We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kewadin Casinos Hotel

Save
Share
2186 Shunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-9467
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (1)

About

#10 of 18 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kewadin Casino Hotel and Convention Center is Northern Michigan's premiere gaming destination featuring more than 800 slots, 15 table games, poker, live Keno and bingo. The hotel has more than 300 rooms and suites and offers dining, free wifi, an indoor pool, gym, live entertainment, lounges, business center, free shuttle service and gift shop. Kewadin also has a 61 site RV park with electrical hook-ups, waste station and shower house.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
358Reviews6Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 107
  • 105
  • 53
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ruth P wrote a review Apr. 18
Saint Ignace, Michigan137 contributions80 helpful votes
First complaint: bathroom sink faucet is on electronic eye and it runs for approx 90 seconds with no way of turning water off sooner or getting cold water except from tub faucet. Only 2 wastebaskets, which are very small. After 2 night stay, the garbage was overflowing. Beds were comfortable and sheets were nice. Getting to pool was complicated. Take one elevator to second floor then take a different elevator to pool. NO Refrigerators or microwaves in rooms, which are in most other hotels. Casino restaurant was not up to standards. Steak was tough, other food wasn't hot. Salad lettuce had seen better days. Very expensive for quality. Breakfast was a disaster. $35 for 3 adults, only eggs, toast and coffee. Ordered water and coffee. Had to ask for our water. Ordered an orange juice, never received but got charged for 2. Ordered sausage, waitress brought bacon, which was not cooked crispy. Asked for a little cheese on eggs, received very little, maybe 1/4 oz. Was charged $1.50 for the cheese.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Dawna LaLonde, Marketing at Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi RuthP94, We are sorry we were not up to our usual standards. Your time, attention and feedback are appreciated. Your feedback will be reviewed by our Management Team. If you would like to speak with a member of our Management Team, please call Dan at 906-635-4968. We do hope to see you again. Have a great day! Dawna
Read more
Jane Doe wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Writing this at 1am after my now 5th night of no proper sleep. Came here as long term guest, unfortunately still here. Was moved once due to volatile drunk fighting a couple doors down. Bathroom heather and several lights were also broken. Was told will be moved to a quieter room, now having a room with a connecting door and a loud TV on one side, and even louder neighbors on the other side. Had to let the heater run to drown out the noise so I could at least sleep a little due to 25% drowned out noise but my sinuses are not happy. I am also wearing earplugs at night AND noise canceling headphones during the day, to no avail. Was driven out of my rooms several times already due to the incessant noise. If you like to hear other people throw up, scream, curse at each other and their kids who scream back and throw things, and have sex at night (which all of this can be heard from the end of the hallway down to the elevators to give you an idea how „soundproof“ this place is), and don’t want to get any sleep, this is the place for you. Never had this issue at any other place in the Soo before. Drinks are good, staff is nice which I guess constitutes the one star, but the hotel I would never recommend/visit again and I highly regret booking here and having another few weeks of no sleep to look forward to.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Dawna LaLonde, Marketing at Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Bsk729ndjs837, Thank you for your patronage, rating and review. We appreciate you sharing that our drinks are good and staff are nice. We are sorry we were not up to our usual standards otherwise. Your time, attention and feedback are appreciated. Your feedback will be reviewed by our Management Team. If you would like to speak with a member of our Management Team, please call Dan at 906-635-4968. We do hope to see you again. Have a great day! Dawna
Read more
jeff c wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution
Most tightest machines in Michigan better off to go turtle creek in traverse city Michigan. Hundreds in the slots with no give backs not even breaking even, table games are garabge also card machines in there favor all together horrible gambling experience, never again I go back to that dump.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Dawna LaLonde, Marketing at Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Responded Nov. 5, 2020
Hi J6926KGjeffc, Thank you for your patronage, rating and review. We are sorry you were not happy with your pay outs this day. Our machines pay out the same as those machines do at other casinos and are within industry standard, but are random so we never know when or how much a person will win. We hope you signed up for and consistently used our players club card. If so, we expect you will be pleased with the reward offers you receive based on your level of play. Your time and attention are appreciated. We do hope to see you again. Have a great day! Dawna
Read more
dvmkathymurf wrote a review Sep. 2020
Michigan71 contributions56 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights September 2020 and was very pleased with the hotel and casino. Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable. Was very happy with the covid compliance with masks and cleaning of the casino. Saw people wiping down the slot machines almost constantly. The only food available was from the deli but it was very good and had a good variety. My only complaint is that the people preparing the food were NOT wearing masks at all. Those are the only employees I witnessed that were not wearing masks. Overall a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dawna LaLonde, Marketing at Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Responded Oct. 1, 2020
Hi dvmkathymurf, Thank you for your visit to and 4-Star rating and review of Kewadin Casinos Hotel in Sault, Michigan. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and will be reviewed by our Management Team. If you would like to speak directly with a member of our Management Team, please call Dan at 906-635-4968. Thank you for your time and attention. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day! Dawna
Read more
Lynn Van Hoose wrote a review Sep. 2020
Toledo, Ohio129 contributions17 helpful votes
I booked this hotel on its great reviews. I’m wondering what people take as great about a hotel to rate this one great. And it’s not even covid related. Sure it sucks like everything is closed inside but still.....even without covid, I’d feel the same. 1. There is no fridge or microwave. Sure it didn’t list them but even the most basic $60 a night hotels and motels I stay at have them anymore. 2. There is no bathroom fan. Like why? There’s a heat lamp and it is the UP so I get that but no fan? So when showering I keep the door open and having to use the restroom is not pleasant with no fan. Who makes bathrooms without fans? 3. The beds are harder and not comfy 4. The lights, half of them were burnt out in my room 5. The wallpaper in my room is torn and peeling 6. The tv is lower than the bed so it’s very uncomfortable to watch 7. I hear everything in the hallways and that’s how I woke up in the morning 8. It’s hell to carry your luggage from the parking lot to the hotel. I didn’t find any carts and I won’t fault the hotel for that. People leave them in hallways and they have to always sterilize them so it’s a non complaint. But that walk with luggage sucks. 9. The gift shop is insane. I got a hoodie in town for $26 that the gift shop charged $49 for. I get the up charge but almost double? Insane 10. The service sucks. Maybe they had to downsize for covid or something but with the heavy check ins and front desk always slammed, we found no one to help us, but the temp check guy, who was awesome but didn’t have all the answers. 11. Nothing told me about a $50 deposit on my card at check in.... The check in people are great. I did like temp check and mask requirement. The exterior building looks good. Landscaping is great. The check in was smooth and they even let me check in early. The hallways are clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dawna LaLonde, Marketing at Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Responded Sep. 14, 2020
Hi lynniethegooner, Thank you for your visit, rating and review. We are sorry we were not up to our usual standards. Your time, attention and feedback are appreciated. Your feedback will be reviewed by our Management Team. If you would like to speak with a member of our Management Team directly, please call Dan at 906-635-4968. We do hope to see you again soon. Have a great day! Dawna
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaSault Ste. Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
319
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre (3.2 km), Soo Locks (3.7 km), and Museum Ship Valley Camp (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include West Pier Drive-in, Karl's Cuisine, Winery & Brewery, and The Wicked Sister.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kewadin Casinos Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Kewadin Casinos Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site (3.3 km), Tower of History (2.8 km), and The Machine Shop (5.2 km).
Is Kewadin Casinos Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.