Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel

Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel

Traveller (60)
Enjoy of relaxing stay in our appointed king guest rooms
Room & Suite (43)
Juice, Yogurt, Hard Cooked Eggs & Milk - We have you covered!
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#9 of 26 hotels in Romulus
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Comfort meets convenience at Holiday Inn Express Romulus/Detroit Airport with a free 24-hour shuttle service. One mile from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and a short 20-minute drive from downtown Detroit, our hotel is the ideal choice for a quick stopover or a family getaway. Make travel easy by taking advantage of our 8-and 16-day Park Stay Go Packages. Dive into the city's vibrant food truck scene, visit the Henry Ford Museum, explore Lower Huron Metropark, or catch a game at Ford Field.Start your day with our free Express Start™ Breakfast, stay active in our Fitness Center, and enjoy free Wi-Fi. At the end of the day, unwind in comfortable rooms with plush bedding and soothing Dove products. We'll make your Detroit stay unforgettable!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Limited Time Deal on IHG hotels

Location

7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
Windsor Airport
31.8 km
See all flights
253Reviews5Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 88
  • 40
  • 11
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stategt wrote a review Jan 2023
Traverse City, Michigan
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay and park package here is our go to when flying out of Detroit Metro. We live in Traverse City and save a lot of money by driving down to take advantage of this package.
It includes a night's stay and 8 days of Qwik Park parking in their huge lot behind the hotel. We park at the hotel the night before we fly, drive in, get on Qwik Park's shuttle and off we go worry free on our trip.
The hotel staff is great. Everyone is friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. Our room and bathroom were immaculate. Breakfast was well stocked and is longer than most hotels to suit travelers' schedules.
We usually fly back in fairly late in the day, so we spend another night at this immaculate, well cared for hotel after riding Qwik Park's shuttle back to the lot. The hotel is in great shape and has a decently stocked work out room. You'd never know how high volumne this hotel is. The wear and tear of many people and lots of luggage just isn't visible. We can drive from Qwik Park into the hotel parking lot without going onto a surface street. You can't ask for a better working package. We'll definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Away from the elevator. We stay on the top floor. Incoming planes fly right over, but you really...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mmarro2001 wrote a review Jun 2020
Sunrise, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last week. The two employees that I liked so much were Crystal at the front desk, and Angela, the cleaning lady. Both women were so incredibly positive, despite the Corona circumstances. Our room was very spacious and despite the cancellation of a full breakfast buffet due to COVID-19, they still provided us with cute "breakfast to go" bags. I would stay here again in a "Detroit" minute. LOVELY! There are several restaurants within walking distance too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
iKneadavacation wrote a review Jan 2023
Kalamazoo, MI
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as part of park & fly out of DTW. Hotel was clean, comfortable and safe. Breakfast buffet in the morning had good variety and opened early for those with early flights. Did have an issue with included parking costing $50 more than the reservation we'd made with the park & fly vendor we'd used. Make sure all your parking nights are included in the package you buy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael W wrote a review Feb 2022
Port Huron, Michigan
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight before our flight to Florida on Valentines Day to save us the trouble of getting up at 3am and driving 2 hours to the airport. If you want a very upset wife on Valentine’s Day before vacation, stay at this hotel. When the wife gets out of the shower and there is no hair dryer, not good! ! So I call the front desk, they said they will check the vacant rooms for a hair dryer. 5 minutes later, they call back, no hair dryers. 5 minutes to check an entire hotel ? And there is no extra hair dryers in the building ? So after that, I told the wife let me make you a cup of coffee. NO cups ! So I ask the front desk, we’re out of cups, check the lobby snack area. Thank God I found 2 cups. So I brew the coffee, the packet with the cream and sugar has no stir stick. It may seem like a small thing, but when your starting your day without a hair dryer and coffee issues, I’m not sure I want to sit next to my wife on the airplane. Thanks a lot holiday inn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Perry Sudol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Dear J9239SYmichaelw, Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that your stay was less than excellent. We are working very hard with our vendors to get items shipped as soon as possible. We certainly trust that you will give us another opportunity to host you on a future visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dank94 wrote a review Oct 2021
