We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,411: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I stayed here for a wedding this past September, none of the events were held at the Marriott. Upon check in I asked about Marriott's club hours and if I could pay for it. I was told the club would be open all weekend 24 hours a day, so I said wonderful I will pay for it. The information provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MITravelers
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback. We are very sorry to hear you had issues with the Marriott Club and the service you received. If you haven't already, please send us a details of your experience to detroitmarriott@marriott.com. We hope we can win back your business.

Rancho Santa Fe, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017

the smell of cigarette smoke was heavy throughout our room and hallways. housekeeping never made it to our room although we stayed 2 nights and the service in the bar downstairs was very slow. the other issue with this place is getting down to a restaurant. signage and directions were poor and it was a bit frustrating finding anything that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmoore1024
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. It's always our goal to provide a hassle-free, memorable, and enjoyable experience. We want to make sure that any concerns and frustrations are heard, so when you have a free moment, please email us the details of your experience at detroitmarriott@marriott.com. We hope we can win back your...

Ohio
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My son and I were in town for the Lions Packers football game and stayed at the Marriott for convenience to downtown. I wasn't expecting a lot from such a large hotel on New Year's Eve and Day and I was very pleasantly surprised at what a great stay it was. I checked in with my mobile device earlier in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micaryan62
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so ecstatic to hear you experienced great service all around during your stay! We always love hearing that our guests enjoyed exploring the areas around the hotel. We hope you had a blast at the game and look forward to you visiting in the summer!

Walloon Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The Marriott at the Renaissance Center is convenient for all downtown events. Easily accessible to everything by way of the People Mover. Rooms are roomy and staff are friendly and professional. Convenience of food court, Panera Bread, and Starbucks onsite tops it off. Only negative is a very large building with beautifully large windows and forced air heat results in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 635karlas
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. We're very happy to hear that you found the food options convenient and our staff to be friendly! We hope you stay with us next time you're in town!

michigan
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Stayed here for a women's weekend and enjoyed it. It's a nice hotel, but has that corporate feel to it, not exactly a cozy place with lots of personality. I was surprised that it was absolutely packed on the weekend. It actually fills when there is a concert and the Wings are in town. Had breakfast at the coffee shop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pyegirl
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and found your room to be comfortable. We hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in town!

Ann Arbor
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We had to have one more night with Marriott to make Rewards Platinum, so if you are going to a hockey game, pick the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center! There is a public parking garage right across from the hotel entrance, or take the People Mover to the Renaissance Center. The hotel has been nicely updated. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLA3
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and experience a Red Wing's game! We always love to hear that our guests enjoyed exploring both the hotel and the surrounding areas. We hope you come visit us again soon!

Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This hotel is in such a great location. Close to so much and right in the Renaissance Center. We stayed here after a wedding at the Rooster Tail and caught a flight out the next morning at DTW. So convenient and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessm531
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests found their stay with us to be relaxing and comfortable! We hope you had a great time at the wedding you attended and had a smooth flight! We hope you come visit us next time you are in Detroit!

Reviewed 19 December 2016

My wife and I had an event to attend at Cobo Hall. It was a short ride on the People Mover from the RenCen (this hotel is in the RenCen) to Cobo. The ride back is about 2x longer. If you like Pokemon Go, the RenCen is a great place to catch them. The room itself has a very comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the beautiful view of the Detroit River! Next time you stay with us hopefully you will have more time to check out our wonderful fitness center and our delicious restaurant, Volt! We hope to see you again soon!

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

One short night, but the best bed of the year and a really good view of the City and the river... Nice Staff and a excelent breakfast. Also a really good wifi connection that made ny stay alla effective for work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stein P
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Stein - thank you so much for the kind review! We're absolutely ecstatic to hear that your stay was wonderful from the service you received to your room and amenities! We look forward to you visiting us again!

Otter Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here to go see a Red Wings hockey game. The proximity to the arena was very good and the people mover terminal was right there at the Ren Cen. The parking was very good for the hotel. The weather was very cold so we didn't get outside to see the sites but I think we'll come back in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave us feedback, Jeff. We're so glad you chose to stay with us and experience a Red Wing's game! We are glad you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed the views! We appreciate feedback like this since we are always striving to improve. We look forward to you coming to visit us in...

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (457)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (178)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.7 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 34 in Detroit
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $239 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Naples, Florida
Waltham, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a high floor room with a view....you won't be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles charlesgk, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm Marriott Platinum and I was issued a room with poop in the toilet so my advice is-good luck! A good room is like roulette here.”
 of 5 bubbles WorkorSpaStay, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“North-facing rooms avoid direct sunlight intrusion”
 of 5 bubbles Loud3, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher the room the better”
 of 5 bubbles afredericks11, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors, away from the elevators and you don't want to be below the conciegre's lounge”
 of 5 bubbles NickS643, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5