We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal Casa Ivana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Casa Ivana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Casa Ivana
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really good hostel. We stayed in the dorm room and had a nice experience. Cheap prices, staff was very friendly, place was clean and tidy and they have a well equiped kitchen. Common area is very chill with the hammocks. Very recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rok K
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Casa Ivana is located close to the Parque Central, which makes it a perfect base for your daily activities in and around León. We stayed there for six nights - we originally booked four nights, but decided to stay a little longer - and enjoyed our stay. Wether you're adventurous and go hiking or volcanoboarding, just exploring beautiful León or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike d
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel was quaint and the staff was friendly. I had a few minor problems staying here. 1st was that the rooms are not ventilated properly - I stayed in 2 different rooms while i was there and the fans weren't enough. 2nd - common kitchen did not have the basics i.e. oil, salt/pepper and the wifi was choppy. 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are basic, but fine, we had a private room with private bathroom and everything was great! It's quiet and not too hot in the room even though there's no aircon. There is a nice little garden with chairs, hammocks, a pooltable, books and games and the kitchen is clean and nice! The owner helped us organize a vulcano...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrine J
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Casa Ivana is well located and priced fairly, however with the heat and no pool it is a HOT place to stay! The layout does not allow for much of a breeze so the rooms are warm. There were also no screens on the windows for bugs. We stayed in a pretty nice room - they said it was newer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katya S
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always very hot in Leon. We can`t change the weather. We always let open the doors and windows. That`s why the windows doesn`t have screens. We prefer open windows. We are glad that you like the new room with the new bathroom. Have a good trip. Saludos, Tom

Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We got so much help from the help from the staff while my girlfriend was sick! We really appreciated it. Otherwise the hostal is pretty good for the low price, worth a visit if you are on a budget!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isac O
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that my staff has helped your girlfriend. Our staff try always to help with everything. Have a good trip and hopefully your girlfriend is feeling better now. Tom

Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Great people! Nice rooms, just simple. Dont expect a hotel vibe. Just easy backpackers hostel with nice garden to hangout in hammocks. And well situated in the city near the cathedral. Will go there everytime I will visit Leon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

That is what we are. Simpel nice hostel. Thanks for your review, Tom

Tisdale, Canada
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at casa ivana. We are older so not the average hostel types but were looking for good inexpensive accommodation. It is quiet, has a little kitchen, and a good fan and bed. What more do you need. There was also a small bathroom with shower with the room. It was with easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rvopni
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Exactly you need a good fan and a bed. What more do you need. All our rooms has a very good mattress and a strong fan. Hopefully we will see you again. Tom

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here because it had the "best" reviews, unfortunately we were let down. For a hostel they don't provide much, for example: No air conditioned private rooms No free water Cash only for everything, which is frustrating after three nights stay and a shuttle to pay for. No atmosphere No music No bar No option of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Telllle
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

This time I won't say thanks for your review. This isn't a review that other people can help their own choice. This client wrote this , because he was very frustrated. He was also very rude, only because we don't accept Credit cards. He refused to pay and he was very disrespectful against my Employees. So I will not end...

perth
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I got recommended this hostel and I am still thankfull for it! I ended up staying for 2 weeks doing spanish lessons arranged by the hostel (best spanish lessons ever honestly!). Those two weeks were so relaxing and great, the hostel is quiet, but there are always people around. Perfect for studying Spanish! The people from the hostel are so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JitskeAben
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Dank je wel voor je review. Je bent nu weer in de hostel. Jammer dat ik er niet ben. Hopelijk...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.6 km away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#8 of 15 in Leon
19 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
322 reviews
0.6 km away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#4 of 61 in Leon
159 reviews
0.5 km away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#3 of 61 in Leon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Ivana is located in the centre of the historic town of Leon and offers a romantic, relaxing atmosphere. Casa Ivana has a unbeatable location, only a few steps to the Cathedral and the area where the main bars and restaurants are located, close enough to be there in one minute and yet far away enough not to hear late night revelers. Nestled in beautiful colonial building with a small private garden; the hostel has 8 rooms with private bathrooms and dorm rooms. The rooms are small, simple and very comfortable, all have free wifi available and are offered at a very competitive price for the area and with a traveller’s budget in mind. The facilities include an open kitchen, television area and use of the garden. We also offer tourism information and can arrange specially priced and inexpensive tours to suit our guests needs….try out the Volcan Boarding at the Cerro Negro. We also offer one to one Spanish classes and are currently also offering free English classes to local people and are happy for our guests to become a part of this. What we offer: * Free internet + Wifi * Free coffee * Free kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself) * Free parking * Convenient location * Hammocks to chill out * TV area * Book Exchange * Tourism information and competitively priced tours * Laundry servicie * 24 Hour Security ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ivana

Address: La renta, 75 mtr ariba. of Costado sur del Teatro Municipal, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Price Range: $24 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ivana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Casa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Casa Ivana staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Casa Ivana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all the same - you are either off the garden (noisy) or kitchen (noisy).”
 of 5 bubbles 265katyas, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The double private room is worth the price!”
 of 5 bubbles rachandphil15, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private room with private bath in the back of the property is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 257irise, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private room w private bath at the end of the property is awesome”
 of 5 bubbles TheoA201, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is great as it's tucked away and feels really private”
 of 5 bubbles Squirkerella, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5