Fort Wayne, IN
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this room and parking a month before my family vacation to Tampa, FL, I called a week in advance and asked if my flight was cancelled or delayed how much I would pay for parking. They told me as many days as you are parked their, if a flight was cancelled then you pay for the night. I thought that was a good deal. I was WRONG WRONG WRONG. I arrived at the hotel with my family about 830 pm for a 5:30 am flight. After my family was checked in and I parked my car in their 24 hour parking and we went to our room and at 10 pm our flight was cancelled. I had my wife deal with the flight issues and I was going to the desk see what I had to do to get my car out of parking. The front desk told me that I had paid for the parking for 8 days and my 1 night for the room there were no refunds. They acted like this had never happened before. They said the parking was a prepaid and could not be refunded because that was the part of the park and fly package. So I was out a $100 for parking. I asked to speak to the General manager and until this day the General manager has never called me about it because they know I was wronged. I called corporate office and they said it was a individually own property and to talk to the General manager. I talked to the front desk manager and he said it was in the park of my booking that I pay full price for my parking even if my flight was cancelled. I asked for documentation that shows this and they never could produce anything for me. In the morning when I pulled my car out of the 24 hour parking the attendant a the window for the parking said you know you paid for 8 days right, I said I know they wont give me a refund for my flight being cancelled. The attendant said they should you haven't been here but 10 hours. I told her I agreed but nothing came of it. So even an outsider that didn't work for them that worked for the parking lot knew we got screwed. So be aware you might want to park at the airport incase you flight gets cancelled your not out $100 or more. I have disputed the charge with my credit card company and I will be getting a refund for it from them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Sarwar, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry your stay was not Excellent. As I explained to you on the day you checked out - Park, sleep, and fly package is the prepaid non-refundable package. I wish there was something we could do to make it right for you. We verified the terms of the 3rd party website and will ensure to make it prominent so guests are aware of the cancellation policy for this package in the future. Once again our apologies for your inconvenience. Thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phyliss B wrote a review Apr 2022
Michigan
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in to a “King Suite”, the room was dingy, poor lighting but we had a flight the next day and tried to make the most of it. Well, the tv controls didn’t work, we called down to the desk, and were told turn on the tv with the side button.. then change it that way. We requested new batteries, no batteries. So we used one control after interchanging the batteries.
The sofa was lumpy, but we dealt with it. Then we finally went to bed and the bed was very uncomfortable. The shower was excellent!
We were told when we made the reservation and at check in breakfast begins at 5:30 daily. We had an early flight. Walked into the breakfast room at 6:15, no breakfast. We questioned the girl who was slowly putting out cereal from the under cabinets, if breakfast was ready, she responded NO!
Went to get coffee, it was empty. Went to get hot tea, no hot water.
Our shuttle was leaving at 7:00, went upstairs to get our luggage, returned to breakfast area, still NO breakfast! No coffee, no tea, they had packaged muffins ( not the hot cinnamon buns Holiday Inn Express normally offers. These were probably a few days old and were hard and stale.
Went to check out and the desk representative stated breakfast was late, because the
girl who was responsible had an “ emergency “. I questioned if there was a back up plan for breakfast, the representative said” I am not Holiday Inn, I just work the desk, but do you always get upset when people have emergencies?” I said, “No but breakfast is part of the hotel charge and now I have to go to the airport and purchase a breakfast which will be expensive”.
She blatantly told me that people have emergencies daily and to get over it! I requested compensation for the lack of breakfast, she gave me $10.00. I informed her that I knew it would be much higher at the airport.
I checked out and went to airport and had breakfast it was actually $22.00!
