We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hotel/motel is nicely located right next to Kaleva Cafe and Finlandia University in downtown Hancock. Room in the 2nd floor was clean and to my pleasant surprise WiFi was really good during my two week stay. I might be back some day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jari N
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you are in the area you will stop by and see our progress in renovations.

Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Rooms are aged, carpeting is old but rooms are clean. Beds are quite comfortable and pillows where good. No views from any rooms and parking is a little confusing. Breakfast is nothing to write home about- your better off going out the back door to the Keleva Cafe which is only steps away. The indoor pool is quite cool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbdolls
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to say we are making several planned updates to the property, one of which is new carpeting, it has seen some age. Thank you for letting me know your thoughts.

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Home to the Copper Country to visit family. Magnuson Copper Crown was very convenient and very reasonably priced. Satisfied our needs and was a pleasant place to stay. At checkout we learned that the manager was related to a childhood friend of ours and a classmate of my wife and brother. Really small world!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffersJet68
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Bellaire, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The room was comfortable and clean, my only issue was the noisy people in the a joining room....there isn't much of a noise buffer between the two rooms, or from the hallway. The desk clerk was very nice and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyj788
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you an issue with the guests near you. We take all complaints seriously and I hope we were able to resolve this during your stay.

midland, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Building is a a little older, but room spacious and clean; staff very friendly and helpful. Pool area clean; towels available at front desk. Some outdoor seating on grounds; pretty "garden" areas. Parking right at building a bit tight, but there is also a lot across the street that is easily accessed. Bagels and waffle maker available; hard boiled eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I'm glad you appreciate our flowers, our staff works very hard to keep them pretty for as long as we can. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we see you next time you are in the area, and you can see the progress we are making with doing...

Beaverton, Michigan
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I knew this was an older hotel, but was surprised the room was large and quite up to date and very clean. The bed, pillows were very comfortable. Wifi worked great. We stayed 3 nights as a base for our color tour of the Keweenaw Peninsula. Easy drive to Procupine Mts and Up to Eagle Harbor and Copper Harbor. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roalvie
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to keep the property clean and we are in the process of doing more upgrades. Hopefully next time you come to the area the weather is more accommodating.

Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The room was a very reasonable rate. The staff is very nice and friendly. The beds were very comfortable, with 4 pillows per bed. The room was very large and clean. We had a refrigerator in the room, but had to use the microwave that was in the lobby. Our room had a exit to the patio. This is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chell112
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I am happy to say that we now have fridges in all the rooms. If you like the deck rooms make sure you request it on your next stay. Look forward to having you again.

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Motel has seen it day's had to use a tire iron to pry window over to lock it for the nite. However layer the tile did a very bad job they didn't clean up the grout off the walls. Housekeeping is very poor cob web's all over the ceiling. The pool area has steel caseing around concrete pillars the caseing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silver19461965
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of doing multiple renovations to the motel. We are going to be getting new windows that open properly for the entire property as well as new upgrading our pool area, we recently put in a new floor and...

Lapeer, Michigan
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Basic hotel. A bit old, but reasonably clean. Breakfast is also just the basics. But it's $50 less than other local options currently, so when one simply needs a place to stay for some overnights, its a great option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I635AMscottb
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time.

Saint Ignace, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I love that I am only a couple blocks from Finlandia and closer to see my son. This is a well kept older motel. It's very clean, the beds are very comfortable (as I usually don't sleep when I'm not home), there is a choice of soft or harder pillows (which I love) and the breakfast is a plus. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we are glad you enjoy your stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
2.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.5 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
16.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
1.9 km away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Magnuson Hotels branded affiliate is located near Mt. Ripley Ski Area, Michigan Technological University, Portage Lake, Finlandia University, Coppertown USA, Houghton County Fairgrounds, Peninsula Copper Industries and Ojibwa Casino. The Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown offers guests an indoor pool, hot tub, free Continental breakfast served from 5:30 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, wake-up service, free parking with room for large vehicles,snowmobile parking garage, and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown

Address: 235 Hancock St, P.O. Box 217, Hancock, MI 49930-2003
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Hancock
Price Range: $123 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hancock
Hancock Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Chetek, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only stay if it's the last lodging available in the area”
699kents, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'd like to see a bigger tv in the room, ours was tiny.”
trunk01, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't open your bathroom door all the way after taking a shower unless you are wanting to test out how loud the smoke detectors are. The steam from the bathroom set ours off”
991krissya, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was great with both an interior and exterior entrance.”
JeffersJet68, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I had to request a ground floor room, so my mother wouldn't have to climb the stairs.”
nicolegD7804PH, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5