We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Island View Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island View Cottages
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful proximity to downtown and private beach. All the cottages are different and unique which is fun. The kitchen was fully loaded and ready to home cook meals for the whole family. BBQ's are scattered around the property to use and bonfires on the beach. No way any hotel can beat the grounds and experience. Will continue to stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Island View Cottages is a great vacation spot on West Grand Traverse Bay! Our cottage was just what we needed. It had a full kitchen, comfortable bed and was just a short walk to the beach. All the linens were provided. The cottages are at the base of Old Mission Peninsula and less than a mile to downtown Traverse City,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D8866VLsm
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed this place! Very private spot tucked away on West Bay. It took us about 7-8 mins to walk along the bay to the beginning of downtown. Our cottage was very cozy & clean and the beach for great. Price was very reasonable for the location. Bon fires on the beach with a view of the sunset was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmac2323
S.W. suburbs
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we drove up initially, the first thing we saw was the line of 15 or so overflowing trash cans on the left hand side leading up the drive to the office. My husband was not impressed. We found that it had a nice private beach, although it could use a good combing for cigarette butts, rocks, and other clutter....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buzymomS_W_suburbs
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I remember you. You were the lady that complained about everything . Four months after you stayed here you are still complaining. You did not like the mattress, although it was less than one year old. I purchased a brand new one and replaced it while you were here. You did not like the bedding...

Moraga, California
Reviewed 14 December 2016

On beach otherwise like home. Very comfortable unassuming atmosphere. 3BR, fireplace, full kitchen to cook BF. Staff very helpful. Can walk to downtown which has great restaurants, brewrey, etc. Or can go for a run or jump in car and visit wineries on Old Mission Peninsula. Planning to come back in summer when available date opens up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elektricmn
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We visited Traverse City a few weeks ago. Our friends had told us about Island View Cottages, so we decided to stay there. The location is so excellent, walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. The cottages are rustic but they are very clean and have all the conveniences of a big chain hotel. In fact, the owner of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
Rogers City, Michigan
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Could be, should be a wonderful property, good location, waterfront, and cute retro cabins. BUT very dirty, rundown. Please put some effort into to cleaning and updates can't imagine it passes health codes to be honest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abasel2001
Lexington, Michigan
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Good Location and nice beach(Thats It !) Hard to find, Rundown, Dated, Unkept, Dirty, Over grown tree's and landscaping, Great view of the back of the empty motel next door and row of trash cans, Overpriced !! I could not believe we were in downtown Traverse city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michae148054
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

We do not have any control over the motel that borders Island View Cottages. We don't have trash cans we have totes that are provided by American Waste. if you had any issues with anything, anything at all, you should have let us know when you were here. We would have made sure any issues you had were properly addressed...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Celebrated my friend's 50th birthday party. We rented the Beach House which was right on the bay. The owner Bill was very informative, friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations on what to see and where to eat. Our place was very clean and had everything we needed for a 4 night stay. There was even a nice little fire pit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again on your next birthday. Bill

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We had out annual family trip to Traverse City. We have been staying here for years now. The cabins are small and cute. We get the use of the sandy beach and walking distance to downtown. We will be back next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahoulihan

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.3 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
129 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
228 reviews
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island View Cottages is a family owned and operated resort on West Grand Traverse Bay. We are located less than 1 mile from downtown Traverse City, a short 10-15 minute walk. IVC has 132 feet of private sandy beach frontage with boat, jet ski, SUP boards available to rent just down the beach. We have 12 rentals available which include 9 cottages and 3 large houses that sleep up to 10 people. Summer rentals run from May through the end of October. This rustic hideaway is one of the few left in Traverse City! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island View Cottages

Address: 853 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2775
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Island View Cottages Traverse City, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island View Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles buzymomS_W_suburbs, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I heard that this hotel are booked solid especially in the summer. So plan early! We will!”
 of 5 bubbles christinarR9764NN, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any cottage for a small group and any of three houses for a larger group”
 of 5 bubbles M4210KJannem, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The Beach House is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles TedDRondeau, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The property is located on a very busy street, but most units appear to be positioned far enough that noise shouldn't be a problem. Our unit was very quiet. I would recommend being as close to the water as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles DavePortland, 6 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5