If you Decide to stay at this hotel
Remember breakfast isn’t a guarantee and you may need to play with your remote control while sitting on a lumpy sofa or uncomfortable bed!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are other hotels that are much nicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
Responded Apr 27, 2022
Hi Phyliss B, Thank you for making the IHG® Hotels and Resorts properties your preferred choice and for the candid feedback. While we appreciate your loyalty to our brand and you were pleased with the shower during your stay, what you described certainly is not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. We strive to offer simple pleasures, but that did not happen on your visit. I am sorry for the letdown. I've communicated your sentiments with our management team for review and I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lew Poore wrote a review Feb 2020
Indianapolis, Indiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at this hotel 2-3 times per month before my airline trips. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel shuttles are provided by Express Park and run very frequently to the hotel and every 30 minutes from the hotel to the airport. Overall, a very good choice for those early morning departures from Detroit Metro Airport!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stategt wrote a review Mar 2022
Traverse City, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with a Stay & Park Package. Our room was immaculate. Check in and out easy. The tv remote needed new batteries. The Maintenance Fellow came quickly and returned the working remote quickly.
This hotel is in very good shape. The owners obviously take good care of it.
We didn’t eat breakfast there.
Our return flight got in at 10pm. Too late for our long drive home. We spent that night here again. Different room, but just as clean and comfortable.
I made reservations for the Stay & Park package and another return flight for in a few months tonight.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cory wrote a review Feb 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our room through parksleepfly.com. The hotel charged us more than the balance due for our booking and had done nothing to resolve it, despite repeated contacts. We booked a room with 2 queen beds and were originally given a room with 1 King bed for our family of four. They were able to correct that issue with a new room. The new room had blood on the wall under the desk; disgusting!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Perry Sudol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Dear 179coryh, Thank you for your review. We were able to investigate your concerns regarding your stay. We found that our hotel charged you the correct amount, also, you were booked for a king bed. We do apologize that your room was not clean upon arrival. This has been addressed with our staff. We certainly hope to see you again on a future trip to Romulus.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CANTRAVELS wrote a review Dec 2023
Woodstock, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a great park and stay deal. We got a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed and two queen beds in the main room. It was plenty of room for the whole family. There were lots of good restaurants near by, and I would personally recommend The Beirut restaurant next door. The breakfast at the hotel was efficient and had plenty of choices, and all the staff were friendly and professional. In the morning we brought our car to the Qwik Parking lot in the back of the Holiday Inn and took the Qwik shuttle to airport. It was so quick and easy. We would definitely stay here again when flying out of DTW.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chicadin asked a question Mar 2023
Detroit, Michigan23 contributions144 helpful votes
Does this hotel have a pool and/or hot tub?
Answer from dewit14
Grand Haven, Michigan25 contributions5 helpful votes
Your car is offsite, but it is directly behind the hotel in a gated lot.
Answer from Sam
Detroit, Michigan
Our breakfast is open daily 5:30am to 9:30am
Answer from Ron M
Menasha, Wisconsin553 contributions130 helpful votes
Runs about 4:35AM till 12:35 PM every half hour. At other times it's on-request...the van is actually a Quick Park van from right next door...shortest wait for a van at airport than all others
ehjeuwudhwisbs asked a question Jul 2015
Los Angeles, California57 contributions
Is your 2 bedroom suite separated by a door?
Answer from HIExDTW
Thank you for your interest in our hotel! Yes, Our 2 bedroom suites are separated by a door.
72dodge440 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Nashville, Tennessee2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"not the only park and go"
Read full review
Pioneer65839435334 wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a quiet room - we had to change from the Merriman Street side. Bring a clip of some sort to fully close the (very dark) curtains."
Read full review
Stategt wrote a tip Jan 2023
Traverse City, Michigan331 contributions121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Away from the elevator. We stay on the top floor. Incoming planes fly right over, but you really will slepp right through them."
Read full review
Sue T wrote a tip Nov 2022
Midland, Michigan, United States66 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking facility is right behind the hotel & is easy to use."
Read full review
75NorthernGirl wrote a tip Sep 2022
Ontario, Canada554 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Follow signs for Ground Transportation Call hotel for shuttle Carry small bills to tip your driver"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Romulus area.
PRICE RANGE
C$156 - C$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la quinta inn detroit airport romulus hotel romulus, la quinta romulus, romulus la quinta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Quinta Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganRomulus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leonardo's Italian Grille, Beirut Restaurant, and Wheat & Rye.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Henry Ford Estate (12.0 km) and Westland Historic Village Park (8.2 km).
All Romulus HotelsRomulus Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomulusHotels near Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, An Ihg Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars