We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Red Lion Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We have stayed at the Red Lion Inn 3 or 4 times for long weekend getaways during the winter, and it is always wonderful! The main hotel is just a charming place to be- the rooms, while old, are always comfortable and clean. Some of the bathrooms have been renovated, and I would recommend asking in advance for one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy B
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away. Our lobby is definitely a cozy place to curl up in the colder months while enjoying the fire and a drink. Our large front porch is an ideal place to relax when the weather is a little warmer. We look forward to...

NYC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I spent an anniversary weekend here with my boyfriend and upon arrival found a bottle of wine and note from the hotel in our room wishing us a lovely stay. It is the small things like this that make you remember a hotel. Yes, the hotel is old but I assume people who stay there are going FOR the history...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TrottinLucas
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here for your anniversary weekend. I see that you discovered that the Inn is like a museum, with art and history on every floor! There are many unique items here at the Inn, each with their own story & history, like the black couch...

Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I often stay at the Red Lion Inn as it is convenient from our home in Massachusetts to my daughter's college in Saratoga Springs, NY. What I like about this hotel, is the "old fashioned" style of inn, complete with restaurant (fine dining) tavern w/bar, and a variety of accommodations. I like staying in the main hotel rooms, sometimes B&B...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susan S
Hudson River Valley, New York
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We've often visited historic Stockbridge for hiking and local history, had lunch at the landmark Red Lion Inn, shopped at Country Curtains, enjoyed the public areas and talked about how lovely it would be to stay overnight. Finally, we did. The visit was everything we'd hoped for. We were given Room 105, called Melville. The room is in the new...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank upstateAnnie
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so thrilled to hear that you were finally able to stay with us and that the visit was everything that you had hoped for! We offer several packages throughout the year, which are listed on our website, & our Reservations Department would be happy to check availability on...

New York
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I just got back from an overnight trip and I am already planing my next. This inn was right up my alley. I loved every history filled inch of it. I also absoultutley adored Simon. What a special cat! He really made our stay, he just latched onto me and was constantly at my side. Now I am a cat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J C
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Simon Treadway Gato, the feline Red Lion Inn Lobby Ambassador, was 3 years old when he came to us in 2006 from a local “no kill” animal shelter. He has his own Facebook page so that all of his fans and...

New Rochelle, New York
Reviewed 19 January 2015

It was such a big let down our recent visit to the Red Lion Inn. Our room was smaller than expected. The bathroom was the size of a closet and only one person at a time could be in it. We basically had a couple of hooks one wall covered by a door, that was supposed to be our closet....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RockingGirl
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are always grateful to hear about our guests’ experiences, and I apologize that this stay did not meet your expectations. As an historic inn, all of our rooms are a little bit different and have slightly different configurations even if they are generally the same type of room. With regards to the dining, our...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 9 January 2015

I was lucky enough to stay in the newly renovated Maple Glen guest house. Loved the paint colors, colonial but with wonderfully kitschy 50's accessories. Cozy and comfortable common room with a large fireplace. Heated bathroom floors which were much appreciated in the below 0 temps! Don't miss the leave something, take something shelf in every room. The Red Lion...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tybeejean
Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Recently my husband and I did an overnight at the Red Lion. Had booked a reservation to be in Stevens House. I was not happy with the room. It was ok, but not what I had in mind for a romantic getaway so asked Jon at the front desk if possible to change. He was very accomodating and offered us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank colry2
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are always grateful to hear about our guests’ experiences. Maple Glen is our newest, most recently updated accommodations with modern décor & modern amenities. The Stevens House is more similar in style to the Main Inn, and it can be a little quieter because it is across the street from the Main Inn and off of the main roads....

Albany, New York
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We went to the red lion inn for one night to celebrate our anniversary and remove ourselves a bit from the craziness of the holidays. We got a deal on a room because of the season. We stayed in one of the carriage houses and I highly recommend it. The main house was very crowded with guests and family parties...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany M
Brighton
Reviewed 27 December 2014

Stayed in the Wilder Suite. Three of us and two dogs had what felt like a small house. Cozy knotty wood kitchen which was perfect for preparing large country breakfasts and a kitchen door for dog walks. Went to two local shows--theater and music--and came back to comfort with everyone having their own bed (had a cot for the youngest)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eastave
Michele K, Innkeeper at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are always grateful for our guests’ feedback. Our pet-friendly rooms are on the first floor, of either our Main Inn or any of our guesthouses. There is a $40 charge per night per pet, and for no additional charge we can provide a small, a medium,...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (429)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Maple Glen Guest House Superior King Bed Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Suite with Queen Bed (56)
Viewed
Superior King Room (40)
Viewed
Superior with Queen Bed Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Viewed
Two Single Beds with Shared Bathroom (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
6.2 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
19.7 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
367 reviews
5.8 km away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
85 reviews
13.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
7.5 km away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Inn Dining Room
Red Lion Inn Dining Room
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Price Range: $204 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Red Lion Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Brooklyn, New York
Vermont
5 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get one with a modern bathroom but make sure you are not next to a hallway bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles ewfox20, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the southeast side in the REAR of the main inn are close to the outdoor heated pool and hot tub.”
 of 5 bubbles jamessF395OT, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We believe the higher floors (i.e. the third) are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Ben050938, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try Maple Glen for a clean, modern twist on American charm.”
 of 5 bubbles LLfromNYC, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Never spent the night, so can not comment on quality or value of hotel. However, I would not dine there again.”
 of 5 bubbles moniquethecritique, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5