieny3

Travellers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Yah know I just feel bad cause if I ran a motel I would have things so nice and perfect. It was doable but....outdated awful red striped bedspreads, terrible white carbs only continental breakfast, no fruit or yogurt or waffles, limited tea choices. Only good thing was the walk to the beach right down the street. And it is off... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank letmettellyou
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes twice in the past. We could overlook the dated decor because it was clean, taken care of and the owner was extremely nice. Unfortunately, there are new people in charge and things have changed. 1. I made our reservation several months ago and was quoted one price, but was told there was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jcatelotti
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Management is RUDE and not nice to their customers at all!!!! Mrs. Ghandi watches every move the customers make and mistreats her help terribly. Only one car per unit is allowed to park in the parking lot and she will YELL at you to get your car out of the lot. At check out you need to move your car... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Boston C
Norwich, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights August 1-3, 2014. The door into the room was cut too high and you could see out. The window was broken and the screen as well and they had a board going across to keep it shut. It was cracked open too. The toilet was not cleaned properly when we arrived, a fast job to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Harry C
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I just stayed here with my Husband and 2 Sons..it was my birthday get-away except could not wait to get away from this place! Horrible continental breakfast, awful coffee. Stayed in room 28 with a great view of other people on the balcony and parking lot. They really should not allow smoking near the rooms as a person was chain-smoking... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl K
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just got back from two nights at the Dunes Motor Inn in S Yarmouth. It was disgusting! The bedspreads were filthy, the blankets were all ripped and grimy, the towels were all old, skimpy and stained. There were cob webs all over. The pillows were lumpy and old. The beds were very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was a joke!... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I woull not stay here again.. my main complaint is having to be quiet when your in the pool area!! how the hell can you be quiet with kids? I never stayed in a hotel where you were told no screaming? I think the owners don't want to rent to families with kids but cannot say so because it would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank acookie1961
duneshappy, Owner at The Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are very much a family friendly place despite what you have written and not a true reflection of our intent. We have been forced into placing a sign that asks our guests to keep the noise down due to the fact our neighbor directly behind the pool has filed a lawsuit for noise... More 

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
562 reviews
1.1 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
597 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
338 reviews
0.5 km away
Windjammer
Windjammer
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5147
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Price Range: $88 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dunes Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunes Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I heard form other travelers their rooms were the same as ours...Bad.”
 of 5 bubbles ktallarita, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“With our group we took up almost all the rooms and nobody seemed to have a problem with hearing anyone in the next room.”
 of 5 bubbles 1RuthH, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For family take Room with Kitchenette, much bigger and nicer”
 of 5 bubbles 685irinaz, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“upstairs apt wonderful for a family or like us 4 friends going to cape each year for get together love the walk to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 1823, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“2 story hotel, stairs are easy to climb.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTrails533, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay