We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maple Lane Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Maple Lane Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maple Lane Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We stayed here twice, the first time we arrived after a big storm that left the place without power for a few days. The staff was so nice to let us stay and reduce our rate. We enjoyed our stay so much we decided to come back again. The rooms are simple, some rooms have a kitchenette. the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo d
Oregon, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 July 2016

If you want to explore Sleeping Bear Dunes, this is a great place to stay! It is just minutes away and after climbing and hiking, you get to come home to beautiful Glen Lake! The resort has their own waterfront and provides kayaks and a SUP for you to enjoy! We also appreciated the nightly campfire which was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MomDadGeorge
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Conveniently located by Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. Quant, clean and friendly. Common room with kitchen to eat our carryout dinner, campfire and free breakfast. My boys loved running down to the lake and using the kayak, YOLO and using the bikes (all included). The room was clean and we slept four very comfortably.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V C
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Located between Empire and Glen Arbor, MI on beautiful Glen Lake the hotel resort includes kayaking, canoeing and paddle boards. The room and especially the bed were very comfortable. We stayed two nights starting at 90 plus degrees the first day where the lake was most welcomed after a long day of site seeing at the national lake shore. What...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 411frankk119
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This place is centrally located between Glen Arbor and Empire. Only about 30 minutes to Leland or Traverse City, and less than 10 minutes to the Dune Climb, so you have really easy access to everything. Lake access on little Glen Lake is just a few houses down with a beach and kayaks/ canoes to use. The lake is absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tinesha M
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Maple Lane Resort is in a perfect location for visiting any of the attractions at Sleeping Bear Dunes. We stayed in the Carriage House upper apartment for 3 nights and it met our needs perfectly. No, it is not near many restaurants, but we had planned on cooking our own meals anyway. The apartment was clean and comfortable if a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SJDran
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We took a four day weekend and enjoyed our stay here. We have been to the area before but we decided to stay closer to the Sleeping Bear area this time. Daily rate is very reasonable - the prices are not jacked up like Traverse City. The hotel has a dock just down the road where you can use their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! I am glad you had a great time, and got to make use of the new paddle board. I know it has been a great hit recently. We hope you choose to stay with us again!

Caledonia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

If you like the camping feel but prefer to stay indoors for a reasonable price, this is a perfect place. The resort is simple, yet has a unique character to it. It is older and quaint, but I enjoyed the cottagey feel. The lake is near by, and a bonfire every night was a nice touch. The bathrooms are outdated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ra_niles30
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, and we are glad to have had you visit!

Michigan
Reviewed 28 May 2016

The shower was too small, tv is in weird spot(up on wall sideways to bed), thermostat was on floor in unreachable area, ice machine not working, sidewalk in front of rooms not swept...tree debris brought into room, location was not near any place to eat, etc.., sap from trees outside of room on car Was there few days before memorial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpass
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback! Yes, before the kick off of the season somethings will be offline. The ice machine needs to have the line disconnected until things stop freezing at night, since it is located outside. Yet, we did get a new ice machine for the start of the season shortly after you were here! We just...

Reviewed 2 March 2016

We love this place. Very comfortable, very clean, and we always feel welcome and cozy. I would recommend for couples and perfect for families, especially a room with a kitchenette. A nice and quiet place off-season, we haven't been on-season but, it looks like they are set up for fun and activity.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine H
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had the chance to take advantage of the off-season quiet and low rates.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
30.9 km away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
146 reviews
33.5 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
35.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
140 reviews
6.1 km away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
254 reviews
4.9 km away
Lakeshore Inn Motel
Lakeshore Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at Maple Lane Resort, time stands still...Nestled in the splendor of wildlife and towering maple trees, Maple Lane Resort is a place of comfort and gracious hospitality. With our spectacular setting just off the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, along with the area's most vibrant landscape and year-round activities. We continue to be the destination of choice for travelers from all over the world. Come celebrate whatever your heart desires under a canopy of maple trees. Make an event out of any occasion here at MLR! We specialize in weddings &receptions, family reunions, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations, retreats, anniversary celebrations and many more! For wedding celebrations, we can make your long anticipated day more special here at Maple Lane Resort. Your reception will be set in a historic yet elegant early 1900s setting providing you with breath-taking scenery for pictures. We have worked with many caterers and other vendors throughout the local vicinity as well as statewide. They prepare their food freshly with care, style and attention to detail all while doing their best to use local foods. Amenities* 25 units including kitchenettes, standard motel rooms, king suites, guest suites & guest rooms. Most rooms accommodate 2 to 6 people.* Air-conditioning in all rooms* Free Seasonal Continental Breakfast* BRAND NEW Sealy Mattresses & 26' Flat Screens in all rooms* Free wifi in rooms and across the site. Private Beach on Little Glen Lake with a dock and moorings* Free use of Bikes, SUP, Canoes, and Kayaks* Volleyball Court & Horseshoe Pits* Bonfire Pit (wood is provided)* Grills & Picnic Tables* Recreation/Gathering Room with Kitchen. We also now have large banquet room available in the new pole barn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maple Lane Resort

Address: 8720 S Dorsey Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9715
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Hotel Empire
Maple Lane Resort Empire, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maple Lane Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Southfield, Michigan
over a year ago
Southfield, Michigan
over a year ago
Southfield, Michigan
Southfield, Michigan
Southfield, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Maple Lane Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips - just don't go...”
 of 5 bubbles 582daniellep, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Carriage House apartments have more room and are in a separate building.”
 of 5 bubbles SJDran, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms would probably be quieter.”
  • Bed
  • Sitting area
  • Upstairs
  • Ironing board
 of 5 bubbles 1993VolvoLady, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“They were very accommodating, but in season you will want to ask when making your reservations for any Special requests!”
 of 5 bubbles Atticangel1, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Corner second floor room with king bed was wonderful - and the area is so quiet that you'll get a great night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles N4394VEamyb, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5