We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Williams Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Williams Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Williams Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Winthrop, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My family and friends went to the Williams as we needed a place to stay for a bowling tournament. We arrived and thought we had reserved a king size bed and was told 2 doubles advised of error and they switched it with no issues. The indoor pool area was clean and nice to use while there. We went into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2016

As other reviewers pointed out, this place needs a facelift, it's seriously outdated. However, there are plenty of pluses that still make it the place to stay in Williamstown. The rooms are very spacious, have coffee and tea making facilities as well as flat screen TVs and pretty good beds. The bathroom in my room was immaculately clean. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank udo s
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation Udo! Your review of the Inn will be helpful to other travelers. There are many great restaurants in Williamstown and a lot of our visitors enjoy walking through campus to Spring Street and Water Street for dinner. It's an enjoyable way to experience the town. For our guests who want to stay closer to home, we...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This place needs a major facelift. The entire experience felt dated and run-down. The radiator in our room clanked and made noises all night long. There was heavy dust all over the lamps, and everything felt grungy/dirty. The bed mattresses were saggy, the sheets on the cot seemed dirty. The staff could not have cared less about me. And the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your feedback will be shared with our entire team so that we can work on exceeding every visitors' expectations in the future. Cleanliness and our genuine caring staff are what we pride ourselves on, so I was disappointed to hear that you did receive our best service. Please...

Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

The parking is convenient and the location of the hotel is convenient. The lobby is spacious and welcoming except for the distinct odor of a stale backed up septic system. The room is huge and clean with a beautiful bathroom but the walls are bare and it feels undone. Great modern heating system in the room also for cooling. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian D
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

I'm happy to know that you found the people at the Inn to be pleasant because we believe they are the most important part of your travel experience. I will investigate your comments about the odor in the living room as I have never heard that or experienced it. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Superior rooms...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 4 April 2016

It is a 'Grande Damme' kind of hotel in Williamstown. With lovely columns at the entrance and rooms with names like The Armoury which you can imagine at some time served exactly that purpose. Service was polite and efficient. The rooms, though, really need an update, especially the bathrooms. Ours was spotlessly clean, but all the faucets, wallpaper(!) and decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your comments Gabriel! Warm service and comfort are our most important goals and I hope you felt both. Our rooms don't have names, so possibly you might be recalling a different hotel. The decor does have the feel of an older time and we think that it adds a nice touch to a quaint and charming New...

Chicago
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The Williams Inn is an institution. It is a rambling hotel last updated in probably the 1970s. While the facility is outdated, it is very clean, the included breakfast very decent, and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. If you are visiting Williams College, the location makes it the best place to stay. It is my understanding that a new...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sfgallagher
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed the most important things- the staff, the cleanliness, the location, and of course the chocolate croissants! We're making continuous upgrades, most recently new carpet in the rooms. There are tentative plans for a new building and we'll keep you updated as more information becomes available, but until then the Williams Inn will continue to be the...

South Glens Falls
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed there with a group of 10 yr olds for a hockey tournament. Front desk manager extremely rude and unprofessional. The biggest issue was when we ate at the restaurant. Bill total was $153. I paid that on my debit card. We tipped $30 in cash. When I got my charges the card was charged $183.. After getting a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike S
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your concerns were not adequately addressed, most notably by me. I understood that the charges in question were reversed and that the matter was resolved. We have had discussions with all cash-handling staff to make sure that they understand the implications of not accurately recording payments and I feel that the seriousness of the matter...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Classic old New England Hotel...staff was very cordial when we arrived at Midnight. Not that many outlets in the room...needs an upgrade on technology. Breakfast buffet was perfect. Very reasonable price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank masonw549
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed the staff and found the Inn to be of good value. We're investing in ways to provide more outlets and USB chargers in the rooms- come back soon to see! Many thanks for your feedback.

Goshen, New York
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We have been coming to Williamstown for 20 years for the McCormack Family Reunion and we love the Williams Inn. It is family oriented and a very friendly atmosphere. It is clean and well managed and we will be back next year!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinesP6515HW
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

Thanks McCormack Family! We love seeing your family year after year. As always, the Williams Inn looks forward to being you home-away-from-home next year.

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Very outdated. Hotel had unpleasant smell. Check in desk employee was rude. Uncomfortable bed. Mold and mildew in the bathroom. Door knobs and locks were rickety. Did not feel secure at this hotel. Would not recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luckymomx3
Greta K, General Manager at The Williams Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your sharing comments regarding your recent stay at Williams Inn. We sincerely regret that you were discontent with your visit. I would very much appreciate speaking with you, at your convenience, to discuss your challenges. Please let me know how and when is best to reach you. My email address is: greta.kipp@williamsinn.com Sincerely, Greta Kipp...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
438 reviews
7.8 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
582 reviews
29.3 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
200 reviews
2.3 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Tavern at the Williams Inn
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Berkshires Hills, The Williams Inn is set on the Williams College campus and offers 124 guest rooms, four function spaces, complimentary WiFi, an indoor pool and on-site dining. The culinary team is committed to using local, seasonal ingredients and offers New American cuisine featuring New England classics and updated favorites. Continental breakfast is included for all reservations. The inn is a quick walk to The Clark Art Institute, Williamstown Theatre Festival and many natural attractions including the Appalachian Trail. The Williams Inn is located at 1090 Main Street, Williamstown, Mass. 01267. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Williams Inn

Address: 1090 Main St, On-the-Green, Williamstown, MA 01267-2620
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: $176 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Williams Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Williams Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williams Hotel Williamstown
Williams Inn Williamstown Ma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Williams Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked the back side, upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles hanusa2, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the newer wing where they are quieter. We got a corner suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Paul_F_NY, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner Suites have more windows to see the the Berkshires.”
 of 5 bubbles maryloua30, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are only 2 floors, but there is ball room at the rear, a room at the hotel front maybe the best if partying”
 of 5 bubbles wearyman_12, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for extra pillows and towels.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5