We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites St. Joseph\/Benton Harbor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor
 Click to rate
Wauseon, Ohio
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Beautifully remodeled. Room had full kitchen with all accessories, DVD player, HD TV with large selection of channels, thick, soft towels and bedding. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting in this area.

Thank lorettar40
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed here for one night in early August 2016. We paid $280 for the room. There was a large hole in the ceiling above the shower head in the bathroom, one of the outlet covers was broken in the living room, which left a hole in the wall with the outlet exposed, fixtures, etc. are very outdated. The lobby...

1Thank lynnc177
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear lynnc177, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you have experienced...

Ada, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed at this hotel because they allowed pets and the area seemed to be a bit safer than nearby areas. Liked that we could walk to restaurants and getting on/off the interstate was easy. Wasn't crazy about the room not being cleaned daily, but other than this, it was fine. Oversize vehicle parking was easily handled as well.

1Thank Jill F
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Jill F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased with your kind comments. Let us assure you that we are continuously working on maintaining and improving our property to ensure our guests' complete satisfaction. I do hope that we will get another opportunity to accommodate you better in the...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Great location, just 23 miles inside the Michigan state line. Heading east, you get through Chicago traffic and all and you are finished! Heading west, you can get an early jump on the traffic from here. From there, the room was very clean (aside from the need for a taller person to handle some upper dusting on a regular basis)...

Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Reviewed 27 February 2016

this is wonderful place to go for a mini vacation. there suites are wonderful and clean and nice me and my family really enjoyed are stay there. they have all you need to make you feel at home. the front desk clerks Brian and chris i think well the two night men were wonderful helpful and all

Thank claylisa20
Coldwater, Michigan
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Not worth the money. They allow pets .and dog barked in the night don't need this.light bulb broken in bathroom .glass on the floor.Frank was fine but night sucks.what else can I say .just not happy with this hotel

Thank cleaners22
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear cleaners22, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the noise from the pet of another guest and the broken light bulb in the bathroom among the others during your stay. I would like to follow up on this situation that is why I have...

Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed here in September while passing through. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful but I noticed that some of the small repairs done here and there throughout the hotel were not up to snuff. The security latch on our door was a little block of wood screwed to the door to so that...

Thank 63impala
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear 63impala, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the room received and regarded our friendly and helpful staff. However, we are truly sorry if your...

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Terrible smell, problems in the room door, bed housekeeping service. This explain the only 2 stars. But it is in a good location, and the front desk can make a really good job. Sometimes in the summer, you can see some animals walking near the hotel.

Thank Talita M
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Talita M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be good. However, we regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. We would also like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our rooms and housekeeping service. We give the...

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Travel to the area 2x month, used Spire Points hoping for decency.. Proximity to our destination was great, so we had high hopes for this hotel. Check in was smooth, room 204 smelled like a terrible curry dish had been left cooking for a week. The beds were very reasonable, and we loved the pillows, however that's where it ends....

Thank NukedNative
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear NukedNative, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the bathroom condition, room condition and the food selection. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message....

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This Candlewood Suites hotel was filthy and had mold in the room. Room had dust everywhere and we had to open the windows to get rid of the mold/mildew smell. Doors and jams were dusty and had visible dirt. Front desk attendant was not there upon arrival and my room key was sitting unsecured on the desk. No identification was...

Thank Mbk0521
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Mbk0521, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize if your experience was not as pleasant as you would have liked it to be due to the condition of the room. Rest assured our goal is to maintain a clean and sanitary environment for all of our guests. In line with this, we...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (12)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 6 in Stevensville
361 reviews
9.8 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
8.8 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
246 reviews
8.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites of Stevensville, Benton Harbor & St. Joseph is Southwest Michigan's premier hotel for overnight, Corporate housing and Relocation stay. Minutes from Fourwinds Casino Resort in New Buffalo, near restaurants like Tabor Hill, Tosis, Grand Mere, Rye Belle and Silver Beech Pizza. Surrounded by premiere golf courses like The Harbor Shores-Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Club, Hampshire Country Club and Berrien Hills Golf Club. Visit our Wineries like Tabor Hill, the Round Barn, Domaine Berrien and Lemon Creek. Have fun at Silver Beach in St. Joseph, plus other beaches up and down our beautiful Lake Michigan. Come for the Art Fair in June, enjoy festivals and concerts all summer long, and witness the Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon in August. Visit the U-Pick Farms in summer and fall. With all our rivers and lakes, our guests enjoy kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing and kiteboarding. Each room is equipped with a full size kitchen - like in your home, high speed internet, DVD player, movies available. Also available for use; free laundry, a large private patio grill area, hot tub & fitness center, and our Cupboard (mini-store). Meeting rooms and business center, geared for business travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor

Address: 2567 W Marquette Woods Rd, Stevensville, MI 49127-9326
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Stevensville
Price Range: $180 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Stevensville Hotel Stevensville
Candlewood Stevensville
Stevensville Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even facing the parking lot, the room was very quiet.”
EnjoyTravelAlways, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 200 wonderful and big”
claylisa20, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
cleaners22, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“THEY include free laundry if needed”
WheatonFolks, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“if you have a dog, get a room by the side entrance/exit.”
coreys160, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$136* /night
View Deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates