We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

American Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
American Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for American Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Once we got over the look of the half hung drape in the lobby window, our stay was pleasant. The room was quiet and we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was mediocre with powdered scrambled eggs, no fresh fruit, and bad coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty Z
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Had an Amazing weekend kids loved the pool, enjoyed our stay. Came to visit some old friends cant wait to stop back by again. Clean rooms hot breakfast the kids had hours on their tablets and even the guest computer in the lobby. The staff Zee, Krystal and Victor made us feel right at home. Be Back Real Soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarge G
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was perfect nice and clean ,the pool area was relaxing perfect temperature and the location is great. it's quiet and relaxing, and very close to the lake and restaurants, about 2 blocks - we walked everywhere. The breakfast was awesome my favorite was the blueberry waffles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cris1990tiano
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The gentleman at the front desk was nice and the lobby looked decent...from there it was not good. We went to our room up the back steps and they looked like they had never been cleaned or vacuumed. The room looked dirty and when I pulled back the sheets they looked like they were never changed...dirt and stains on them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovebugmcgoo
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding in the area and this hotel has a great location - close to many restaurants, and right off the highways.Our room was clean and the staff was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to folks with kids, because they had a very nice pool area, refrigerators in the rooms and eateries very close by (some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boussibaby12
Michigan
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We reserved last minute online. This is a highly booked area in the midst of summer. The hotel only could accommodate the 3 of us in a king room with queen pull-out sofa. Unfortunately, upon arrival, the hotel had no notice of us in their computer system. Luckily, I had printed the reservation. The same room was open and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosieMichigan
Great Midwest
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I am a world traveler and stayed in good hotels and bad hotels but this one is just down right poorly run, dirty, & disgustingly filthy. Let me just say that once you get past Dee at the front desk and the lobby its all down hill from there. Its very clear to me that the management is just sucking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caymankid
Steven12-1212_, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We take our reviews very seriously, This property was a Comfort Inn and was run down with the previous owner, we have done many upgrades to the property, we have added all flat screens televisions all rooms have microwaves and mini fridges etc adding new carpet etc...... that the property never had before. Thanks till the new owners took over...

Michigan
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Checked in for a one night stay for a wedding. Looked a bit drab and dated. Which I can handle. But I will not stay in filth! I showed Dee the pictures I took. She gave us another room. Makes me wonder how clean the new room is considering the other one we left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganShelley
Steven12-1212_, General Manager at American Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We take these matters very seriously and have corrected these issues and reported it to the head housekeeper. The front desk did move you in another room that was 100% clean and inspected. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience that you had to move rooms and was checked in...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

booked a room here a few days before the visit. price high but most hotels booked. clean room and hallways. lots of towels. coffee pot in room. friendly front desk service from Simone & his brother. grabbed a couple yogurts from free breakfast but coffee was almost gone. couldn't find an elevator to haul all our things up to room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabfemale40
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my cousin and her two children just to catch up and spend some time together. Check in was extremely fast and the girl at the front was so helpful and accommodating. We asked for a first floor room as close to the pool as possible because with two little kids we knew a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha J

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
6.5 km away
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
1.3 km away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
35.7 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
73 reviews
30.5 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
308 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites

Address: 200 Cloverleaf Ln, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9637 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: $88 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your American Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Houghton Lake
Comfort Inn Houghton Lake
Holiday Inn Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from American Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel does not have elevators but plenty of first floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles frankpT7912OG, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles beckys349, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side 2nd floor is fairly quiet”
 of 5 bubbles caymankid, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator. If you have difficulty with the stairs, ask for a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 38lyndam, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“king rooms are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles 683reneea, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5