We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 739: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On the 25th November for a 3 day break, my group of 37 stayed at the Adamton Hotel. This was organised via Travelstyle, who have been first class coach tour operators throughout. After reading some of the scathing comments left by previous guests, I announced on the coach beforehand, that for £95 please don't expect 4-5* star quality. As long... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret1947
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, I remember speaking with yourself at reception and of your group. I'm pleased you and your group have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward in welcoming you back to the Adamton in the future. Kind Regards Peter Dodds More 

Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this at the last minute as we had an early flight from Prestwick. It is a lovely building, Check in was easy, reception friendly. As a menu wasn't available for the evening meal we decided to go into Prestwick to have a look around and come back later. Prestwick is a lovely little town. when we got back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apologies for your stay with us. During quieter times we serve our dinners in the bar, however I think this will have to be addressed for the future. Many thanks for your comments. Peter Dodds More 

Travellers are raving about these Monkton hotels

Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on a National Holidays trip and after reading a ton of poor reviews we weren't expecting too much. But although the room smelled pretty damp, it was clean, there was enough space and the tv worked. And the room was lovely and cosy warm upon arrival. The food was fine, the only thing that was disappointing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank natalie_faye
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments. I'm pleased you have enjoyed most of your stay with us and I'm disappointed with the points that have arisen whilst staying in the hotel. I will address these with the departments. Peter Dodds More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a Rat Pack tribute night booked through David Urqhart tours. The tribute night was very good and at £60 for dinner, bed and breakfast and the show, excellent value for money. The room was clean and warm but nothing to write home about. Our room was in the annexe (not shown on website) and the annexe, in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you haven't enjoyed your time with us. I hope when you return you will receive the service that you should have received. Peter Dodds More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At this hotel for one night. Entertainment excellent. Room baltic, heating not working, toilet not flushing (although this was fixed) sink taps had no tops on so in order to find out which was hot tap, ran both. Still no hot water. Light above wash-hand sink not working. Complained twice - nothing happened. Certainly will not be back here.

Helpful?
Thank mgtb5
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you haven't enjoyed your time with us. I hope when you return you will receive the service that you should have received. Peter Dodds More 

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night which was 1 night too long bedroom was full of old miss matched furniture and bed was very uncomfortable. Dining room was a nightmare to find the buffet was queued right out the door and the food was only just warm. Went down early for breakfast to avoid the queue and the food was cold. Who... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjireland1
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you haven't enjoyed your time with us. I hope when you return you will receive the service that you should have received. Peter Dodds More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here awhile ago for a week through work WiFi only in lobby, rooms very dated and In need of work wouldn't go if I had a choice next time friendly staff but the rest was terrible, even food was cold and bland

Helpful?
Thank sean h
Peter D, Owner at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you haven't enjoyed your time with us. I hope when you return you will receive the service that you should have received. Peter Dodds More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have returned last week from a 4 day holiday with National Holidays which was excellent value. Having read some of these pathetic negative reviews on this hotel I think some people do expect a luxury 5 star hotel for a low price. We had a lovely warm room, the food was good, the desserts too nice. The entertainment was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pauline o
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back soon. Peter Dodds More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night only after a late flight just to get our heads down. Very dated and desperately needs a refurb. Stair carpets up to the second floor were in dire need of replacing or even a hoover would help. Room itself was clean enough would have appreciated biscuits with the offered tea and coffee. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hammychick
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that the room was not to your satisfaction. We are in the process of upgrading the bathrooms at present. I'm sure if you had reported this to reception that the staff would have moved you to another room. Peter Dodds More 

stockton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having just returned from from here I had to write a review we went to this hotel with national and after reading some of the reviews I was dreading it however I was pleasantly surprised the staff were brilliant the food was lovely but I really think the plates ought to be dinner plates as people were piling their plates... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lizzybizzy24
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review

Dear Lizzybizzy, Many thanks for your comments, I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Adamton. Peter Dodds More 

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
6.3 km away
Western House Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
590 reviews
3.6 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
516 reviews
5.2 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adamton House has two distinctive and different properties within its 19.5 acres of grounds. The annex wing offers perfect accommodation for those on a budget or traveling to or from Prestwick Airport. This lodge style accommodation offers Doubles, Twins, Singles and Budget Bunk rooms. All rooms are en-suite and only a few steps from the Main House. The Main House has a more traditional feel, and offers an executive style accommodation. It has a history dating back to the 11th century and has supposedly accommodated some interesting residents from Elvis Presley to Bonnie Prince Charlie's children and Clark Gable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick

Address: Baird Road, Monkton KA9 2SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Monkton
Price Range: $45 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Jarrow, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Durham

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Adamton Country House Hotel Prestwick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single occupancy were twin rooms which was better than the usual one bed room.”
 of 5 bubbles Margaret1947, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Use another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 554margarett, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do not accept room 1067”
 of 5 bubbles mgtb5, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are noisy but people are just enjoying themselves and quietens down.”
 of 5 bubbles lizzybizzy24, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher up the better”
 of 5 bubbles neilwray, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay