We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Waterford, Michigan
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

I been staining at this hotel on and off for a years. I see that they finally got to improving. Refrigerators and microwave in all the rooms and they also got rid of the carpet and put hardwood floors. The manager said they will be changing the furniture soon. Good work.

Thank Hunter1114
CaseyStrawmier, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for the great compliment. We are very excited about the renovation as well, and it pleases us even more when our guest are just as excited. Thank you for being a return guest we really appreciate you! See you soon!!!

Georgetown, Indiana
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The staff was very friendly even when we checked in at 3:00 am. The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants. Was in a good neighborhood and about a 20 minute ride to the beach. We had a king size bed and the room was still roomy and very clean.

Thank Carol K
CaseyStrawmier, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

We strive to provide great experience and comfortable stay to each guest, so our team is very pleased we succeeded during your visit. All of us thank you for your complimentary review, and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Stayed here on last minute decision to get away on fourth of July weekend, only place available. They jacked up the price reflective of a holiday weekend which is to be expected but it's the most money I've wasted in quite some time. Their "free wi-fi" did not work - even after front desk claimed she was going to "reset...

Thank Linda B
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Reviewed 29 June 2016

My husband and I were checked in for three nights at another hotel which turned out to be terrible. After one night, we checked out and came to the Red Roof Inn. The room was very nice for the value, as it had just been renovated with hard wood floors, granite counter tops, flat screen tv, and frig and microwave....

1Thank bralex1079
CaseyStrawmier, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Our team is grateful to you for taking the time to share such a nice comment,i know we were not your 1st choice but i am glad we were your best choice. We want to provide a great experience for each of our guests, and we are thrilled to know we succeeded on your visit. Thank you for such kind...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

My bf & I travel a lot & this is by far the most disguising hotel we ever stayed at. When we arrived, there was hair in the sink, on the bed, & in freezer! The sheets had yellow crusted crap on it, the floors were dirty & sink was gross. Never again! Don't waste your money staying here. I...

Thank Kaitlyn R
CaseyStrawmier, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team works on servicing all rooms but obviously we missed the mark. Thank you for bringing that to our attention, and giving us a chance to improve our service. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you in the future.

Utica, Michigan
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Lots of remodeling was clearly visible through out the property. Our room had been recently remodeled, comfortable bed, clean bathroom. There was no charge for our 3 dogs(in the past Red Roof Inns had a 2 pet limit per room and a $35.00 charge per pet).nice restaurants near by in walking distance. A tour bus pulled in on Sunday night-no...

Thank slugaj
CaseyStrawmier, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for responding to Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are almost finished with our renovation so theirs more to come. We would love for you to return on your next trip to Benton Harbor. Thank you.

Owen Sound
Reviewed 11 February 2016

tried again recently , everyone should get a second chance , nope should have known better , dirty filthy dump . not sure what the thing growing in bathroom was. . keep your credit card ## away from the desk crew too

Thank Shawn R
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

We are in the process of heavily updating our property. By the end of the year the following should be fully completed. Bathrooms completely refurbished. All carpeting removed and replaced with hard "wood" tiling. Vanities have been changed to granite surface. All rooms now come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves, as well as brand new flat screen HDTVs. Furnishing of...

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I don't understand the low rating for this hotel. My husband and I like a good hotel that's clean and has no bugs and is a low price, so we're not picky. The hotel was not in a bad area. There was a lot of restaurants around, which definitely helps for people who don't want to travel far from the...

Thank Caitlyn K
Reviewed 1 December 2015

place was a little old, but decent. room was clean and spacious. close to freeway, shopping and restaurants. the staff was very nice and helpful, they gave me directions to where I was going later in the evening. i even received a print out of a map with the directions. there was coffee 24 hours a day. although there weren't...

Thank Mary Ann H
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Hello decent hotel, Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm so happy we could satisfy your needs. We would like to have you back in the near future. Hope to see you soon.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Didn't check my trusty trip advisor and boy do I regret it. ..hopefully I'll live till morning. .better type this now to leave a paper trail.. Lobby..smells like skunky weed Room a filthy mess..not sure the lock is working properly..plenty of similar priced options on this exit.. Red roof should pull there license. . P.s. I'm no hotel snob, but...

Thank Sonny_circumvehor
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Sonny_circumvehor, Please except my apologize for your stay. I am sorry we did not meeting your expectations. I did talk to my staff about the issues you mentioned. We are making improvements to better serve our guest. Thank you for sharing. Casey Strawmier General Manager

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (18)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Bathroom (2)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (13)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 10 in Benton Harbor
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.3 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Price Range: $66 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“one doesn't exist”
 of 5 bubbles Mariodestaphante, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try another motel.”
 of 5 bubbles richardbs2014, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them check you in a rear room, very bad”
 of 5 bubbles billcjonz, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles mikeyhp, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very accommodating if you have a pet.”
 of 5 bubbles bralex1079, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay