We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 609: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I requested a Woodlands room as the old House has no lift to the first floor and rather contorted corridor access. The room was ground floor and very spacious. Splendid bathroom with robes, easy to use soap (box not impossible to open plastic packaging), lovely walk-in shower with plenty of hot water, large bath and lots of shelf space. Huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got the deal via travel zoo 2 nights and it did not disappoint. The whole deal was good, Freds bar food oh So good. Second night grill on the hill again extremely good, not cheap but worth it. Now the best bit, my good lady wife left her driving licence in the room. We got a call from reception to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 38quitelad
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind comments, it is a delight to hear that you and your wife you had such a wonderful stay with us at Stanley House and we can't wait to welcome you back again for more relaxation.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend recently attended a wedding at Mitton Hall and after searching for a while on TripAdvisor we stumbled across Stanley house, what an excellent little gem this place is! Situated not far from the m6 it has a lovely countryside setting. The hotel itself is very modern and the rooms are really nice. All of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are delighted that you chose us and had such a lovely, relaxing stay at Stanley House. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a group of couples just after Christmas, as a adults treat. The place is beautiful, setting is amazing and here is the but..... upon going to the spa area we were informed that we had to book a slot! As it was full and wasn't available for another 2 hours! And would only accommodate 5!! This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy90
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stanley House and for your feedback. We certainly are very lucky to have such a beautiful hotel for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry to hear that you found our spa booking system disappointing. We do keep a limit on the number of guests accessing the spa...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this as a surprise for my fiancée as a birthday surprise was brilliant, the food was excellent and would highly recommend a trip here the views the rooms and the spa are all amazing will definitely be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W1282WLmarkd
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are already looking forward to coming back, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stanley House Hotel & Spa From arrival to departure the experience was wonderful. The reception staff could have not been more helpful. Our accommodation, in the Woodlands Rooms was superb, large, clean, modern and well decorated. It had all the facilities that you need, including a breakout plate that will allow you to connect your electronic devices to the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, it is fantastic to know that you had a lovely relaxing stay with us and that all elements of your break were to your liking. We are very lucky to have the opportunity to showcase such a beautiful hotel and it is so nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your Stanley House...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been on various spa days and spa breaks and would recommend Stanley House as the best. Set in beautiful surroundings and The Woodland Spa rooms are fabulous - 5* treatment from start to finish. It is the small touches that really makes this hotel and spa stand out. I am already looking forward to returning. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time at Stanley House and we look forward to your next visit.

lancashire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over here last night (22/12) had booked in on an amazing deal running throughout December which including a 3 course dinner in Grill on the Hill, lovely room in the Manor House & very nice breakfast, friendly helpful staff. would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Italiancottage
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Stanley House and thank you so much for your recommendation, it is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Wigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked as a surprise for my husbands 50th Birthday, looking for a relaxing break in the run up to Xmas and recovery from too many nights out! I could not have chosen anywhere better than Stanley House. Outstanding hotel, beautiful buildings and grounds, spotlessly clean modern room (in the woodlands annexe) and superb service. The staff are a real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

What an amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you chose to stay at Stanley House and we look forward to your next visit to the 'House on the Hill' very soon.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a very nice relaxed lunch here today. The staff are very attentive and I had pork which was delicious. The only thing I personally do not care for is having to go upstairs prior to dining in order to have a pre-meal drink, however other than that it is always a pleasure to eat at Stanley House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Usie49
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and honest review. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed Sunday lunch in our Grill on the Hill restaurant and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
7.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
935 reviews
9.5 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
722 reviews
31.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,228 reviews
12.5 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Price Range: $236 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, California, United States
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Woodlands modern and easy to access rooms”
 of 5 bubbles brianmI990JG, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Woodland suite no 27 -we think is better although very different from the farm house oldie worldly style -you won't be disappointed any way”
 of 5 bubbles AJC389, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I can only comment on the room I took all the flowers to during the evening which I think was room 2 in the old manner part. Very plush.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenV500, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the old manor house are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 885StephenR, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick any standard room..they all seemed to have good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay