We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Homestead

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 497: English reviews
Saline, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a suite that we shared with my daughter and her husband. It was cozy and had a great view of the lake. The fireplace was a nice touch and a full service kitchen was a great amenity. The convenience of the little store on the grounds was appreciated. Our room did not have a wine opener and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weirbarbara
Michigan town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful resort located near Traverse City. We stayed in Loggers Run 10. A beautiful 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo with amazing views of Lake Michigan. A perfect condo for a Girls Weekend! Just know that it is a hike up the stairs! We didn't have much of an opportunity to take advantage of the resort amenities, but not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekendgetaways010
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at a Hawks Nest rental for 4 nights in October. To be fair, the Hawks Nest rentals are privately owned and maintained/managed by the Homestead. When we arrived, we checked in and proceeded to our rental condo where we were greeted by a housekeeper nearby who said "There is no way I'm going to let you stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HikerAndRunner
Roanoke, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Traveled to area to tour Sleeping Bear Dunes from VA. Booked suite in the Inn. Accommodations very nice. Kitchenette, living room, bath and bedroom. Room looked out on Lake Michigan. Parking about a city block away from Inn entrance. Tried to go for after dark walk but could only walk a short distance because of poor/no lighting on pathway. Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejm99
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear ejm99, Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback that you provided. In the Fall, the times of our amenities will be reduced due to demand. I would also suggest calling ahead to find out what is open and available. Hope you see you back again soon! Tomás Paddack tpaddack@thehomesteadresort.com

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Homestead for a fall weekend up north. We loved everything about our stay. Our room in stony brook lodge was perfect and the view was amazing! There was a kitchen with a full size fridge and lots of dishes and cleaning supplies. We took a walk down to the beach, and stopped in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie c
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear katie c, I am happy to hear that you enojyed your romantic weekend at Stony Brook Lodge. It is my favorite of the four hotels that we have. I am glad that you were able to take a walk on the beach, it is an inspiring walk as you look at Lake Michigan next to you. If you ski,...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Relaxing perfect weekend to unwind and have amazing food. A little slice of heaven the resort truly is. We did a wine tasting event while we were up there. The spa is world class with captivating views of Lake Michigan, the softest linens, incredible staff and the winner of my personal best ever massage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory G
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Cory G, I was happy to hear that you had a good time on the weekend you spent with us. I agree with you that Spa Amira is a world class spa. Come back and visit us this winter, we have many activites including skiing on our beautiful slopes with Lake Michigan as a background. Please let me know...

Southhaven, MS, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We've been here twice and hope to return. Both times we've stayed in the Fiddler's Pond area where a beautifully-landscaped water feature lends it's relaxing view and sounds. There are a number of lodging choices on the property and when we researched the choices, Fiddler's Pond area had the best ratings. The rooms are clean, comfortable, great view, and some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trent W
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Trent W, Thank you for your loyalty, we appreciate that you enjoyed the rooms at Fiddler's Pond. In the fall and winter, when the Beach Club has closed, they are centrally located to the amenities located in The Village which is where the majority of the dinning options are found. We look forward to your next visit, please let...

Lansing
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were in condo, Ship Watch #7, more than spacious accommodations, but rather over priced, I thought. Part of my experience was thick fog and cloudiness, which disrupted our view of Lake Michigan, the dunes, and a possible sunset--- obviously not the fault of The Homestead. I felt that the condo was over priced, for what I thought was off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale Y
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Dale Y, Thank you for staying with us in Ship Watch #7. I am sorry that you had to deal with fog, because the views on a clear day are absolutely beautiful. In regards to the price of the condo, we have had unprecedented demand that normally does not happen at this time of year. If you ski we...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We decided to stay a night at the Homestead during the off season when it was more affordable for us. Our Fiddlers Pond section room was a few steps down and felt like a basement. The room was clean and comfortable with a very nice king sized bed. The building could have used more sound proofing as we could hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holland49423
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Holland49423, Thank you for being our guest at Fidder's Pond, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room. Next time, you will have to explore our three other hotels on the property: Little Belle, which is a couple's retreat and Stony Brook Lodge and The Inn, both of which are luxury level hotels. Stony Brook sits up...

Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on our trip up the Michigan coast line. The unit we stayed in called Logger Run was very dated. We had two bedrooms and two baths which was nice for two couples. We had a a very small kitchen and living room. The best part of the unit was a balcony with a great view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghayesfam
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear ghayesfam, Thank you for being our guest at Logger's Run. The unit does offer some amazing views and half the fun is climbing up to the unit. For those that are mobility impaired, this may not be the right unit for you. If you return, there are some other condo's up high that also offer panoramic views of Lake...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
33.0 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
34.8 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
35.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
2,608 reviews
38.2 km away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
142 reviews
38.0 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Price Range: $124 - $1,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Glen Arbor, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A suite with a lake view but far enough away to enjoy the quiet and seclusion.”
 of 5 bubbles weirbarbara, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The person reserving the room via telephone was quite helpful”
 of 5 bubbles 422daley, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the 3rd Floor for the view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles edb168, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for updated room - Fabulous sunsets. We truly enjoyed the lodge feel of Stony Brook.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneP0422, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You want a view of the lake. Bring your own grill.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrnyc, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5