We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erindi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Erindi Private Game Reserve \/ Old Traders Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 304: English reviews
Pretoria
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

You are truly looked after at Erindi, from the moment you drive in till the moment you leave. The rooms are beyond comfortable, the food is delicious, the views are incredible, even if you don't manage to go on a game drive, the elephants come and visit the waterhole at the restaurant. We highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lume G
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Lume, Thank you for your 5-star rating of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to please, and that is why we strive for excellent hospitality standards. We are thrilled you enjoyed your suite, the views of the waterhole, and our cuisine. Thank you for...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited Erindi and stayed at the Old Traders Lodge - Livingstone Suite from 31 January 2017 to 3 February 2017. One can actually write a book but suffice it to say how can one fault excellence! Keep up the outstanding work.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _frncoisvs
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your 5-star review of Old Traders Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Livingstone Suite is an excellent choice, with its spacious bathroom and views across the waterhole. We appreciate the kind words. We will endeavor to keep up the high standards. Please visit us again. Kind regards, Erindi TripAdvisor Team.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my second visit to Erindi and first time with the family from Australia, first safari experience. Great hospitality and caring for the family especially during dinner, considering we have three under four. Jan is the summer in Namibia and usually the rainy season, it rained couple of times but with all that we managed to see almost all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your 5-star review of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the kind words. We are thrilled that you visited us again, and that we could accommodate your Australian family. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and were well looked after. The rainy season is special, because that is the best time to see...

Nacala, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Erindi for 1 night only but really enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately we didn't manage to go for a game drive as we had kids. We went for the luxury rooms. Nice and spacious. Big bathroom, nice shower. You really need a mosquito repellent at night and be careful not to open the varanda doors because of the large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina N
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Karina, Thank you for your review of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Erindi. It is unfortunate that you didn't experience one of our game drives. We have an activity that allows under 6's on a game drive. We are glad you enjoyed your room. We apologize...

Peyia, Cyprus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second stay and we did book the top category of rooms. On arrival the receptionist (white young lady) so miserable. Why is she working here. The Lodge superb, the room fantastic with great views on the dam with plenty hippos and crocs. Restaurant very nice but food more like in a prison camp. You need a better Chef. Presentation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sigzag
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our game drives, rooms, and scenery. Our field guides are incredibly talented and passionate about their jobs. We will pass your compliments onto Stephen. The Old Traders restaurant caters for over 70 patrons. We serve buffet-style meals so...

cyprus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wonderful thing about Erindi is game rides. The scenery around the camp us also very nice. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. Unfortunately , they seem to be plagued by moths, subsequently the maids (and pretty much everyone else) seem to allow masses of them into the room. There are many dead moths on the mosquito net above...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovetotraveldubai
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our game drives and scenery. Our camp is truly spectacular. We sincerely apologize for the huge amount of moths in the suites. There are 51 species of moths in our area, and they tend to breed in summer....

Walvis Bay, Namibia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We heard nice things about Erindi before going there, however please don go there. Gamedrives without any game, ( you see more game driving in yourself) Diningroom tables full of bird droppings, flies and mosquitos. The staff is doing their best, however this is more a management problem, they take your money and gives nothing in return, there are other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 998geir
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your feedback. It is not always guaranteed that you will see plenty of game on game drives, because it depends on the time of day and in what vicinity the animals might have moved to. Our guides are extremely talented and do their best to locate animals based on the groups interest. In summer, insects might crawl...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed viewing the animals from the deck at night time. Food and accommodation 1st class! Gravel road that leads to the resort certainly adds to the adventure. Unfortunately didn't see much animals on the game drive but the night viewing from the Lodge definitely made it up for it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick S
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nick, Thank you for your 5-star review of Old Traders Lodge. We appreciate the kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality. The Old Traders viewing deck is a special place for viewing the animals. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Erindi TripAdvisor Team.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been visiting Erindi Old Traders Lodge for the second time now, after our very good experience a few years ago just my wife and I, we decided to spend another 4 days together with our adult children this year (Jan 2017). Still the wildlife is impressive, the guides are mostly very experienced and it is absolutely worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans-Christian E
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Hans-Christian, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you visited us a second time and enjoyed the sightings of the wildlife. Our field guides are very talented, so we are glad to hear that you had a good experience. We have reviewed your comments about the meals served at our Old Traders restaurant and will escalate this...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely camp site with very good facilities. Campsite was very good with everything one may need. Even has private shower with hit water. Farmstall was surprisingly well equipped. The waterhole was full of animals for the rainy season. Elephants, hippos, crocodiles, wildebeest, giraffe, zebras and more right there within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theodore S
ErindiGameReserve, Guest Relations Manager at Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Theodore, Thank you for your review of Camp Elephant. Our campsites are well equipped and allow for plenty of relaxation while surveying the beautiful, natural surroundings. We are pleased that you enjoyed loads of animal sightings. It sounds like you had a lovely stay, and we hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Erindi TripAdvisor Team.

421 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (384)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erindi Game Reserve
33.2 km away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#8 of 15 in Omaruru
18 reviews
19.5 km away
Ovita Wildlife
Ovita Wildlife
#6 of 8 in Okahandja
7 reviews
14.4 km away
Haasenhof Guestfarm
Haasenhof Guestfarm
#4 of 10 in Okahandja
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
143 reviews
0.0 km away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After an exhilarating nature experience, enjoy the space and comfort of our luxury suites. Guests can spot various game species on their way to one of two watering holes within the Old Traders Camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge

Address: Erindi Game Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Erindi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Hotel Okahandja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Livingstone Suit is out of this world.”
 of 5 bubbles _frncoisvs, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Prepare yourself for a long dusty road.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose the Standard Bungalows.”
 of 5 bubbles hanschristiane2013, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms, or number 30 (Luxury room). Or the exquisite Livingstone Suite.”
  • The view during a short stop towards west
 of 5 bubbles WilfriedHahner2014, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“lots of other lodges to choose in the neighbourhood”
 of 5 bubbles AnjaOosterwijk, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5