We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 334: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Beach Resort Hotel
 Click to rate
Clare
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been staying at grand and sugar beach for yrs now . It's always clean and has a great view . My complaint this visit was I booked 6 weeks before trip top floor upon our arrival I was told I was on second floor that they were full every one with beach view staying ,my replay was how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Ms. Bonnie, Unfortunately, when you book through a third party (as you did with your stay in question) - your room requests are harder to fulfill as they are often not passed on from the third party medium to our hotel staff. We appreciate that you are a Preferred Customer and that you have stayed with us many...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the staff especially front desk mary was the best everything was wonderful yes I would return during the summer or spring cause you could leave your room and be directly on the lake beautiful. clean professional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia g
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Patricia for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and you will be returning to stay with us again! We hope that you enjoy the remainder of 2017, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Michigan
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I loved absolutely everything about this hotel! The rooms were very clean and looked so new. Shout out to Mary at the front desk, who was very accommodating and helpful from beginning to end! Great customer service :) I will highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustStock14
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again during a future stay.

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Made a reservation nearly 4 months ago for a full 2 bedroom apt. with kitchen and dining area for the busy Memorial Day weekend in May. This was for my wife's birthday and to run in the sold out Bayshore Half and Full Marathon.(2 couples). Received call from Mary (desk mgr.) who said that the apt. was no longer available...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John W
Justintraversecity, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding you may have encountered. The room type you had reserved was eliminated during our full renovation to give our guests the best accommodations in Traverse City. It is not that the room was taken away from you, it no longer exists. The Front Office Manager called all...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Arrived first time at this hotel not busy at all, so asked for upgrade was declined. Thought to get a new customer back they might but no. Then breakfast is sparse, no white or brown bread bowl of yogurt on counter just sitting out seen spoon drop out and a person just put back in. No eggs or sausage ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DisnyGrl
Justintraversecity, Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with your stay. Unfortunately when our guests elect to book through a third party, as you had done with Groupon, you are locked into that room type unless you contact the third party to modify your reservation. There is only a $10-$20 price difference in Courtview versus Beachview and both were available to...

Stryker, Ohio
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Renovations are in progress and looking great. Freshly painted interior. Room was spacious and clean. The only slight negative would be the free breakfast selections. Seemed very slim compared to other times we have stayed at this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abram1
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you abram for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your freshly renovated room. We are however sorry to see that you did not like the breakfast. We are always open to suggestions, and would love to hear any you may have. If you would like please contact us directly at...

Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We loved the room, the view, the water and the unexpected arm weather! Beautiful room décor and comfortable beds and linens. Not a single complaint. Keep in mind that its not walking distance to town, but it's worth the short drive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kisrow72
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear that you ladies enjoyed our resort and had we hope you had a great time wine tasting. We hope to see you all again in the future.

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The new rooms are wonderful! Beds are so comfortable I wish I could stay more often! Beautiful views of the bay. The Beaches in Traverse City are never a let down! Starting to plan on making more trips to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perryka42
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Perry for sharing your wonderful experience. We are pleased to see that you have noticed and enjoyed the hard work we are putting into the resorts to make them new and fresh for our guests. We cannot wait to have you stay with us again in the future. We hope your having a wonderful 2017 this far!

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed here over New Years Eve for a family vacation. Had a great time, the rooms are very spacious and clean. The breakfast area clean as well with the usual continental foods. The front desk girls were extremely friendly and helpful with our reservation. No complaints at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickmarg720
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you rickmarg720, for sharing your wonderful experience. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourself during your visit with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Cass City, Michigan
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We recently needed a room in Traverse City. So we tried the Grand Beach Resort. We could not believe how clean, well maintained, designed and comfortable it was. First our plans changed and they allowed us to change our date. YEAH! So we didn't have to lose our money. Next, the staff was incredibly easy to speak with and polite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Grand Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Martha, We are very pleased to see that you had such a wonderful visit with us. We have been working hard over the last year to improve both resorts, and it is nice to hear that guests are liking the updates. We apologize about the noise, we do our best to keep the levels down. We hope to see...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.1 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,890 reviews
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.7 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
318 reviews
3.9 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Beach Waterfront Resort Hotel is one of the finest accommodations on the beaches of Traverse City, Michigan. Grand Beach Traverse City hotel offers an indoor pool, hot tub, deluxe complimentary continental breakfast & many more amenities. We offer a wide array of guest rooms, from large suites accommodating family vacations to deluxe beach front hotel rooms and condominiums with in-room whirlpool spas for that romantic escape, so book your next vacation at Grand Beach hotel today. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $130 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort Hotel Traverse City, Michigan
Grand Beach Traverse City
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Beach Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Rochester Hills, Michigan
over a year ago
Rochester Hills, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Beach Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor has direct beach access and picnic tables; 2nd floor has a small table and chairs set and a beautiful unobstructed view.”
kisrow72, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best Views and Clean Rooms”
perryka42, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Recommend a king with pull-out sofa bed and bay view!”
rickmarg720, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The first floor beachfront rooms walk right out to the beach.”
85scotth, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms with a beach view are the best!”
lh1217, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5