We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Double JJ Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Double JJ Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Double JJ Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Shellie Garnsey — 1 starI would give a -0 if possible. Horrible experience. Reserved $2300 worth of rooms for family members and a "Bridal suite/Honeymoon suite" for my daughters wedding. Booked 6 mths in advance, held w/ credit card. called 2 wks before wedding to find my entire reservation had "ACCIDENTLY" been cancelled.They shifted us all around and by down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smgis22busy
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Shellie, I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the shower. You chose us to help make your daughter's special day amazing, and we let you down. Given the situation, we offered you alternate places to shower, and I apologize they weren't convenient or ideal. I apologize once again and wish you all the best. Sincerely, Curtis B., GM

Dixon, Illinois
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The resort is spread over a few miles. Since it's so large, the maintenance is large & management has a difficult task of keeping it updated. We had a 4 bedroom suite in the Thoroughbred Suites. We had maintenance come 2 times. Once to take a mildewed shower curtain to wash. 2nd time to fix air conditioning in 1 bedroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Hey, Linda! Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us! I'm glad to know everything from the pool to the food were wonderful while you were here, and, even though things weren't absolutely perfect, I'm glad to know the staff was accommodating and friendly! Sorry to hear about the maintenance issues. I'll discuss your concerns with our Facilities Manager....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We stayed at the Double JJ as part of a wedding in the area. There were 3 hotels to choose from, and we chose the Double JJ becuase of the kid factor. On arrival, the place appears to be impressive. The lodge and the grounds look very nice. The water park is fantastic. However, the rooms at the Hotel were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TizzyInc
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

TizzyInc, thank you for your feedback and for choosing Double JJ Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed the appearance of the resort. First impressions are very important. I’m also happy to know you found the Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark to be fantastic. Just so you know, we offer packages such as the Splash Package and Ride and Slide Package where there...

Canton
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Amazing place, stumbled upon by accident! Real rodeo and cowboys, just like when I grew up in Texas, an old western town, fancy golf course, and my son's favorite...Gold Rush Waterpark! A good breakfast is also included each morning, but for those of us wanting to sleep in, you'll want to get up and just ask for a to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heartoftexas2
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Christine, I'm so, so happy to know you had a wonderful stay when you came to visit! After all, our number one goal is and always will be making sure each guest is comfortable and has a great time! I appreciate you taking the time to highlight so many of the wonders of our resort that make it a hidden...

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Just stayed in the "Back 40" cabins and it was wonderful! This place is truly one-of-a-kind. Beautiful grounds! Nice staff. The activities are a blast for kids AND adults. The cabins are clean, air conditioned and are placed so you can hang out with other groups or pick secluded spot. The steakhouse was fabulous...great service. There is a saloon next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 798Suz_E_Q
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

It sounds like you got the full experience during your visit, and I'm so happy to hear you and your whole family had a blast! From the food, to the activities, it's always our goal to make sure you leave our place having had an amazing time. Thanks so much for the kind words, and I hope to have you...

Michigan
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I have visited Double JJ a few times in the last couple of years, it's our favorite resort getaway in Michigan. We love the water park and Back 40, and there is so many things to enjoy there. Golf, water park both indoor and outdoor, horse riding, and great food right on-site. We enjoy the Family Cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George M
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

George, it's always so wonderful to hear from people who've been out to our place a few times, so thanks for these kind words! I'm thrilled to know you and your family have always had a wonderful experience and am looking forward to your many visits to come! Kind regards, Curtis B., GM

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Went to Rothbury to work Electric Forest. After being treated horribly by my company I spent alot of time at Double JJ. Everyone there was absolutely wonderful. From getting a ride to the gas station from the manager to the wonderful hospitality from the bartender Ray. Food was amazing, the restrooms were clean, and the people were even better!! Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Christina, reading this really made my day, so thank you so much for sharing it. It's always our number one priority to make sure each guest is comfortable and well taken care of, so I'm glad to hear we went above and beyond to make your stay nice, despite the trouble with your company. Hope to have you back in...

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the teepees in the Back 40. They were clean, and comfortable. The doors to the teepee could use a little TLC. Bathrooms and showers were close, and decent. The working staff at Double JJ, was great. They were so kind to the girls, and made sure we had a wonderful time. The cowboy breakfast and trail ride...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Karen, I'm so happy the staff was able to make your visit a wonderful one, and I'm even more thrilled the events were fun. That said, I'm sorry there was miscommunication regarding some of our services. Please know I'll look into what might have happened. Still, I'm glad you had a good time, and I'm looking forward to your next...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Great stay in Back 40, clean cabins! Nice tubs. Great breakfast included in ride and play package. I wish how to book activities would have been explained in detail at check in. Activities were provided on paper, but calling to reserve places not clear. But all was clean and staff was very friendly. Very pet friendly everyone loved our dog.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

Kimberly, I'm so happy to hear everything was comfortable when you stayed with us! I appreciate the feedback in regard to explaining the activities in more detail -- I'll be sure to pass that along to the whole team. Hoping you think of us again the next time you're planning a trip! Kind wishes, Curtis B., GM

Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Not the couples get away we were hoping for at the "RANCH". Other than the golf course the entire venue is set for family enjoyment. Our "suite" was large and that was the only positive. Buildings were not maintained well in the section we were located. Went so far as to purchase car fresheners to mask the mildew scent in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathH612
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Resort, responded to this review

While I'm glad the size of your room and the surrounding area were able to impress you, Kath, I just wish everything else had been able to do the same. We work hard to make sure each guest has a comfortable, relaxing stay, so it's disheartening to know the suite wasn't up to those standards -- I'll be sure to...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
13.8 km away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
234 reviews
34.4 km away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
14.9 km away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
15.1 km away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
369 reviews
33.3 km away
The Harrington Inn
The Harrington Inn
#1 of 1 in Fremont
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. Combined with resort activities such as summer rodeos, outdoor sports, and waterparks, the Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Double JJ Resort

Address: 5900 Water Rd, Rothbury, MI 49452-7939 (Formerly Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Double JJ Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Resort Michigan/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Double JJ Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Double JJ Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the T-Suites if you go in the Winter. Get a room overlooking the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles Lisarver, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay at the Loft. Also, this is definitely a kids hotel. Very loud and messy.”
 of 5 bubbles wethemoores, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the small cabins have a mini kitchen. Call to book one of those.”
 of 5 bubbles JoelMeli, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a modern Ranch style unique room highly recommend the suites. Well worth the price. If you have allergies I would avoid the cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles D5474RSkimd, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the Loft Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles TizzyInc, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5