We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
Shelbyville, IN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We come to Grand Rapids every summer to visit friends, and always try to stay at this Hampton. It's clean, has a friendly staff, and is well maintained. It's very busy so the sooner you get reservations, the better. When we come in July there are usually multiple sports teams staying there for tournaments, so there is occasional noise, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank jasonc128
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your return visits to our hotel and for telling everyone about your great experience! We're happy you come back to stay with us year after year to visit your friends in the area. We do get very busy in the summer months so it's best to book in advance, especially on the weekends and even... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Love the hotel, breakfast is ready on time and always plenty for everyone. I really can't recommend the beds though. A little to firm for me. I would stay in the suite or go to Embassy suite if you need a softer bed, like I do. Stay with the Hilton brand though, always a good value.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Grand Rapids North! We're proud to be part of the Hilton family of hotels and we appreciate your loyalty when traveling! We like to make sure the breakfast is well stocked and everyone leaves happy. I apologize that the quality of your mattress was not up to standard. We will... More 

Naperville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Men's restroom next to pool was not clean. Carpeting on floor of elevator was stained. A walk-in got a lower rate than my advance, online AAA rate. Location for me is good since we are visiting family in Muskegon. Breakfast was as expected. Nice view to the east.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Grand Rapids North! I apologize for the cleanliness issues you mentioned as well as the rate difference. We're glad breakfast was enjoyable for you and that you enjoyed the location as well! We have a great view out of lobby of the trees near the Grand River and the city... More 

Ann Arbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I have enjoyed staying at Hampton hotels before, but I was very impressed with everything about this hotel. The decor is modern and pleasant, the rooms are very homey, and the bathroom was very pleasant as well. The staff is helpful and professional. The location is excellent for being convenient to restaurants and shopping, and yet it is a quiet... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda E
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback from your stay! We love to hear good comments about our staff service and rooms. At Hampton we do everything we can to ensure all our guests have a great experience and get what they need. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Wixom, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Do not stay here with your family until it is remodeled, unless of course you like it when your bare feet stick to the carpet and love the smell of oldness. ICK! Expensive too. The hotel is set way back behind strip centers. You can here the expressway. The pool is soooo small. The patio area was dumpy, dirty and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott Z
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay. I apologize that you were not pleased with the hotel and that you felt it was not a good value for the price you paid. We are looking forward to a renovation soon but that is no excuse for cleanliness issues and we will make sure these issues... More 

Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Room was dark. Think our room could have used a renovation. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a problem with the room not locking but it was taken care of. Breakfast was quite nice. Lots of fresh fruit.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank W3200JRjackied
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear your issue was taken care of by our staff. I apologize that your door was not functioning properly throughout the entire visit. We hope to see you again next time you travel here! More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Great hotel and staff was very friendly. Nicely located and short trip to downtown Grand Rapids. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and lobby area was updated and clean. Pool and fitness center was nice and overall it was a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank sharonsN9596OV
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent visit to our hotel! We appreciate the great comments and are glad you enjoyed yourself. We strive to provide clean rooms and friendly service to everyone that stays with us. We hope to see you back again next time you're in Grand Rapids! More 

Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The hotel was situated close to our weekend activity. The room, though the wood paneling was dark, the atmosphere was nonetheless pleasant. The beds seemed smaller than the advertised "queen size". We requested, and was accommodated immediately with a roll-away bed. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and bright with all amenities. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety to choose... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Grand Rapids North! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and were able to take advantage of the hotel amenities and local area attractions. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Really enjoyed the friendly staff who were very attentive and accommodating. This Hotel is in a great location near shopping and movie theaters with Lots of things to do nearby and with Just a $7.00 Uber ride to downtown makes everything accessible. The free breakfast and coffee were good as well as convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Grand Rapids North! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great experience with us. We are in a great location that's in a quieter area yet only 7 min to downtown Grand Rapids. We're an easy jump from the highway! Please let us... More 

White Pigeon, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

This place was what you expect when you stay at a Hotel. Clean, professional, and everything worked. The room design is a little odd, but none the less, excellent. The Perrin Brewery is just down the road and a great place for a quick brew and sandwich.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marty S
Justin S, Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review

Marty, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to put in a review! We're thrilled that you had a wonderful time here and that you were able to enjoy a little bit of Beer City USA nearby. Perrin is just up the road and has great beer as well as great food. We hope... More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
9.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
5.8 km away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
5.9 km away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 52 in Grand Rapids
867 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Address: 500 Center Dr NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544-6920
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range: $142 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid until updated.”
 of 5 bubbles EJISK, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not #126 until after their "remodel" apparently.”
  • This is the caulk in the tub, really!
  • More worn furnishings
  • Bathroom floor corner
  • Unclean furniture
 of 5 bubbles CruisinTrio, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Perrin Brewery Restaurant is close by and should not be missed.”
 of 5 bubbles lynn2Toronto, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“We had king size room . Felt too small”
 of 5 bubbles mariebianca, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“great staff”
 of 5 bubbles jhowie, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay