We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Orbitz.comUS$15*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Shiva Guest House1 & 2
 Click to rate
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I stayed here with a friend for two nights and it was seriously poor. First off they had messed up our (separate) bookings. Then they were so unhelpful and unreasonable about it and this set the tone for the dreadful and unfriendly service throughout the stay. The mattresses were rock hard, and having looked elsewhere I know you can stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Daniel It's unfair to have such feedback as we explained you that you have booked 2 single room and you want to stay 4 people by paying for 2 people . You are trying to be little smart . We have many bookings from online booking like Agoda,booking.com but we have not face such issue and you creat the...

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Small, clean and basic rooms with direct view down on Temple square where​ repair works are underway. We booked a guided tour with the brother of the guesthouse Manager in German and English, where we got good information about history, and everyday life in Nepal. Öffne Play Shiva guest house is good value for money location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reinhard L
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Dr. Thank you for your warm feedback and Greetings my Brother .we hope to see you again in your next visit .

Pasay, Philippines
Reviewed 4 March 2017

One of the best accommodation i had in Nepal 1. Its an accommodation that you got more than what you paid for 2. Its just a walking distance to everything, bhaktapur durbar square just outside your window :):) 3. It has a homey feel which is good to me and fast wifi too 4. The only small problem that i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paolodecastr0
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed our service . We are very sorry for the hot water issue as we are small guest house and due to the heritage area we could maintain our storage capacity .

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Bhaktapur is the most beautiful place we have ever been, and Shiva Guest house is the best place to enjoy this heritage city. It was amazing to listen all the chanting and look at the square that is one minute from the hotel. The room was very beautiful with comfortable bed and good shower. The staff was amazing and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maja P
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Maja Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed your stay with us. Warm greetings from shiva team . We wish to welcome you again .

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Bhaktapur is a good place to stay if you don't need the hustle of Kathmandu and want to be close to the local way of life. And Shiva Guest House is right there on Durbar square among the temples and King Curd shops. Food at Shiva is one of the better options in Bhaktapur as well: great vegetable pakodas, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your warm feedback and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again and happy to welcoming in coming future days.

Reviewed 19 February 2017

The staff was awesome and the rooms very nice. Very quiet part of bhaktapur, with a lot of local flavor. I became friends with the guy that works there, dileep. In a place where the locals treat white people like a paycheck Dileep treated me like a person and I really appreciated it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Andy Warm greeting and regards from Dilip . Thank you for your feedback and enjoyed our service . Please do share your visit with your friends and family .

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I had a very pleasant stay at Shiva Guest House 1, probably the best place to enjoy Bhaktapur, right on Durbar Square! My room looked upon the Square, I could almost touch the main pagoda temple, it was amazing to hear the chanting during the evening pujas. My room was simple but comfy, staff is super helpful and always smiling,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirek83
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Mirek It was nice to serve you and have talk with you. Thank you for your warm feedback and we hope to see you again . Thank you.

Box Hill, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

As far as guesthouses go this was excellent. The room was big, shower hot and staff very friendly. We also had meals included which were very good. When we were there it was very cold but the doonas kept us warm at night. We stayed at No.2 which was quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Marcia Nice to hear from you . Thank you for your warm feedback and we hope to see you again .

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 28 November 2016

It is difficult, perhaps impossible, to compare a hotel in Bhaktapur, Nepal, with hotels in Europe. I stayed in 11 different hotels/lodges during my 18 day visit in Nepal. Shiva Guesthouse 1 was the 3de "nicest" and Shiva Guesthouse 2 was the next nicest. Guesthouse 1 isat Durbar square, while guesthouse 2 is just outside the gate to the square....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solveig P
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Dear Solveig Thank you for your feedback . As your booking was made in budget room so it's simple in shiva 1 . Where was due to full booked we had to make your booking in shiva 2. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of hot water and drain we will make struck follow up . Thank you for...

Switzerland
Reviewed 2 November 2016

If you want to be in Nepal within Nepal to feel Nepal SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is the right place!!! With open heart you experience what money cannot give; authentic atmosphere of nepal. spirituality in simplisity. Stay in Bhaktapur not in Kathmandu!!! Ho Park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ho p
kailashdhaubanjar, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review

Hello Ho Thank you again a for the feedback and hope to see you soon .

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.1 km away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
395 reviews
1.5 km away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
65 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.7 km away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
201 reviews
0.2 km away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Price Range: $20 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shiva Guest House1 & 2 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shiva Guest House1 & 2 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best experience and views are in rooms looking at the square”
686majap, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front if you really want to wake up to a view of the square and the sound of temple bells in the morning”
297davidh, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms higher up are nicer than on 1st floor. Durbar square view comes with disturbing dog barking at night.”
solveigp114, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you want to be in Nepal within Nepal this is just the best place in Bhaktapur!!! Any room!!!”
hop516, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“building #1 with a view of the square”
  • view from my room
  • my room
drnorth, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$15* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$23
Agoda.comUS$22
TripAdvisorUS$15
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates