We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hanover House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hanover House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hanover House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We recently stayed at The Hanover House room #15. Firstly on check-in the lady at the front desk was so rushed in giving us the rundown that it bordered on rude. She showed us to our room which was a big disappointment for the price. It was so musty smelling that we could still smell it on our luggage and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GeorgeandLauretta
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

GeorgeandLauretta, you should always look forward to a relaxing and enjoyable time when you visit us, so it's very concerning to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. It's never our intention to come across as rude, but I sincerely apologize that a member of my team made you feel so rushed at the front desk. We always want...

New Bedford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The rooms here are beautiful, the breakfast provided is delicious, and the location is a perfect staging point for seeing different parts of the island. This is one of the few Inns on the island with two night minimums during peak seasons (greatly appreciated by many of our family and friends who were visiting for our wedding weekend). Steve Perlman,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua D
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Joshua, I can't thank you enough for all of your wonderful compliments. I'm so glad I was able to be of assistance for your special wedding weekend. Happy to hear you and the rest of your guests thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing stay. Hope you visit us again. Take care, Stephen - Owner

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Steve was very gracious and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Very welcoming This was our second time at Hanover House. Breakfast was delicious. Pleasant memories of Marthas Vineyard! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BonnieRickZaccaro
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments, I can't tell you how much I appreciate them. So happy to hear you had such a relaxing and comfortable stay. Looking forward to your next trip to the Vineyard. Take care, Stephen - Owner

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We had an amazing experience at the Hanover House. Lisa & Steve are great. The saying on their website is on point, arrive as strangers and leave as friends. Anything we wanted to know, Lisa & Steve had the answers. The Hanover House is in walking distance from the ferry if your bags aren't that heavy, other than that, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harlemprincess01
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

So glad we could help answer questions and make your stay that much more enjoyable! Happy to hear you made use of the bikes to see all of what Vineyard Haven has to offer. Hope you can join us again soon for another fun and relaxing stay. Take care, Stephen - Owner

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Spent a delightful two days at this lovely little inn. The staff (Lisa, Ellie, and owner Steve) were so welcoming and fully involved with their guests. Arriving by ferry, it's a short walk up a main road. Room 12 was lovely, clean and comfortable. Locally made products were an unexpected delight. Lisa seemed ever-present and sincerely wanting to have the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herbangal
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

herbangal, I am so glad you felt so warm and welcomed during your stay here. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Lisa and Ellie -- they will certainly appreciate it. Hope you're back in the area again soon! Take care, Stephen - Owner

Delaware, Ohio
Reviewed 26 June 2015

This is a smaller B&B however was able to accomodate our tour group of 19. There was lots to choose from at breakfast every morning. It was walking distance to downtown Vineyard Haven and could catch a bus/van to tour anywhere on the island. The host & hostess were very helpful with suggestions when we decided to take an island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mileyjackie
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

mileyjackie, it was our pleasure accommodating the whole touring crew. Happy to hear you appreciated how close we are to all the goings-on of Vineyard Haven. Hope you're back in the area again soon! Best, Stephen - Owner

Aalborg
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We loved to visting Hanover House but should have stayed more than 1 night. Lisa told us everything worth knowing about Martha's VIneyard. In the morning she made us breakfast - PLEASE provide with recipe of the home cooked bread/cake with berry, cream and syrup we got for breakfast. We LOVED it. Furthermore we could take a bath using the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeano_8
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! I will be certain to pass them along to Lisa. I really appreciate your compliments on our bread as well. Unfortunately, the recipe is top secret! Hope you're back in the area again soon! Take care, Stephen - Owner

Johns Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Spent two nights at Hanover House. Excellent location and easy walk into Vineyard Haven. Room #8 was clean with a charming decor. We were impressed with the overall attention to detail as well as the delightful breakfast. Enjoyed visiting with our knowledgeable and gracious host Steve. We look forward to a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMills73
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

So happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. From our breakfasts to the decor, I'm so pleased everything was on point for you. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area! Take care, Stephen - Owner

Reviewed 17 October 2014

Our family has been staying there for years, and absolutely love it! Steve is a wonderful man, warm,hospitable and helpful. There is a room for every need. The location is perfect regardless of whether you bring a car or not. Staff keeps the guests updated on what is happening on the island and assists with planning the daily trips. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niyita
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review of our place! I'm so happy to hear you had such a lovely time with us, and that we were able to help you feel comfortable during your vacation. I can't wait for next year either! See you soon, Stephen - Owner

Reston
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Love Martha's Vineyard, but had never been there out of Summer season. Planned a visit to celebrate our anniversary and was not disappointed. From the first time we walked thru the door at the Hanover House, until we left 4 days later, we could not have been treated better. Steve is a super host and takes great pride in showing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyluvs2travel
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Mike! I'm glad you had such nice weather while you were out here and that you took advantage of the close location! We're thrilled we could have a part in making your anniversary so special. Anyways, happy anniversary! We hope to see you back for more Vineyard Haven fun soon. Best, Stephen - Owner

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.4 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
746 reviews
10.5 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
894 reviews
9.3 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Clark House
The Clark House
#6 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
69 reviews
0.9 km away
Charles & Charles
Charles & Charles
#1 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
122 reviews
3.9 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hanover House, a recognized Martha's Vineyard Three Diamond AAA Inn, provides a great value for guests with the charm of a country home and the convenience of a village inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 28 Edgartown Rd, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5607
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Price Range: $302 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hanover House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hanover House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our bed was very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles harlemprincess01, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the house are very quiet. Preferred the upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikeyluvs2travel, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“we were in front of house so in the morning you can hear the traffic pick up a bit but really there is so much to do in MV, who wants to sleep in?!”
 of 5 bubbles Berry8183, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early, like in January, his rooms go fast during the busiest times in August. This place is a small inn, not a big hotel and better that way. Remember when you go to the Vineyard, the pace is slow, stop or dilly dally!”
 of 5 bubbles 782martyc, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“not two rooms alike my son and his family had room 16 like a little house we also had 6&7 in the Clark house very nice i had room 12 with high celling all had nice clean bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles 481raffaellad, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay