We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lazy Dolphin Lodge

Booking.comUS$49*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Lazy Dolphin Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on trip from Bluff to Dunedin via Catlins. Good mid way point. Had everything you needed - full kitchen and bathroom. It's very communal so only privacy is in your bedroom - be prepared to wait for shower in morning and use kitchen with others. Good heaters in rooms, clean, tidy. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
Management response:

Thank you Kirsty for your stay

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Very homely feel. Staff were very helpful but left you alone. Beautiful spot with so much to see and do. Lots of wildlife. Rooms were clean and comfy. The kitchen area was spacious. Beautiful deck with beach views. Nice quiet area that is out of the way and wouldn't get very busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara-and-Dylan
Management response:

Thank you

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We had a twin bed room which was quite big and bright. Only one bedside table. The top floor kitchen/eating/living area with its terrace looking straight out over the bay is spacious and very clean and there were 2 shower rooms with toilets and washbasins upstairs for (I think) 4 rooms. You can walk right out of the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JofromFrance1
Management response:

Thank you

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Great wee backpackers but nainky older oeoole were using it when we were there. Nice warm rooms comfy beds although was expecting double a nd got single. Saw dolphins playing in the bay and Natalie our host was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyny52
Management response:

Thank you Bronwyn Sorry you did not have the bed you would have liked, but i only went off your booking which was selected a twin room 2x single beds. Hope you are having a wonderful time on your holiday kind regards Natalie

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hostel in a great location for exploring curio and porpoise bay. The rooms are clean and warm, and there are two kitchens to prepare meals - remember to take some food! I recommend if you want to see penguins, they come in the evening and are well worth the wait! 🐧

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zinndrella
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Backpacker's place/hostel. Staff is friendly, however you need to arrive before 6PM and you want to find anyone at check-in, but for us it was not a problem - our name was written on a blackboard and key was in keychain. Towels are $3 per person per day. So it is advised to bring your own. There are two bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank invisible999
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This a a lovely place to stay. Don't be put off by comments about the downstairs. We had a room downstairs, it was large even with 4 beds in it and very nice. The upstairs kitchen is for EVERYONE just climb the stairs. As well as visiting the petrified forest cross the road at the parking area and walk the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Management response:

Thank you Sue

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The cleanest hostel we have seen in all New Zealand. The kitchen is big and offers phenomenal views of the bay. There is a direct beach access and you can walk to see penguins, seals and dolphins. The rooms are comfortable. Would highly recommend this place. My only negative point is that it was really really cold at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixxidix
Castiglione della Pescaia, Toscana, Italy
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed in November, place is very clean and the price is reasonable. The shared kitchen has a beautiful sea view It would need a bit of renovation, and the room are pretty small but overall is ok.BeGet ready to feel the wind of the Catlins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonella C
Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Awesome place to stay Right in the beach front Can enjoy a nice walk around the bay or a 2 minute drive to the petrified forest to see the penguins Decent price for a private room. Free wifi, works very well. Clean and tidy, everything you need to make a meal and clean up again. TV and DVDs all available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nazel_C
Management response:

Thank you

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southland Region
0.0 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
434 reviews
0.0 km away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
297 reviews
0.0 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
406 reviews
0.0 km away
Almond House Backpackers
Almond House Backpackers
#12 of 42 in Nelson
81 reviews
0.0 km away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Panoramic views of Curio Bay from the balcony. See dolphins swimming in the surf, penguins nesting & seals basking in the sun. Split level accommodation. 2 kitchens & 2 common rooms - plenty of room to spread out. Minutes walk to petrified forest & penguin viewing platform. Private access to the beach. Friendly, helpful host. Double, Twin and Shared accommodation available. Great place to get some time out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lazy Dolphin Lodge

Address: 529 Curio Bay Road | Curio Bay, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region
Price Range: $71 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Dolphin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lazy Dolphin Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lazy Dolphin Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at second level is convenient.”
Adel_Lim, 3 Oct 2014 | Read review
“try to get an upstairs room re the above comments”
  • the bay
  • dolphin backpackers
290chrisc290, 30 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Top floor has the view over the bay”
belly5uk, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs is best, but don't be too disappointed if your room is on the ground floor. You will still have a great time.”
John66_12, 27 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Ask to be upstairs if you can”
sedky, 5 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates