We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Casa Ivana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Casa Ivana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa Ivana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We got so much help from the help from the staff while my girlfriend was sick! We really appreciated it. Otherwise the hostal is pretty good for the low price, worth a visit if you are on a budget!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isac O
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that my staff has helped your girlfriend. Our staff try always to help with everything. Have a good trip and hopefully your girlfriend is feeling better now. Tom

Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Great people! Nice rooms, just simple. Dont expect a hotel vibe. Just easy backpackers hostel with nice garden to hangout in hammocks. And well situated in the city near the cathedral. Will go there everytime I will visit Leon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

That is what we are. Simpel nice hostel. Thanks for your review, Tom

Tisdale, Canada
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at casa ivana. We are older so not the average hostel types but were looking for good inexpensive accommodation. It is quiet, has a little kitchen, and a good fan and bed. What more do you need. There was also a small bathroom with shower with the room. It was with easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rvopni
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Exactly you need a good fan and a bed. What more do you need. All our rooms has a very good mattress and a strong fan. Hopefully we will see you again. Tom

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here because it had the "best" reviews, unfortunately we were let down. For a hostel they don't provide much, for example: No air conditioned private rooms No free water Cash only for everything, which is frustrating after three nights stay and a shuttle to pay for. No atmosphere No music No bar No option of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Telllle
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

This time I won't say thanks for your review. This isn't a review that other people can help their own choice. This client wrote this , because he was very frustrated. He was also very rude, only because we don't accept Credit cards. He refused to pay and he was very disrespectful against my Employees. So I will not end...

perth
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I got recommended this hostel and I am still thankfull for it! I ended up staying for 2 weeks doing spanish lessons arranged by the hostel (best spanish lessons ever honestly!). Those two weeks were so relaxing and great, the hostel is quiet, but there are always people around. Perfect for studying Spanish! The people from the hostel are so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JitskeAben
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review
Google Translation

Dank je wel voor je review. Je bent nu weer in de hostel. Jammer dat ik er niet ben. Hopelijk...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

The staff at the hostal go above and beyond to help you no matter what your query! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The communal space is lovely with full kitchen facilities, hammocks, a pool table, darts and games.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We found Casa Ivana well organized and the 4 bed dorm we stayed in was very clean. The staff were fantastic - we got great advice and on the last day they helped me get my cap back after I left it in a tour van.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna222222
Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Truly a great place to stay! I stayed at Hostal Casa Ivana for the month of October. It is a really quiet and chilled out hostel, housed in a colonial style building. The prices are also very competitive in comparison to others in Leon. Located next to the Theatre in a quiet street but just a 5 minute walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nico820
Hostal C, Owner at Hostal Casa Ivana, responded to this review

Thank you Nick for your excellent review. Hopefully we will see you again the next year. The coffee is always ready . Saludos, Tom

Hanoi
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Location is great - right in the heart of Leon but without all the noise! Friendly and very helpful staff. Fully-equipped kitchen to cook. Rooms comes with a good fan so that even on a hot night, you don't feel the heat so much. Free pool table and little garden to chill in after a long day of sightseeing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a double room which was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The kitchen was good and well equipped and they have free coffee. It was also very affordable and definitely our favourite of the two places we stayed in Leon. Would recommend staying. P.s. This hostel doesn't have a water filter and, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachandphil15

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.6 km away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
21 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
327 reviews
0.6 km away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 61 in Leon
159 reviews
0.5 km away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#6 of 61 in Leon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Ivana is located in the centre of the historic town of Leon and offers a romantic, relaxing atmosphere. Casa Ivana has a unbeatable location, only a few steps to the Cathedral and the area where the main bars and restaurants are located, close enough to be there in one minute and yet far away enough not to hear late night revelers. Nestled in beautiful colonial building with a small private garden; the hostel has 8 rooms with private bathrooms and dorm rooms. The rooms are small, simple and very comfortable, all have free wifi available and are offered at a very competitive price for the area and with a traveller’s budget in mind. The facilities include an open kitchen, television area and use of the garden. We also offer tourism information and can arrange specially priced and inexpensive tours to suit our guests needs….try out the Volcan Boarding at the Cerro Negro. We also offer one to one Spanish classes and are currently also offering free English classes to local people and are happy for our guests to become a part of this. What we offer: * Free internet + Wifi * Free coffee * Free kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself) * Free parking * Convenient location * Hammocks to chill out * TV area * Book Exchange * Tourism information and competitively priced tours * Laundry servicie * 24 Hour Security ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ivana

Address: La renta, 75 mtr ariba. of Costado sur del Teatro Municipal, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Price Range: $21 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ivana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Casa Ivana staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Casa Ivana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all the same - you are either off the garden (noisy) or kitchen (noisy).”
 of 5 bubbles 265katyas, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The double private room is worth the price!”
 of 5 bubbles rachandphil15, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private room with private bath in the back of the property is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 257irise, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private room w private bath at the end of the property is awesome”
 of 5 bubbles TheoA201, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is great as it's tucked away and feels really private”
 of 5 bubbles Squirkerella, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5