We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (27)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Motel 72 has 33 ground floor rooms and apartments, interior corridor access, and coin laundry facility. In addition to the standard guest rooms, the motel features a Jacuzzi Suite and Kiddie Friendly Suite. All rooms have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Air Conditioning-Heat, Cable TV Service with new Flat Screen TV's, Hair Dryers, and in room coffee along with WI-FI throughout the motel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
51Reviews
31Photos
0Q+A
6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 22
  • 3
  • 1
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were riding on the DALMAC and just got done riding our bikes 65+ miles. We booked a room with 2 queen size beds. We had 3 people that were going to stay in the hotel. The very rude owner of the hotel told us that he only allows 2 people per room. The third person would
Read more
Response from Douglas F, Owner at Motel 72
Responded Sep. 5, 2018
When I was that rude than,why I will look for you to find another place,so you could satisfy your's?? Of course,when doesn't goes on your way that's how you do it;tell a LIE.We never asked you for renting another room,we were already booked like you wrote above yourself;we asked you to only adjust the price with your reservation party for the third person that you didn't included in booking and didn't want to pay, or to cancel the room for free of charge since you didn't want to consider policies,that are written and posted on the web site;NO pets,NO canoe/kayaks,NO bikes in rooms are allowed.Do you think that people can not understand trues and untrue,fabricated twisted storys like yours?
Read more
Can't believe this place gets 4 stars. Saw the negative reviews about the owner/manager? Booked anyway. On a bike tour with my wife and we dropped off an overnight bag ahead and made very clear the purpose. The lady at the front desk was terrific and we were relieved. Biked 70
Read more
Response from Douglas F, Owner at Motel 72
Responded Sep. 5, 2018
Can't believe it that you get so dishonest because we do not allow in room bikes,pets,kayaks or canoes-do you think that you will sleep in hotel room than? Your's;jerk,obnoxious,"like to call him",it is a threatening language and it is your language,is not mine,ours. I never saw and talked to your wife,I always show respect especially for elderly and why we will need your back pack?
Read more
The hotel is clean and comfortable. The owner was extremely pleasant. Just stayed one night but would definitely go back again. Recently remodeled with a comfy bed, a couple of nice chairs to sit back and relax to drink a cup of coffee. A bit off the beaten path while still
Read more
Response from Douglas F, Owner at Motel 72
Responded Sep. 6, 2018
The hard work we do is worth it because we meet costumers like You.We enjoyed serving you and we want you to know it that we really appreciate your business,and your kindness as well.As always thank you and hope to see you again.
Read more
This place looks kinda run down and that is because outside it is. The rooms inside are a little dated but the bed was super comfy and even had proper sitting chairs and a couch which made for a more enjoyable evening while socializing with friends we were travelling with.
Read more
Response from Douglas F, Owner at Motel 72
Responded Sep. 6, 2018
Thank you very much for your input;please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.Your business and your kindness are very appreciated,we feel very fortunate to serve costumers like You.Again,a very kind thank You.
Read more
Looked for good motel/hotel reviews in the area where we were going to be kayaking. Motel 72 came with very good reviews. It’s an older barn looking building and definitely not for those who are high maintenance. But.... it is CLEAN and the beds are comfy. Room had fridge,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementMotel 72
Rogers Room - 2 Queen Size Beds
Photo provided by managementMotel 72
Kiddie Suite - Parents Suite
Photo provided by managementMotel 72
Kiddie Suite - Parents Suite
Photo provided by managementMotel 72
Kiddie Suite - Parents Suite
PreviousNext
123456
"The bathroom doors, in the rooms we stayed in, don't open fully."
"If there are choices to be had, this is the kind of place where Doug, the proprietor, would be happy to show them to you."
"Don't forget to check out 'westside diners' close to the motel"
"Get the room with either the bunk beds or the hot tub"
"North side quieter"
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganGrayling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing