We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Traverse Motel

1010 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2708
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)


#33 of 40 hotels in Traverse City
We are a family operated motel with 18 units. We provide in-room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves & air conditioning/heating, Free Wifi and Cable TV. We do accept pets in three ground floor rooms. The Motel is located just eight blocks from downtown shopping and dining and only one block from the beach. The Grand Traverse Motel is a non-smoking property.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
89Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 20
  • 15
  • 9
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melissa wrote a review Nov. 2020
Clarkston, Michigan10 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at the Grand Traverse Motel for one night in mid October. Room was a deluxe king. It was pretty good, clean, and recently renovated. However there were a few challenges. The blinds don't do a great job of blocking the light so the sun is very visible pretty early. Could really use some dark curtains. The bathroom remodel wasn't very good and the window had no screen. Both of those were not huge issues. The bigger issue was that, while the bed appeared fairly new, it was broken. The mattress frame collapsed to ~6" on one side when you laid down on it. (slept on by a very averaged sized person) This caused a rather uncomfortable night. Would have mentioned at check out, but the office is closed in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
elb318 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Columbus, Ohio7 contributions1 helpful vote
I found the Grand Traverse Motel at the last minute for a 1 night stay in Traverse City on our way home to Ohio. The motel far exceeded any expectations we had and our room was even more updated than pictures appear (I unfortunately did not take any of my own, as we were in a bit of a rush upon arrival). The room was spotless and had a very nice flat screen tv, mini fridge, and bathroom. Five minute drive to downtown, where we found open parking to be abundant. Both staff members we communicated with were very friendly and helpful. I imagine the price is hard to beat in such a lovely city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Eric B wrote a review Jul. 2020
Lima, Ohio2 contributions
The Grand Traverse Motel's use of third party sites and the way they hide the fact that your reservation is non-refundable is in my humble and naive opinion sufficient reason for me to warn you to avoid this place when there are so many honest options available. Sleep in your car, on a park bench, but dont let them grab your money like they did mine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Abigail H wrote a review Mar. 2020
Traverse City, Michigan1 contribution
I stayed at this motel last year during may and the front desk lady was anything but friendly, me and my fiance wanted to stay together for a night so i booked a room, the room was nice but still had strands of hair in the drain and toothpaste in the sink, i woke a late and checked out a little late when i went to return my key the front desk lady said that i would charged for late checkout the price for the night there was supost to be 98$ and she charged me 250 for checking out late. and she was very rude about it. i wouldnt rate this place 1 star honestly. Very Very poor hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: find a different hotel, it would be the best decision you could make. Trust me.
See more room tips
Response from Christine A, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel
Responded Mar. 21, 2020
Hello! Though it's hard to respond regarding a stay nearly a year ago, I do know that I am the only female that would have been at the front desk last May and I've never, personally, charged a late check out fee to any guest. In the rare case we have charged for a late check out, it would have been $10 per hour after noon (with regular checkout at 11am). Our nightly rate last May was never $98, and I was never made aware of any instance where there was an issue with guest of this sort. If you're sure that it was our motel that you stayed at, please email us and I will pull your reservation record to see what happened. We do have a $250 fee if a guest smokes in a room and we have to do extensive remediation, which we've only charged 4 times in the past 2 years. New Ownership in May, 2018. If this was not the motel that you stayed at, please remove this review.
Read more
sweetfame wrote a review Jan. 2020
Paris, France38 contributions50 helpful votes
(our stay august 2019) Motel is well placed. Not far from the lake by feet but it only gives accès to a private hotel beach located on opposite side of the street which means you will have to cross the street surrounded by traffic. Needs a lot of attention to do that. If you want to access the lake you’d better drive 5 min on this road in direction of the city. This motel is a typical one. We rented a room for 3 and get 3 queen beds in our flat. You would expect at least the same number of furnitures to held 3 to 6 persons. This was not the case. For example only 2 chairs while we were 3... only 4 little spoons or 5 forks... same for coffee machine able to do only for 2 persons approx..! The interior is quite old. Not refreshed for a while. Bathroom is just fine. But beds were awful. We injured our backs during our 3 nights over-there and slept very badly. The person on sites are not really willing to help. Pity. I would not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
2 Helpful votes
Response from GTMotelTC, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel
Responded Jan. 28, 2020
I don't think that you stayed at our motel. We do not have a private hotel beach, none of our rooms have 3 beds, and there aren't forks or other cutlery in the rooms. Also, our beds are all new from June 2019. We invite you to stay with us sometime and hope that you have a more enjoyable time than where you stayed last August. :)
Read more
US$85 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
grand traverse hotel traverse city, grand traverse city hotel
United StatesMichiganGrand Traverse CountyTraverse City
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Traverse Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Traverse Motel?
Nearby attractions include Dennos Museum Center (0.8 km), Bryant Park (0.2 km), and Benjamin Twiggs, legendary cherry products (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Traverse Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Traverse Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Traverse Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Traverse Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Traverse Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Reflect Bistro Inside Cambria Suites Hotel, The Filling Station, and Cooks' House.
Are pets allowed at Grand Traverse Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Traverse Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Village at Grand Traverse Commons (3.6 km).