We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Homestead

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Orland Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at "The Inn" in "The Homestead". We wanted the fall weather experience and got it. Very quiet time for them and we appreciated that but found many attractions, restaurants, etc.....closed for the season. I knew most of this when I booked because I researched. We were in a first floor suite with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson R
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Allyson R, Thank you for your visit, and for your comments. We are in the process of making updates at The Inn, and we look forward to sharing them with you on your next visit. We do hope that you will plan another visit soon. Best, Jamie Jewell VP Sales and Marketing The Homestead More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was my second trip to The Homestead and it was a great stay both times. Although the decor is rustic and maybe a little outdated it is very clean and the staff are very friendly and quick to solve any issues. This trip was with a group and it was very easy for me to work with staff to... More 

Helpful?
Thank nmarti8
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

nmarti8, Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are always making improvements to our rooms and amenities, and we look forward to sharing them with you and your guests on your next visit. Best, Jamie Jewell VP Sales and Marketing The Homestead More 

Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Homestead Resort is truly beautiful and a wonderful place to visit. We were married there 2 weeks ago. The Customer service at The Homestead surpasses that of Disney in my eyes! Family oriented and better yet, pet friendly! Wonderful vacation spot. Highly recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Kyla M
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Kyla M, Thank you for choosing us to host your special day. We are thrilled and flattered to help you celebrate. Thank you also for this wonderful review. We always enjoy hearing from guests, but particularly when they have such wonderful things to say. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future. Warmly, Adriene Kokowicz... More 

New Hudson, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I decided to go here in the fall for our anniversary. The resort was recommended to me by a friend. I was told ahead of time not to eat at the resort because the food was not very good. The first night we went off the resort to eat. We came back and went to Beppi's for... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank TofferVance
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear TofferVance, Thank you for taking the time to review your fall visit to The Homestead. We were sorry to hear that your experience was not what we would hope. The Homestead does provide a wide variety of accommodations and there are time when are packages are either sold out or not available. That should have, however, been explained more... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Went to the Homestead for a wedding and experienced a great weekend in Glen Arbor. The resort has everything you would want, from new couples to families. The area surrounding the resort is absolutely beautiful, you won't be disappointed visiting Glen Arbor.

Helpful?
1 Thank JinCollegeHill
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Jason M, Thank you for visiting, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and the wedding. We appreciate your business and this great review. We sincerely hope that you will make the trip from Cincinnati to visit us again in the near future. Warm Regards, Jamie Jewell VP Sales and Marketing The Homestead More 

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The overall experience was great except for a few minor issues. We stayed in the Little Belle #2 and the refrigerator on our second night was loud which made it difficult to sleep. Other then that this place is amazing. A little river runs through the whole property. The staff is very attentive and pleasent. Walking along the property and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Mark T, Thank you for visiting. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you mentioned the issue you experienced with the refrigerator as we are doing some seasonal maintenance now. We look forward yo hosting you on your next visit! Warm Regards, Jamie Jewell VP Sales and Marketing The Homestead More 

Flushing, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

While in Traverse City, Mi. area in May, 2013, scouting out amenities at resorts, stayed one night (my wife & I) here. Shower head had dirty wash cloth draped over it, small 'fridge in room would crank up at least every half hour with sound resembling a noisy furnace turning on. Door connecting ours to an adjacent room acted as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Mike B, Terribly sorry that we were unable to connect sooner. We certainly understand the frustrations that you experienced, and we apologize not only that they happened, but also that they were not more properly addressed. We are glad that we were able to connect with you to attempt to resolve this issue. The experience you had was certainly below... More 

Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit any time of the year! Condo rentals and hotel/ lodge rooms! Fine dining and cute shops. A relaxing get away. Sweeping views if Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes and the Manitou Islands. We have visited this location for over 30 years and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Toni P
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Toni P, First of all, thank you for being such wonderfully loyal customers! We love seeing the same people return year after year, and what an immense honor to get a review from such a loyal guest. We are deeply greatful for your continued business, and we thank you for this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you and... More 

Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed Oct 2013 for a weekend getaway that involved wine tours in Northern Michigan. Stayed in Little Belle Suites which was a perfect location for us, rooms are adorable, very clean and very quiet, we felt as if we were the only couple staying at the lodge. Check in and out was easy and fast, staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank 50Cinder
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

50Cinder, Thanks for choosing to stay with us while you explored some of the great wineries in our area. We hope that you will come stay with us again to further explore the area and our property. Warm Regards, Jamie Jewell VP Sales and Marketing The Homestead More 

harrison twp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First time to be in Glen Arbor or the Homestead...AWESOME! Our niece handled all the planning w/the staff, but the reception, food, staff, grounds...EVEN MOTHER NATURE cooperated! The food @ the "Mountain Flowers Lodge" (I had the scallops & hubby had the filet) BAR NONE THE BEST WEDDING DINNER WE'VE EVER HAD! The staff, BARBARA, was in charge of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave s
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

dave s, Thanks for visiting and congratulations to your niece! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and your experience at your niece's wedding. We are also very grateful for your kind comments about Barbara, we will be sure to share this review with her and her colleagues. We do hope that you will plan to come... More 

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
33.0 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
34.8 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
39.6 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
38.2 km away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
142 reviews
32.1 km away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Price Range: $125 - $1,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Glen Arbor, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A suite with a lake view but far enough away to enjoy the quiet and seclusion.”
 of 5 bubbles weirbarbara, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The person reserving the room via telephone was quite helpful”
 of 5 bubbles 422daley, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the 3rd Floor for the view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles edb168, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for updated room - Fabulous sunsets. We truly enjoyed the lodge feel of Stony Brook.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneP0422, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You want a view of the lake. Bring your own grill.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrnyc, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5